We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally happy with the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belvedere Appartements
Ranked #20 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The apartment we (3 of us) were assigned was very comfortable and we were generally happy overall. Given the amount of apartments Belvedere have on offer it sounds like some arent up to scratch with the others. In any event we enjoyed our stay and had no problems comparable to the bad reviews given.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

First, let it be clear that my review refers to the location on Steingasse, 24. As it has been pointed out by other reviewers, there is no way of telling where you will end up staying if booking with Belvedere Apartments. In fact, we had booked with La Scala Apartments (see my review there) on the basis of slightly better reviews but, without as much as a prior notice, we were told that we would have to live on Steingasse, 24, owned by the Belvedere Apartments.

Do not be misled by nice pictures on their web-site. Although they may be accurate in respect of their Fasangasse location, the Steingasse place is poorly maintained and is outright flithy. The only good thing about it is the size of rooms. The cleaning and hygiene standards leave much to be desired, just look at huge yellowish stains on the towers they provided. The shower drain was blocked: every time we opened the tap in the bathroom or kitchen sink, dirty water started coming up in the shower. When taking a shower, we had to stand in a pool of dirty water. We confronted the owner about the issue and he promised that it would be fixed on Monday (it was Saturday and we were leaving on Sunday). I would not even mention the yellow sink and hanging wires, the pictures I have taken speak for themselves.

Finally, it has to be said that the location is inconvenient for sightseeing. It is too far from the city centre, there are no cafes or restaurants nearby and it feels a bit unsafe after dark.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonid R, Guest Relations Manager at Belvedere Appartements, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2015

Hello,

thank you so much for your stay with us. It is highly unfortunate your experience with us was sub par. Let me assure you, that Steingasse 24 has been renovated inside and out. We maintain high standards of hygiene and quality. We hope that you will return to a new and improved Belvedere Appartements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I have to agree with most of the latest reviews - be very careful - what you think you are getting and what you get are 2 entirely different things, especially when you see the photographs of the apartment on the Net. Our apartment was #14 at Gerlgasse 4 , not at Fassengasse 18, as advertised. Maybe there are even more locations, judging by comments by other T A reviewers??? Luckily there was a lift to take us to the 4th floor. The "Apartment" was tiny - open the front door, and straight in front was a double bed bedroom, with a table and chairs for 2 people - yes you eat in the bedroom. The "kitchen" to the right of the front door was 5 feet long and 3 feet wide - definitely a 1 person affair - a two ring electric hot plate, sink and microwave, with a washing machine, but no dishwasher. The bathroom, on the left hand side of the front door was functional and clean but similarly tiny - the hot water system was in the shower, and it was definitely a one person at a time room. Only 1 window in the bedroom, and no ventilation in the kitchen, bathroom or bedroom, so the place was stuffy and it was only 22 degrees Celcius when we were there - it would be a nightmare if there was a heatwave - and there is traffic noise outside. The neighbourhood was very down at heel and the walk into town is a good 30 minutes. There is public transport close by, but no details of how to use it and no ticket machines, in the vicinity, so we had to walk into the Tourist Office in town, get the details of how to use the system and buy our tickets there. From then on we were able to travel easily on the bus, train and tram network.. We parked our car in a Parking Station close by, at a cost of 35Euros per day. Vienna has no all day on-street parking unless you are a resident - all on street parking is for less than 2 hours and the parking inspectors are deadly, so if you are coming by car you either pay the hefty parking fee or "Park and ride" from the outskirts, where parking is around 3Euros per day.You can find more details on the Belvederes website.
The pluses - it was cheap 310 Euros for 4 nights, clean and there were basics such as papertowel, Liquid soap, dishwashing liquid etc provided. The correspondence, by E mail with the managers was helpful and we were met at the apartment and given the key. I would have walked out immediately had I not paid in advance. My advice would be to pay by cash when you get there, rather than the option of paying by CC or PayPal in advance. However you must pay the security/damages deposit before you get there (150Euros), so not sure how that would work with regard to a refund if you were to just walk away.
My recommendation would be to specifically ask where you will be staying and request some photos, otherwise like me you will be really disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonid R, Guest Relations Manager at Belvedere Appartements, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Josephine,


I am sorry it has taken such a long time to reply, and we appreciate your input and will do our utmost in better the experience of our future guests.

I have been with the company for 4 years now, and we do not have the Gerlgasse apartment.
We have large 6-8 person apartments in Fasangasse and 2-4 person apartments in Steingasse, 10 minute walk away.
Our apartments are modern and renovated. We do not have air conditioning but do provide ventilators upon request.
The neighborhood has been improving for many years now, and it is alive with shops and restaurants.
We are always more than happy to inform the guest about local transport and parking in Vienna. And yes, the parking situation, especially for visitors is very difficult, as with all other major European cities. Hence, we kindly ask that all questions be forwarded to us before arrival, and we will be happy to answer them in a timely manner.

Leonid Rudnitsky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I would have liked to stay here longer. It had a nice kitchen where I could have prepared some meals. The late check in system is great. They email you a code and you get your key outside the office. We checked in at 11pm. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable. Yet for the price, you will not have A/C. We had to kill a few mosquitos in the night, but it was worth it for the price.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dmcguire9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Regular sized bed and a hide a bed couch worked well for 2 people but would be crowded for more. Great to have washer dryer combination in the bathroom. The AC didn't work but at least there was a fan. You have to walk 2 blocks to the trains and it is a hike to city center. Good value for the price and owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had no problem with the apartment, it was spacious & clean with all facilities. The advertising says the apartment address is 18 Fasangasse where there are six apartments. This address is close to Belvedere Palace which was the reason for our interest in it. However when we arrived at the reception office the (unfriendly) person said " your apartment is not here it is at our other location 24 Steingasse" which was a 15 minute walk away and partly back to where we had arrived at the Rennweg Railway Station. We were given a map on how to get there which looked a short distance but after six hours on trains it was not easy pulling cases over uneven footpaths and along construction ramps for a further 15 min for two old Aussies !!
The management sends an email about one week prior advising that if you arrive after 6 pm there is a security code to get your key for the Steingasse Apartment, we had been travelling for two weeks and did not have access to our email prior to check in. Luckily we were there prior to 6 pm otherwise it would have been a nightmare finding Steingasse in the dark. Obviously a taxi to Steingasse would be the best option in both circumstances and we would have expected the attendant to advise this or even better, arrange for the taxi at their cost as as far as we were concerned the booking was for Fangasse.
The large apartment was compensation for the venue change but we did not really need all the bells and whistles anyway.
The location of your booking should be advised at the time of booking not when you turn up !!! Beware !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Eagerbeaver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonid R, Guest Relations Manager at Belvedere Appartements, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Hello,

thank you for your input and we are sorry it has taken so long to answer.

We do openly state that we ahve two locations at Steingasse and Fasangasse (where check-in takes place)

We kindly ask that guests let us know what time they are coming, and whether they require parking or a taxi transfer. This way, the stay runs smoothly.

Leonid Rudnitsky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I think you would take a chance with booking these apartments. When we booked, we were not advised that the apartment could be located in a different building or on a different street. They are located in resident buildings so we suspect that each apartment would be different to another. It would be luck of the draw on which one you get! The front office closed at 6pm but when we arrived at 5:30pm, it was already closed. We had followed email instructions to get the key but there were no other instructions on how to find our apartment. It was not located in the main building. When we finally found the correct building across the road, we had to carry our heavy luggage up 10 flights of stairs to the apartment because there were no lifts. We were surprised at how big the apartment was which made up for all the other flaws. It had two bedrooms (the main one was enormous), spa bath which was also a shower, great kitchen and all rooms were very clean and filled with modern furniture. The apartment was close to tram and train stops and had a lot of shops around it. We had to leave the next morning so it was a very short stay but would definitely try it out again the next time we're in Vienna.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StarRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
Queens Apartments
Queens Apartments
#13 of 217 in Vienna
164 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 217 in Vienna
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Appartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Appartements

Address: Fasangasse 18, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Appartements 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belvedere Appartements are housed in a 19th century, Gründerzeit period building in the 3rd district of Vienna. The reception is located at Fasangasse 18. The apartments are located at Fasangasse 18, 17, and Steingasse 24. We are always happy to accommodate reasonable requests, so please let us know how we may be of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Belvedere Appartements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Apartments Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing