We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel”
Review of Hostel Hutteldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Hutteldorf
Ranked #49 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here in April 2013 while on a backpacking trip in mainland Europe. The hostel was very easy to find with signs at the overpass in Hutteldorf station directing where to find it. The location was particularly convenient for me as I was moving on to Salzburg and the Westbahn trains leave from Hutteldorf station. Staying 2 minutes from Hutteldorf station saved me a long trip back into Vienna to get to the Hauptbahnhof.
The staff were helpful and looked after me very well. I arrived early in the morning- long before check-in - but the receptionist allowed me to store my luggage in the locker room before checking in so I could enjoy Vienna without lugging my things around! One night I asked if I could eat at the hostel and was told that they only catered for large groups, but the receptionist then went and asked the kitchen if they could make some extra food for me as they did have a group in eating that night, which was very kind of him.
The room was warm, clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. There were problems with the hot water on my first day, so I had to wait a while to have a shower, but they sorted it out within a few hours so it wasn't a major inconvenience. The breakfast was simple but filling and just what I needed to fuel up for a day's sightseeing! I also was grateful for the free internet access in the lounge.
Thank you to all at Hostel Hutteldorf for a pleasant experience- I'm sure I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diableamoureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Hutteldorf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although the hostel is just a 2 min walk from Vienna Hutteldorf train station, it is avg. 30 minutes from the city center. However, the hotel rooms are really nice and clean and is so well furnished, it almost feels like a hotel. The view from the balcony was mindblowing.

The breakfast provided in room price included Bread, Butter, Jam, Milk, Fruit, Yoghurt, Coffee etc.

Room Tip: Choose the 6-bed mixed dorm room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in the hostel twice in a week. One for 2 days and once for a day. The Hotel has really a warm reception staff. It was very interesting to see that it is one of the most preferred hostel for students.

The check-in time is 3:00pm. However, we reached the hostel by 10:00am. The hostel staff assisted us to keep our luggage in the luggage room. They also advised us to visit some nearby places (Schönbrunn Palace, Zoo etc) and gave clear instructions how to reach them.

There were big crowd to check in at 3:00pm. However, the reception staff were very good and assigned the rooms with patience. The reception is open for 24-hours and always open for questions.

The complementary breakfast is served from 7:00am till 10:00am and it is descent. They also give you packed lunch on request for a very small price.

The rooms are neat and clean. There single rooms have only common bathrooms. But, they are well maintained. There is large free area in the backside of the hostel where you can sit and chat.

There are very regular metro (U4) till midnight on week days. There are buses as well. This matters as you can not walk down to this place from city center.

Overall, this is a very descent place to stay, which very good staff. However, the only concern it its location (far away from city center)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumant_Kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel is far from the city centre, you have to use the metro.
I stayed in a 20-beds rooms, but they are quiet enough. The shared bathrooms were clean, but a bit too small. There are lockers available for free if you have something to lock them with. The breakfast is very good, as it's free and full of different kinds of food, but there is no kitchen. We enjoyed our stay, mostly because of the nice guys we met

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakobs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Hostel itself is very nice and the staff are lovely, however the rooms are not very airy and it's extremely warm in the rooms.
It is not near the main town, but the hostel does not advertise that it is near the centre. It's not far to the metro station which takes you right into the centre.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hostel is lovely. Away from the main city (it never pretends to be central and so if this bothers you just go elsewhere) But very well connected via the u4, a ticket is hardly needed. The staff are friendly and always available. The breakfast is fantastic and is included in the price. The key cards were a problem for us but the staff sorted it easily and quickly. Each room is modern and spacious with very comfy beds. Only one plug socket in each room though and the corridoors were a bit noisy at night but overall a brilliant hostel to which we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hostel is a very far distance from the main downtown area of Vienna- a bus ride and twenty minute subway ride. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful and continued to be so for our entire stay of four nights. There were many school groups staying in the hostel who were extremely loud very late into the night. The rooms were spacious but there was only one outlet per room in the dorm rooms. The Internet works quite well everywhere in the hostel. We had to move rooms halfway through our stay from a six bed dorm to a four bed ensuite. The ensuite was an incredible difference. If you stay in this hostel, do not stay in the dorm rooms! The showers are terrible and are co-ed. Choose an ensuite and you will be much happier. The breakfasts were good and included.

Room Tip: The difference between the dormitories and ensuite rooms is huge. Stay in a private ensuite if at al...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
A&T Holiday Hostel
#42 of 214 in Vienna
211 reviews
Vienna Travel Masters
#113 of 214 in Vienna
1 reviews
Mariahilf
Westend City Hostel
Westend City Hostel
#30 of 214 in Vienna
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 214 in Vienna
933 reviews
Ottakring
Palace Hostel Schlossherberge
Dobling
Chicilli Hostel
Chicilli Hostel
#160 of 214 in Vienna
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Hutteldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Hutteldorf

Address: Schlossberggasse 8, Vienna 1130, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Hietzing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £13 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Hutteldorf 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Hutteldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Hutteldorf Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing