We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 80\20 dilemma - or - God is in the details”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1080 City Apartments
Ranked #89 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We traveled 5 adults. 2 couples and my mother in-law (80 years old). Took 2 apartments, Superior Apartment 100m2, Standard Apartment.
Both apartments are spacious, clean and with most of the needed facilities. Washing/Drying machine, coffee machine (we had 4 capsules but the other apartment had non).
The office is in the building and available from 10:00 to 13:00, Monday to Friday. Very helpful.
Location is good too, near the U6 metro, 43 and 44 Trams, and just few stops from a major transportation hub (schottentor U). Quite neighborhood, nice places to drink and eat. This is the 80%.

The apartments are missing the last 20% - small things like a hook for a towel in the toilet in the large apartment. Also no soap to wash hands. No cleaning liquid in the toilet.
No place to put the soap and shower gel in the shower. You need to bend down and put them on the floor. Not a fun drill in the shower.
We had 4 days of high temp (32-35 deg C) - fans or ceiling fans could be a good idea (no chance for A/C).
As the heat rose Mosquito army was all over us - would be nice to have some basic repellent.
Apartments near the elevator suffer from noise - due to poor acoustics.

Note: some apartments are half-way between the floors. So you must use the stairs to get there.

Overall it was a good stay but as said many times before - God is in the details.

Room Tip: If you are an easy sleeper - stay away from the apartments near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was looking for a serviced apartment for a week as hotels were too expensive for a family of four. I found these apartments on another internet accommodation booking site and after reading the reviews there, booked our stay- but with some trepidation as I usually cross reference with the reviews on Tripadvisor, where this business was not listed at the time. The location was great. 5 minutes walk to a metro station or an even closer walk to a tram station.
The units are in a quiet safe district and easily accessed from a main road.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was bright, modern, clean and spacious for the 4 of us and warm in December. The kitchen was fairly sparsely equipped but we only had limited meals there like breakfast or takeaway dinners bought locally. There was a small supermarket and nearby a bakery only a couple of minutes' walk away near the tram stop. Inside the apartment was a simple Nespresso coffee machine, microwave, dishwasher, washer cum dryer , TV and wireless internet. Before we arrived in Vienna I had several emails back and forth to Patrick who was very helpful with all my enquiries and offered to organise a taxi van to collect our family and luggage at the airport, a service which I had not previously known about. Via email, we also organised early access, as we arrived on a morning flight and check-in is not usually until 3pm. Key collection was via coded lock.
We hardly saw anyone else in the complex while we were there. The downside to this is that although we did not actually have any problems during our stay, other reviewers have mentioned the difficulty in getting managerial feedback as the managers are not "on site", although numbers were available to call if necessary. If you are a confident independent traveller this is a great base from which to explore Vienna. If I could make a suggestion to the owners- it would be to implement a more responsive system, should guests make enquires or have problems during their stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoTadeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: при бронировании обязательно в коментарих попросите тщательно убрать квартиру и отмыть полы))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pioner747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floppy_and_cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#42 of 359 in Vienna
1,318 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1080 City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1080 City Apartments

Address: Alser Strasse 63a, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Hotel Class:4 star — 1080 City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing