We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #3 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
328 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Heaven.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Where do I begin on this review. After 12 days of biking in the Czech Republic I wanted nothing but comfort and luxury for our 4 days in Vienna. I got that and more. We were greeted at the front desk and had expert service from our greeter.Our room was on the 5th floor and while not spacious, it was big enough with all of the right amenities . The bathroom was big enough and very comfortable. We had air conditioning and the temperature was in our control. Our two windows had shutters and shades. The location made everything in walkable distance which we did time and time again. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The decor on the floors are very interesting and the owner displays a lot of her personal art work. The breakfast was the best and so many choices from fresh fruits, cereals, cheeses, meats and even cooked breakfast. I highly recommend this place to help augment your visit to this lovely city. 4 days were not long enough to see the sites and we will plan on returning to Vienna and the Das Tyrol in the future.

Room Tip: In this luxury hotel I think that all of the rooms would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    259
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
222
795
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this great little hotel from Dec 28, 2013, through New Years. I loved it the moment I stepped in the door. The decor is warm and inviting; the room was beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. Everything was immaculate. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, is one of the best I've had in Europe - including eggs to order and great cappuccino. Best of all, the staff was amazing. They arranged transportation from the airport, offered great recommendations for restaurants, gave us the step by step guide for using the underground, even found us last minute reservations for New Year's Eve. I'd recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double room (room #305?), which was a corner room, good size bathroom, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for six nights in January in a suite with a balcony. The room was on the fourth floor overlooking the Mariahilfestrasse and, such was the quality of the double glazing, we never heard a sound from the street. The central heating worked brilliantly as well which, as I have blood the consistency of diluted raspberry juice, was a wonderful thing. To be warm and snug in one's hotel in the middle of winter is priceless. Nothing to fault with the hotel whatsoever and its location is perfect for forays into Vienna or excursions to the outlying areas. There is even a garage opposite which we didn't use at the end of the day. A word of advice though; the hotel is down the Mariahillfe but the entrance is in a little side street which has been bollarded down the sides so that it can be difficult for a taxi to stop and unload you. I would suggest that, if arriving from the airport, you call the hotel once in the cab and get the reception to give the driver precise instructions. This is more because of the fact that so many of the taxi drivers in Vienna are not Viennese but come from the outlying countries.
The hotel staff are absolutely brilliant, helpful and charming. The management cannot be faulted either. We had a small problem with a very large telephone account as a result of airline problems.
This was an 820 number and the charge was stratospheric. The hotel was kind enough to sort the problem out. Be warned if you dial an airline on an 820 number.
An absolutely excellent stay and many thanks to all at das Tyrol. Far more comfortable and with much better service than anyone could ever have had at the Hofburg.

Room Tip: I suspect that the same high standards as we enjoyed are found throughout the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Das Tyrol in October and really loved it. The location was perfect, room was excellent, and the people were great.

Pros:
- Staff was amazingly friendly. Very helpful with restaurant suggestions and while we didn't ask for help with attending any tourist attractions, I did observe them being very helpful for other guests.
- Our room was awesome. I've stayed in a lot of tiny European hotel rooms and this was pretty large. Great bathroom too. The best part were the yummy little chocolates on our pillows every night when we got back from sightseeing. But I'm also a sucker for European chocolate.
- Breakfast was included and it was really nice. It included Prosecco if you like mimosas in the morning. Nice choices of typical European as well as American fare.
- Location was perfect. It's very close to the museum quarter (almost across the street) and within walking distance of almost everything in Vienna. Also within walking distance to the Naschmarkt - maybe 10 minutes or so. If you prefer public transportion, the subway is very close as well.

Cons:
- View from the room wasn't great but again, we weren't looking to stay in our room that much.
- There was a little bit of street noise but it really wasn't too bad. Request a higher floor room in order to avoid that.
- No restaurant or bar in the hotel. However there are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Overall, my husband and I would definitely stay in this hotel again if we ever make it back to Vienna. The location couldn't be better, the staff was top-notch and the room was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas break. We were on the first floor, over the breakfast room. Our room (16) was a lovely size with double aspect windows. It was all very clean and comfortable.

The shower was brilliant. I'm a bit fussy when it comes to water pressure and temperature but there was nothing to fault this hotel bathroom.

The breakfasts were great - have the omelette with bacon with a bread roll. Brilliant.

We found everything at this hotel perfect but the bes thing about our stay has to be the staff. They were wonderful.

I would have no difficulty recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

On short notice we decided to spend New Years eve in Vienna, and we were lucky enough to secure a room, or actually a junior suite, at Das Tyrol. This turned out to be a perfect base for a spectacular stay. The staff at Das Tyrol was extreeme friendly and helpfull from the moment we entered. Our was fabulous with a balcony and a great view down Mariahilferstrasse. The reception staff also helped getting us a table in a good restaurant on this the businest evening in the year. The aminities at the room were great including a Nespresso machine, and two cosy bath ropes. The only small nack is the towels, which could be of a more frothy quality, but minor detail. We will certainly return to Das Tyrol.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BentSoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When I walked into our room, my first impression was that was certainly not a luxury hotel. The room was plain but clean and fairly large. There was a balcony but were couldn't use it because the door was stuck. Nevertheless, we did have a lovely view. Now the positives. The staff was wonderful, the breakfasts were excellent, the location was great. I would say this was a very good choice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 226Traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,368 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
810 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 360 in Vienna
1,050 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing