We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Pension Ani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Ani
Ranked #278 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Neuchatel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

No internet inside all the rooms as it was said on the website, no 24h reception or emergency contact from the hotel. Poor service, not close to the city centre. There is better in Vienna for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabio_geo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
12
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Pension Ani. The B&B was very clean and comfortable and in easy walking distance of the city centre. It's also very close to the U-bahn and there's a tram stop right outside. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. I had an en-suite room with a lovely big window and views of the buildings opposite. I must say, my heart was taken away by Vienna. I truly think that it's probably the most beautiful city I have visited, and I can't wait until my next trip back! One of the many, many things that make this city so great is that although it's a major European city, it's not priced like one (i.e. you don't feel like things are a rip-off like they are in say Paris or London). This B&B was a very good example of that; this April, while in London, I paid 90 quid for a single en-suite room in a comparable location, while Pension Ani, which had all the same amenities (and a slighter nicer-feeling overall), only set me back about 40 quid a night. Definitely a bargain, and believe me, if you've never been to Vienna, GO NOW!

Room Tip: Just FYI if you are gluten-intolerant (like I am): Breakfast is big rolls and spreads only. In my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hotel was nice and served a nice breakfast in the morning. The room (although small) was comfy and provided everything you could need for a budget short-stay in Vienna. Helpful and polite staff at all times...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Good location, tram 43 station in front of the hotel. 4-5 station to mhte centre sand very good conections with other trams or U. Anyway the transport in Vienna is very well organised.
Located at the 4th floor , the pension was pretty good for us as we had comfortable bads, a small&clean bathroom. The only disadvantage was the dimension of the room. But, as we left the hotel at 8AM and came back at 22PM, it was ok.
Good staff, good basic breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dan-constantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Hi, I Am Dr. Anil B. Jalan from India. Over last 7 years I must have stayed at this Pension atleast 7 - 8 times ( almost once every year ) and sometimes twice in a year. I found the room rate very economical with good breakfast and very freindly staff. Its location was the main attraction me as it is very near to the University Hospital where I have to go for training and academic purpose. It is also close to the Metro station and has tram stop bang opposite the outside door. As every one I found the rooms very small but can't expect more for such a good rate.They were clean and housekeeping done every day. I will always prefer this hotel over anything else whenever I go to Vienna. The only thing which I desired was little variation and changes in the breakfast. We always got the same breakfast for last 8 years. Also, if they can provide some simple cooked food in the evening, it will be helpful as there are not many good restaurants nearby. Some small stalls are there near Metro or towards Shottentor station.
Overall it is fairly good stopover at a reasonable price. ---Dr. Anil Jalan

  • Liked — Location and Pricing
  • Disliked — Room size and non attractive breakfats
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jalananil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The pension was clean and quiet but the rooms are very small and you have to do pirouettes in order to go to toilet or from the one side of the room to the other (2 steps)
The pension is near to metro station (200m) and outside the door is the stop of the tram to Academia and University.It is about 4 stops from the center in a quite tranquil neighborhood. This has and the bad option because its difficult to find somewhere to have a drink.There are 2 pub's with huge portions of food to the other side of metro station. I think that is good for the price you pay.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — room space
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensTasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#284 of 361 in Vienna
257 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Porzellaneum
Hotel Porzellaneum
#265 of 361 in Vienna
56 reviews
Alservorstadt
Pension Madara
Pension Madara
#250 of 361 in Vienna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#198 of 361 in Vienna
224 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#305 of 361 in Vienna
84 reviews
Josefstadt
Korotan Hotel
Korotan Hotel
#227 of 361 in Vienna
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ani

Property: Pension Ani
Address: Kinderspitalgasse 1, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Ani 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Ani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Ani Hotel Vienna
Ani Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing