We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make sure to stop!”

Kapuziner Crypt (Kapuzinergruft)
Ranked #36 of 570 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“make sure to stop!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were on the fence about visiting the imperial crypt, but when we literally stumbled across the entrance we thought why not? So glad we did! We had already been through the imperial apartments, Sisi Museum, Schoenbrunn Palace, etc, so by this point we were familiar with several names on that family tree. So it was very interesting to walk through this place and actually see their final resting places. The tombs are very intricate for the most part, and the whole experience very intriguing if not a little macabre

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    301
    70
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
271 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Coffins as artistic master pieces”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

It is not easy to find ,without an impressive enterance,but it is an amzing place,really a great exhibition and coffins are their master pieces,dark enviroment help to achive an unworldly sence.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BijanTehran_Iran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fascinating history lesson”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It's amazing how much you can learn about history from a crypt. It's fascinating to see how lifespans changed through the years and to get to the end and realize that they still bury people there... Some of the tombs are really beautiful and it's also interesting to see the different styles from each century.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
528 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Amazing & very interesting”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I love things like this along with cemeteries. I was amazed at the elaborate art work on some of these. I was told that most of these people (Royalties) have theirs designed while they are alive.
When i first walked in i was pretty impressed with the the coffins but as I went on they became more elaborate and the best ones look like royal pieces of art. It is nice ot visit the palaces and learn of the Hapsburgs before you go but if you dont have time it is still very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A royal visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you're the type of traveler who would visit cemeteries to see tombstones of famous people, then this is definitely for you. You'd probably enjoy it more if you brush up on your Habsburg history beforehand. But even without the historic background, you can still enjoy seeing the coffins as incredible pieces of art. After visiting these royal bodies, consider complementing your visit with one to the catacombs of St. Stephen's cathedral, where the organs of these royals are housed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor_35_Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kapuziner Crypt (Kapuzinergruft) also viewed

 

Been to Kapuziner Crypt (Kapuzinergruft)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing