We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Kraml”
Review of Pension Kraml

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Kraml
Ranked #12 of 118 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had such a great experience at Pension Kraml while in Vienna. Staff (Stefan) was very pleasant and helpful. Room was excellent. Clean, roomy and comfortable. We stayed in room without bathroom but they were ample, clean and close. Breakfast and breakfast room were magnificent. What great value and pleasant experience

Room Tip: Rooms without bathroom have ample toilets in hall and there is wash basin in room. We left soon afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tttmartin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Spent 6 nights here in August.

Had the most amazing time. Amazing location, just 2 minutes walk from Mariahilferstrasse and all the stores. Not that far to down town and all the tourist attractions, museums etc.

Service is great. It is a family run place and one can tell they really try to make your stay as pleasent as possible.

Breakfast is amazing and the free WiFi was nice surprise.

Will surely return. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved this pension. The owner was very friendly and always prompt answering our inquiries. He let us arrive early and stow our luggage until we checked in later. The courtyard is adorable and the location is about a 15 minute walk to the main train station. The location is also about 5 minute walk from two very convenient metro stops. Many restaurants and shops are close by as well. The room was neat, clean, included nice wardrobes, in the room sink and mirror, big windows to open for air. Stairs to climb so keep that in mind if that is an issue. Outside street noise may be a deterrent to some but we were so tired, we slept great. Breakfast was our favorite our whole trip - abundant, fresh, variety. Singles, families, retirees, and couples were all at breakfast when we were there. The owner has every attention to detail. Wonderful value for the money!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, you might want to choose an inside room. We had a large, corner room with 3 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived before noon, but the room was ready for us. Clearly my email confirmation had bee read closely. An early train departure meant leaving before breakfast had the owner not opened the breakfast room early for us. That's the level of service provide here. Clean room, great location, helpful staff and a great price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KMChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were late for check-in and called to inform the pension, and the person (Stefan Kraml) assured us that it was all right and he could wait. When we arrived, he welcomed us warmly and showed us to our rooms. Once he learnt that we would be going on a full-day tour the next morning before their breakfast starts, he hastily ran off and came back with a basket of fruits, telling us to eat it for breakfast and even apologised for not being able to give us something better. It was definitely a pleasant experience.

It was located just a few minutes walk from 3 different metro stations, and also quite near to a main street with places to shop. Location was really good for this, and yet the prices were very reasonable. The rooms were clean, furniture looked a bit old but still clean, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was also quite good. I would definitely come here again if I were to visit Vienna again.

Room Tip: The view was nothing much, so try asking for a room on lower floors if you have lots of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm in agreement with the majority of reviewers. This a clean well run pension in a handy location. I can't get over how they can do what they do at such a modest price. OK, it's 2 stars, but everything is clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was high quality. I was in a small single room with a toilet just outside the door and a shower a short walk down the corridor. I stayed for 8 nights so got to see it pretty well. A few points stopped me from rating it 5 Excellent - the towels were thin and scratchy and had obviously seen better days. It's a bit of a struggle to walk up two flights of stairs with the luggage but then for 2 stars a lift is not expected. The furniture was serviceable although the chair in my room was pretty hard. The wifi was very slow in room 3 but much faster in the dining room. When talking to Stephan(?) owner/manager(?) he said he tried to keep the price low so he enjoyed full occupancy. For the price this has to be one of the best deals I've come across.

While the pension is close to U-Bahn 3 and the Westbahnhof station, it is also close to U-Bahn 4 which is a handy alternative to getting around the city. Bus 57A from Gumpendorferstrasse at the end of the street (50m) takes you in to the Ring and the choice of trams etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuzzaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A very clean and well presented room, maybe a kettle, tea and coffee in the room would have been a bonus. The shared shower/ toilet did not present a problem during our stay. The room was serviced to a high standard daily. Breakfast was downstairs, next door, a typical continental affair, of a high quality. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The transportation system is in easy reach which opens up the city for you, the stroll down Mariahilfer Strabe is a must ending at the Hofburg centre. Excellent value for money in Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastYorksTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 118 in Vienna
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Kaisermühlen
The Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kraml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kraml

Address: Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £56 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kraml 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned Hotel-Pension (our family does also live there) is located in a small and quiet by-road. Close to one of the most important business and shopping streets of Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Within short distance (15 minutes walk) from the railway station Vienna-West and the historical centre (Wiener Ringstrasse) with its monumental buildings and historical places.Next subway stops: U3/ZIEGLERGASSE (3 minutes walk) or U4/PILGRAMGASSE (5 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Kraml reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kraml Hotel Vienna
Kraml Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing