We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...but you can do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palace Hostel Schlossherberge
Ranked #45 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good...but you can do better.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I am not sure if the guests who gave this Hostel 4-and-5 "stars" stayed at the same Hostel I did. There is a Palace Hotel next door which appears to be owned by the same company and may very well be a better place to stay--I'd hope so. As far as this or any Hostel goes, it's all in the details:

The Staff were Great! They were helpful beyond the call of duty, friendly and as professional as could be expected. The views of Vienna from the hilltop location are impressive. The place was basically clean, though not immaculately so.

Maybe reviewer MariusW got the Platinum Package which we were not made privvy to, but our whole party used our own towels. Sheets were given us for the somewhat-less-than-comfortable beds, but certainly not towels, nor soap, nor bathmats (not even the paper ones), nor enough toilet paper. But it'a a hostel, and those "extras" are rare these days.

But for me, the killer was the management's implementation of some water-saving device on our second day. After a fairly loud school-group(yep) departed (perhaps having used more water than the management would like?), we returned to find the shower's water pressure akin to a multi-spout water fountain's. I am not making this up. The staff seemed as chagrined as we were by this new development; it wasn't their fault. Nor is our final opinion of their hostel probably much their fault, either.

The breakfast was included. It was fine, but had they charged, say, 3 Euros, we'd have chosen to skip it and head into Vienna--where even street vendors do baked goods and various linked-meats like nobody's business.

Speaking of heading into Vienna: Palace Hostel Schlossherberge is nowhere near the City Centre. Vienna's public transport is excellent and one can get a bus to/from the Hostel fairly easily from 6 AM til near midnight. But that bus gets you to the last stop on the U3 (or Orange) Subway line and then it's a 20 minute ride to the Centre. Definitely get a 2- or 3- day pass at a bus or train staion.

For the money, it's an adequate value. You can certainly do worse than staying here, but next time I'm in Vienna, I can't imagine I will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RioGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
12
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The best relation price-quality. Althogh it's a little far from the city center, the bus and metro are not that expensive and will leave you right in front of the hostel.
I suggest you to buy a 2day or a 3day pass for public transports, which allows you to take the metro or the bus.
About the hostel: friendly staff, clean rooms, lot of space to put your luggage and to walk in the bedrooms, great view at night above Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCamarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hostel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is also very clean and they have towels included in the room price. From the room you can have a very beautiful panorama over Vienna (the hostel it's on the hill). There is a lot of parking space.
One minus it is that it's not very central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

When you book in advance you can get a room in this hostel very cheaply - I managed a quadruple room with bathroom for 50 Euros, but booked well in advance. The hostel is clean, very friendly staff, nice breakfast included in the price. But the view is something you do not expect (even if you have read reviews) - it is magnificent! The hostel is located on a hill and the panorama of Vienna is simply brathtaking. Please note that teh towels are not included in the room price - there ia a fee so you may want to take your own. Also, you need to make your own bed - take the sheets from the reception. Please also note that the reception closes at 10pm, so plan to arrive earlier on your first night. Hotel guests receive a key to let themselves in at any time. There is a mini golf course for you or your kids to enjoy (free).

Room Tip: Ground floor with panorama view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcekpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hostel is in a beautiful location overlooking the city: particularly spectacular at night. It's in the same grounds as a posh hotel, so don't be confused when you arrive! It's easy to get the bus down to the Ubahn and buses are quite regular. Don't expect to go to a bar and stumble round the corner back home, although there is a nice beer garden down the hill.

The hostel itself is average - the rooms aren't so big and the beds we had were in a poor state. But the room was clean. There aren't any common areas other than the top of the stairs, so it can be noisy at night depending on what is going on.

The breakfast room is nice but it's locked after breakfast time. There are machines to get drinks from, but they're not very good and many of the choices were not available. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice. You can sit outside if it's sunny.

The staff were helpful and efficient, but not particularly welcoming.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairs and ask for one with a view over the park and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

There is no common kitchen, or just a place to make a cup of tea. The 'lounge' is just a few plastic chairs, no where to sit comofortably and use wifi. The room was fine and clean, breakfast was goid wirh free coffee. The weather was bad when we were there there so we did nit have much to do around the hostel, I imagine in good weather it would be better as you can rent bikes cheaply at the hostel. We felt the receptionist was unhelpful and they do not have any maps of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

7 teaching staff, having a break to see Vienna and visit the Christmas markets. We were all a bit apprehensive about staying in a hostel but there was no need to worry. The Palace Hostel is clean, warm and picturesque with vews over Vienna. Outside the main city but with such wonderful public transport, it wasn't a problem.

As a group we had the rooms to ourselves, but if you are not keen on sharing with strangers, then it would not be suitable. You are given a clean linen pack to make up your own bed on arrival. Each room has 4 bunks with wardrobe and cupboard space each and lovely views from the windows. Clean basic ensuite shower room. Plenty warm enough in the winter. Reception staff very helpful. Breakfast basic but good - selection of breads and spreads, good choice of teas and coffees and several cereals and fruit. Excellent value for money. One complaint from 4 girls sharing-could have done with a mirror in the room, not just in the bathroom!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holyport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien
Hietzing
Hostel Hutteldorf
Hostel Hutteldorf
#47 of 208 in Vienna
177 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#41 of 208 in Vienna
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 208 in Vienna
920 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hostel Schlossherberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hostel Schlossherberge

Property: Palace Hostel Schlossherberge
Address: Savoyenstrasse 2, Vienna 1160, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palace Hostel Schlossherberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hostel Schlossherberge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing