We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building in daily use”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rathaus

Rathaus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$390.00*
and up
Half-Day Private Ringstrasse Project History Tour in Vienna
Ranked #12 of 564 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful building in daily use”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Rathaus is a beautiful old building that is also used as a centre for kids holiday-use and social events such as a Film Festival. It has lovely restaurants in the traditional Rathaus style, but we did not eat there.

The building is massive and many parts can be visited, well worth the visit and it is even free, (very rare in Vienna).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jackb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,487
    1,241
    191
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening out - and free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

During our visit, a film festival was held at the Rathaus (town hall). There was a selection of food vendors, offering a wide array of international cuisine. The performance of Madame Butterfly was disappointing - a strange version that caused many people (including ourselves) to walk out. There were other performances during the week but we didn't actually go into the town hall.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CRTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check their Calendar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

If visiting Vienna, check what is happening at Rathaus during the days of your visit. Perfect park for outdoor movies and food vendors. Perfect way to enjoy a beautiful summer day or or evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichaelF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had a reception there with the congress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice. But would I go there for the building? I would sooner go to secession. This is a fancy classical building, very large and filled with huge red-carpeted stairwells. There is a garden square unthe middle and reminds me that the Austrians survived the war unscathed. Although the same goes for secession, it was a revolutionary building, constructed in the face, so to speak, of the art establishment. Within is some of Klimt's more insightful work. Do not miss the Belvedere, where the main collection of Klimt is held.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yidonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Impressive city hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

If we go back to Vienna - we'd definitely make time to tour inside (very limited access - didn't jive with our schedule) - anyway - the outside is lovely and so impressive. Definitely worth walking inside the courtyard and around the exterior - what I found about tours:

http://www.wien.gv.at/english/cityhall/tours.htm
Tours take place on Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 1 pm, except on Council or Diet meeting days and public holidays. The tours are conducted in German. Touch screens at the City Information Centre also provide internet access to the virtual guided tour of Vienna City Hall. Guided tours of Vienna City Hall are free of charge. Multilingual audio guides are available for guided tours at Vienna City Hall. 30 high quality audio guides are available for free in English, French, Italian and Spanish. Visitors who rent an audio guide just need to deposit their ID cards.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BTMNSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rathaus also viewed

 

Been to Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing