We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, great Pension!”
Review of Pension Kraml

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Kraml
Ranked #10 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Pension Kraml. The room was clean, the staff are friendly & helpful, the breakfast was sumptuous and the Pension is centrally located - very close to Pilgrimgasse station. Good value!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a book cabinet with great selection of fiction novels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srir4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We are a family of 5, stayed during September 2013, the room (no.1) was spacious, clean and comfortable. Stefan Kraml is a superb host, kind, nice professional and attentive.
The room was clean, quite and best value for money. Location is great.
We had a potential issue with a need for early morning large taxi, and Stefan was wiling to be awake at 5am to make sure we are OK on time to airport.
The breakfast is perfect as well, additionally when we told Stefan that we had to leave early the next day to catch an early flight, they packed us breakfast to have on the next day.
Overall, it was a pleasant experience at pension Kraml.

Room Tip: Room no.1 is facing the garden and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good location - centrally located, you may have to walk a distance to the subway station but once you get to the main street, it is the main shopping road. I find the cost rather affordable, especially when what we needed was the basic - a safe and clean place to spend the night with bathrooms and privacy. I thought it was a good deal in terms of my budget. The breakfast was great - i love the array of food and the host was also friendly and he speaks english. The rooms are large and spacious. Even though the rooms look a little older, they were very clean and neat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights during hot (all days above 34 C) weather. Had a top floor street side room with toilet. On the plus side, the room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was the best we experienced in 3 weeks of mid-budget Austria and Switzerland. We found the breakfast room charming. The location of the Kraml is very good, with very doable walk to/from the Westbahnhof and easy walk to Underground stations for tourist attraction access. Stephan was informative, efficient, and pleasant. The price very fair for Vienna.
The only significant downside of the Kraml resulted from the need to open a window on hot nights. Our room suffered from street noise and I'm sure that there were problems with smoke for those on the courtyard side (see other reviews).This problem is hard to solve if you stay in an old building and I'm sure most nights in Vienna do not require open windows. Our solution was to be less picky - we both fell asleep eventually and enjoyed our time in Vienna. Oh, and we just obtained additional soap after the second night.

Room Tip: If you can't tolerate noise when the windows are open, choose the courtyard side. If you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We traveled with our son and stayed in two adjacent rooms with private bathroom for three nights. The rooms were large and clean. They served breakfast that was very good. There was free internet in the room and my son told us that the connection was decent.The only issue was the hand shower that had to be held and there was no place to hang it. The other rooms have to share a hall bathroom which seemed more modern. the owner and staff were great. When we told them that we had to leave early the next day to catch a train, they packed us breakfast to have on the train which helped us a lot. Our train was to Italy and there was no dining car in the train and with several hours train ride it was good to have some food on board. We were grateful to have the packed breakfast with us. Overall, it was a pleasant experience at pension Kraml.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina50952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Kraml family are some of the nicest people you would want to stay with. The Pension was very quiet and relaxing. Our room looked over the peaceful courtyard. This did have one drawback however in that the courtyard is where guest go to smoke. So, if you have your window open you might get smoke in your room. Our room was huge, like an apartment and very comfortable.

The breakfast was very good with lots of option and they will even provide you with a coffee pot to take back to your room. Our departure was very early in the morning and they provided with some food for the road.

We had a rental car and reserved the parking which happened to be a garage in the courtyard. It was very interesting driving thru the building to get to the courtyard. The vehicle was definitely safe there.

The location is very good. A 5 minute walk will get you to the major shopping street Mariahilfer and the underground. A 20 minute walk will get you to the Museum Quarter and the beginning of the major sites.

What may be a drawback to some is there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moncurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed there with a party of 5 in a family suite. We had a perfect experience in the family suite except that, even though the apartment is super-quiet, an intermittent popping noise kept waking me up throughout the night. I eventually traced it back to the long natural-gas pipes running along the wall to the heater. These pipes seem to contract/expand due to pressure and temperature changes and give out a random cracking / popping noise. By the last night, I found a solution: stuffed a piece of clothing between the wall and the pipe so it could no longer move freely, and would not pop and carry the noise. Keep this trick in mind if you are a light sleeper and encounter the same noises.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttzoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 116 in Vienna
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kraml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kraml

Address: Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kraml 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned Hotel-Pension (our family does also live there) is located in a small and quiet by-road. Close to one of the most important business and shopping streets of Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Within short distance (15 minutes walk) from the railway station Vienna-West and the historical centre (Wiener Ringstrasse) with its monumental buildings and historical places.Next subway stops: U3/ZIEGLERGASSE (3 minutes walk) or U4/PILGRAMGASSE (5 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Kraml reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kraml Hotel Vienna
Kraml Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing