We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Kraml

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Kraml
Ranked #5 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is very nice, family owned facility, which has great location (about 15-20 minutes walk to all main attractions and very good public transportation connections, e.g. metro and buses nearby). We enjoyed our super delicious breakfast buffet. We had very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; it was lovely to come back home away from home every day. During our stay, the temperature was up to 35 degrees Celcius. Our rooms in Pension Kraml was nice and cool. - Over all excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnsaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    92
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
122
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived at Pension Kraml, well located near the city center and sights. Stephan, one of the family that owns the property greeted us and showed us to our room. We were surprised (my fault, not theirs, for not reading what we had booked) after climbing the stairs (no elevator) to find a room without an attached bathroom. The bath and toilet rooms were several paces outside our door and shared. We got over that surprise (again my fault, I had never seen or booked a room without a bath, and didn't look for the print that stated that on the website or on the confirm, silly). We had booked an economy room (with shared bath) and they do have rooms with private baths. I just didn't notice that fact on making my booking. I asked if we could trade up to a room with bath, but it happened to be the weekend of a huge Danube Music Festival, and the property was full. It turned out that the room, which has a large new sink was quite good, the wi-fi functional, the location great, Stephan an excellent orienter and glad to be of help, good cleaning staff, and never once in 6 days did I pass a single person on the way to the spotless bath or to shower. So really it wasn't the great inconvenience we at first imagined to not have a dedicated bathroom. The price was LOW for Europe accommodation, and the value was therefore HIGH. The breakfast was the best buffet of our many on this several month trip: excellent cheeses in abundant variety, Camembert and Ementhal to name just 2 types there. Fruits, juices, hard boiled eggs, yoghurts, ham salami and meats. Even pickles. Varieties of breads rolls and cakes. Really delish. The location is right near public transport, close to 2 metro stations (Ubahn) and adjacent to buses that go everywhere. And easy walking to places as well. Stephan was a cordial and gracious host. Great place, great value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best communicate with owners re location of your room Those 2 floors up require some real stair cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuhandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We needed a cheap place to stay for 4 nights in Vienna. In the centre, if possible. We found one last room in this cosy little pension and we had a wonderful time here.This pension belongs to the Kraml family for a few generations and we hope, it will continue in this way. The rooms are very large and cozy, the location is almost perfect, the owner is a very friendly and helpful gentleman and we can´t thing of anything wrong. (Well, the shower was on the floor, but we knew that before.) And the breakfast was absolutely splendid! There was so much of it it was almost impossible to try a bit of everything. We can recommend this pension to people who are not choosy (it has no lift and the owner can´t be there 24/7). It´s cheap, perfectly located and welcoming. If we shall ever go back to Vienna, we will stay here again, that´s for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek_Martina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a excellent experience with this pension. First we were greeted with a warm welcome. Stephen was a very friendly and helpful person who helped us to move luggage cases to the rooms upstairs and prepared the parking permit for our car. He show us our rooms and breakfast room and told us the story of this pension house which was quite interesting. He then spent a lot of time in directing the underground station and other travel information to us. When my parents request a kettle for boiling hot water for tea, he immediately brought not only a kettle but also a set of tea cups as well as some tea bags!

Besides the nice staff, the rooms offered to us were just brilliant. We had a huge room with double bed and even a dressroom next to our bedroom. The room was clean and nice, facing towards the countyard, so it is very quiet to sleep over night. WIFI speed is very quick. The mattress is also very comfortable.

We cannot find any disadvantage for this pension - excellent service, friendly staff, clean, quiet and big room, high WIFI speed in the room, convenient location to most of the places in Vienna and also...very cost effective price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinglebell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Location: We travelled from Cesky Krumlov to the hotel door in Vienna arriving at Approx 08.30 PM (3 ½ hour trip) costing about 40 Euro each using CK Shuttle Bus service. The service is punctual, comfortable, safe and reliable. The hotel is in a quiet street about a 15 minute walk to the Westbahnhof and 15 – 20 minute walk to the Opera House. We found the location to be great. Appears to be a safe area.
Staff: The hotel is a family business and very well managed. All seem to speak English. Advise and information is readily available.
Accommodation: Our rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable, unfortunately there are no lift to the upper floors. The buffet breakfast is excellent.
Would I Recommend: Definitely

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Wonderful family run place. Super clean rooms. Great location 15ish minutes walking to all main attractions. Had a double room which was super spacious. It had a wash basin in room with a blow dryer and the bathrooms and showers were both separate but on the same floor. I never had an issue with any of the facilities being used when I needed them. Breakfast was included and awesome they had a great spread of options. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Pension Kraml is one of the best B&Bs I've been to in Europe by far. Its ideally located in a non-touristy location. 10 mins to the Pilgrimgasse underground. 2 stops in one direction is Karlspatz, which drops you into the city center, 4 stops the other way to the Zoo and the palace. A couple of blocks from the hotel is Mariahilferstrasse, the main shopping district with a variety of shopping and dining options.

We were a family of 4 with 2 little kids and the owner and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. we stayed on the 3rd floor and complained the first couple of days about the lack of an elevator, but get used to it! Its Europe for you! Very clean, spacious rooms with a sumptuous breakfast in the morning! Free WiFi too! All in all, a steal!
The only comments would be to add a microwave/pantry area in each floor, so we can get by with a few small things - esp for kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarthikVugane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#62 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#90 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 114 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kraml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kraml

Property: Pension Kraml
Address: Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kraml 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned Hotel-Pension (our family does also live there) is located in a small and quiet by-road. Close to one of the most important business and shopping streets of Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Within short distance (15 minutes walk) from the railway station Vienna-West and the historical centre (Wiener Ringstrasse) with its monumental buildings and historical places.Next subway stops: U3/ZIEGLERGASSE (3 minutes walk) or U4/PILGRAMGASSE (5 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Kraml reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kraml Hotel Vienna
Kraml Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing