We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palace Hostel Schlossherberge
Ranked #47 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A typical hostel with nothing special that was very overpriced. We were only in Vienna for one night, and it was right before New Years Eve (Dec 30th), so most hostels were all booked up (probably why it seemed so expensive). The rooms aren't too bad, nice that they have their own bathroom (not sure if they all do- we were in a 4 person shared), and were clean. Wi-fi only works in the common area, and even there is not too fast. Front desk staff was nice enough. The breakfast in the morning was alright.. nothing special, but hey it's free so can't really complain! Best thing about this hostel is the beautiful view! I imagine it would also be a lovely place to spend time at in the summer when you could enjoy the outdoors a little more. Location, besides the nice view... not the greatest... really far out of town, have to take the metro and the bus. Easy enough to figure out but a bit of a hassle. Also, there doesn't seem to be much in the area. We had to eat dinner at the Palace Hotel next door, which was expensive for the quality of food. Not a bad stay, fairly average, but would probably not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlyn_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Been here for a single night, for the location i would give 5 * and for the cost per person was also goo except:

1) We were here in winter when the temperature was -8, and the heating was not effective
2) No hot water
3) have to rent VERY small towels for 1.8€


good place for scenic view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful experience. It was a bit tough finding directions on how to get to the hostel, but once you figure it out it is really quite easy. From the city center you take the train (U-bahn) to Ottakring, which is the last stop on the U3 line. Then you transfer to either the 46B or the 146B bus and get off at Schloss Wilhelminenberg. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Note that there is a hotel on the same property, but the hostel is down a path to the left of the hotel. The bus ride from the hostel to Ottakring is about ten minutes.
The rooms are very clean and each person gets two lockers. The staff is very friendly and helpful at the hostel. We had made two different reservations, and they were flexible about letting one of our friends change rooms so we could all be together. There is good variety at the complementary breakfast served every morning from 7-9. There is a beautiful view of Vienna from the back of the hostel.
It is a little far from the city, but it's a located in a beautiful place. It all depends on your personality and what you're looking for in your hostel.
In some places, it says you can only get wifi in the lobby. My room was close enough to the reception that I was able to get wifi in the room. Not sure how far that extends throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I am not sure if the guests who gave this Hostel 4-and-5 "stars" stayed at the same Hostel I did. There is a Palace Hotel next door which appears to be owned by the same company and may very well be a better place to stay--I'd hope so. As far as this or any Hostel goes, it's all in the details:

The Staff were Great! They were helpful beyond the call of duty, friendly and as professional as could be expected. The views of Vienna from the hilltop location are impressive. The place was basically clean, though not immaculately so.

Maybe reviewer MariusW got the Platinum Package which we were not made privvy to, but our whole party used our own towels. Sheets were given us for the somewhat-less-than-comfortable beds, but certainly not towels, nor soap, nor bathmats (not even the paper ones), nor enough toilet paper. But it'a a hostel, and those "extras" are rare these days.

But for me, the killer was the management's implementation of some water-saving device on our second day. After a fairly loud school-group(yep) departed (perhaps having used more water than the management would like?), we returned to find the shower's water pressure akin to a multi-spout water fountain's. I am not making this up. The staff seemed as chagrined as we were by this new development; it wasn't their fault. Nor is our final opinion of their hostel probably much their fault, either.

The breakfast was included. It was fine, but had they charged, say, 3 Euros, we'd have chosen to skip it and head into Vienna--where even street vendors do baked goods and various linked-meats like nobody's business.

Speaking of heading into Vienna: Palace Hostel Schlossherberge is nowhere near the City Centre. Vienna's public transport is excellent and one can get a bus to/from the Hostel fairly easily from 6 AM til near midnight. But that bus gets you to the last stop on the U3 (or Orange) Subway line and then it's a 20 minute ride to the Centre. Definitely get a 2- or 3- day pass at a bus or train staion.

For the money, it's an adequate value. You can certainly do worse than staying here, but next time I'm in Vienna, I can't imagine I will.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The best relation price-quality. Althogh it's a little far from the city center, the bus and metro are not that expensive and will leave you right in front of the hostel.
I suggest you to buy a 2day or a 3day pass for public transports, which allows you to take the metro or the bus.
About the hostel: friendly staff, clean rooms, lot of space to put your luggage and to walk in the bedrooms, great view at night above Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCamarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hostel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is also very clean and they have towels included in the room price. From the room you can have a very beautiful panorama over Vienna (the hostel it's on the hill). There is a lot of parking space.
One minus it is that it's not very central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

When you book in advance you can get a room in this hostel very cheaply - I managed a quadruple room with bathroom for 50 Euros, but booked well in advance. The hostel is clean, very friendly staff, nice breakfast included in the price. But the view is something you do not expect (even if you have read reviews) - it is magnificent! The hostel is located on a hill and the panorama of Vienna is simply brathtaking. Please note that teh towels are not included in the room price - there ia a fee so you may want to take your own. Also, you need to make your own bed - take the sheets from the reception. Please also note that the reception closes at 10pm, so plan to arrive earlier on your first night. Hotel guests receive a key to let themselves in at any time. There is a mini golf course for you or your kids to enjoy (free).

Room Tip: Ground floor with panorama view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcekpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hietzing
Hostel Hutteldorf
Hostel Hutteldorf
#52 of 217 in Vienna
188 reviews
Mariahilf
Westend City Hostel
Westend City Hostel
#28 of 217 in Vienna
193 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#42 of 217 in Vienna
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 217 in Vienna
957 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hostel Schlossherberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hostel Schlossherberge

Address: Savoyenstrasse 2, Vienna 1160, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £26 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hostel Schlossherberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hostel Schlossherberge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing