We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for this charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #2 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for this charming hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The location right across from the Museum Quartier and within 5-10 minutes of the other sights,museums, and shopping within the Ring made this the perfect hotel for our first stay in Vienna. There was easy access to public transportation as well. The hotel staff gave suggestions for several nice restaurants within walking distance. The newly refurbished rooms are small but that is what we expected from a boutique hotel in the city center. Amenities such as the towel warmers in the bathrooms were a nice touch. The breakfasts were served buffet style with the added touch of made to order eggs/omelettes by a very courteous staff.We would stay again at this intimate little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourintoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    262
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
230
806
93
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My mid-July 2010 stay at Hotel das Tyrol was very pleasant. They took care of what I needed e.g.:

• I was in Vienna for a conference and it was hot; there was good air conditioning.
• I needed lots of high-speed internet access; it was provided.
• I needed laundry and dry cleaning service (more on this below) and this too was available at standard hotel prices.

Breakfast was appealing with the usual high-end central European lineup of fresh breads and artisanal jams and cheeses (feta and goat cheese were both superb). The hotel added the personal touch of eggs made to order. This was all in addition to the charming layout of a typical late 19th-century Vienna town house featuring a central staircase with embedded tiny 2-person lift (or one person with luggage). Real care and effort went into both renovating and decorating the hotel both in the rooms and in the common areas. Very pleasant indeed.

The front desk staff was courteous and pleasant and also in frequent email contact with me in English before and after the visit, which was a big plus. The hotel’s very central location of Mariahilferstrasse was another advantage. “The Hilfe” turned out to be one of the hipper locales for young Viennese to hang out on those long summer evenings. There is a high-quality gelato joint across the street and lots and lots of shops and boutiques. The location near the city’s big museums were a plus though personally I more appreciated the easy walk to the Ring. The U2 subway line is just a few hundred steps from the hotel door and the airport was also easy to reach by taxi.

The only wrinkle (literally) to my stay at the Hotel das Tyrol involved the dry cleaning service. The laundry and dry cleaning were returned, oddly, at very late hours (e.g. 10:30pm) so I did not notice right away that my dress slacks had acquired a stain somehow, either before or during the cleaning process, a stain that remained when they were returned to me. I dropped them off at the front desk upon departure and the desk clerk took immediate and appropriate action. First, an apology. Then, a cameraphone picture to document the issue. Then, a return of the slacks to the cleaners for a redo. The desk staff emailed me a few days later: slacks are now stain-free and have been returned to me by postal mail.

I would return to this hotel without hesitation. Five stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The hotel is well situated in the museum quarter and it is easy to get around Vienna to see the sights. Hotel staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and breakfast was good although perhaps not "legendary" as claimed.

The hotel was relatively small; including the bedroom and facilities are limited (no bar for instance) and a little noisy late at night from passing traffic (nothing they can do about that). If you are looking for a small, clean hotel in a good location this will suit you fine

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is is a great location for getting to all the main tourist attractions. It is very close to an underground station too. The staff were excellent, very friendly, with grand very helpful when advising us on how to get to places etc. All the staff had very good English.

Our room was quite small but very tasteful and with a lovely bathroom and nice and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and provided a perfect start to the day. All in all a very nice hotel and everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The room is very little for the price you pay, but overall cosy and very clean. The furniture is nice and the curtains stop completely the lights from the outside (if you care for such things as I do).
Breakfast is good.
All the staff, out of one person at the reception, was very nice and caring.
The position of the hotel is very good if you plan to visit museums; on the other hand, if you come to Wien for shopping or night-life, you may prefer another location closer to the city center.
The silence you experience in your room is strongly dependent on the other guests :-(, as you can clearly hear the people talking or passing by your door in the corridor. However, noise from the street is totally absent.
Very nice the daily little chocolate at your disposal, as well as the free coffee machine in each room. One bottle of water is also included in the hotel fee.
Parking is offered (of course paying in addition) in a comfortable and very close to the hotel location.
Overall is a good place to stay, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girante_ugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed here after reading about it on TripAdvisor and am so glad I took everyone's advice! This place combines the charm and personal attention of a small European hotel with the convenience and comfort of an American hotel. I had a spacious room on the 5th floor that had its own little balcony. Fabulous buffet breakfast with just about anything you could ask for. Free internet service was another nice feature. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was also terrific, about a 3-minute walk from the Museums Quartier and the U2 subway line, and about a 5-minute walk to the Nasch Markt. The Ring and Stephansplatz also were within walking distance, if you're a motivated walker. All in all, a lovely place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We just returned from a trlp starting in Vienna and ending in Switzerland.

Das Tyrol hotel, well rated by members in Trip Advisor live up to our expectations and the welcome comments of our fellow TA colleagues.

It is a fine, intimate boutique hotel. The location is perfect - in the Museum Quarter just 2 blocks from the Metro and 4 blocks to the Ringstrasse it is off an alley on a quiet side street.

The rooms are nice and are air condtioned. The desk staff provides excellent assitance in a friendly manner. The buffet breakfast is complete too.

If you like smaller hotels with personality this will suit you to a T -Tyrol!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,414 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing