We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Receptionist not trustworthy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals
Ranked #151 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Receptionist not trustworthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in this so called hotel for 4 nights. Our room was on the main road so all night you can hear traffic go by. The bathroom in our room was only one third tiled and most of the floor tiles were broken. We had to cover the whole floor with towels to avoid catching an infection. Disgusting!! There was a TV but it didn't work. We paid extra for breakfast which was nothing but stale bread and orange squash which was suppose to be orange Juice. Worst of all is the receptionist. Do not trust him. When we arrived we saw a sign in the reception that said a taxi to the airport costs €36. When we enquired about it, he said that if he or his colleague drove us it would cost us €30 so we agreed on that price. On the day of our departure a taxi driver turned up and we had to pay €50 because he said he knew nothing about our agreement. It is cheap when compared to other hotels in Vienna but I advice you to stay away from this place if you want to enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    54
    68
    43
    28
See reviews for
31
82
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Me and my parter stayed at this hotel for two nights and we were absolutely satisfied. The room was enourmous for, the bathroom was clean, and the heating was working quiet well. The breakfest was plentí, though there wasn't any variety in it. Coffee, tea, sausages, eggs, sandwich, all the usual ( though I wouldn't recommend the orange juice, that tasted kinda funny). The only thing I wan'T satisfied with was the staff. The recepcionist was quiet rude with us and wasn't of any help at chech-in when there was a mix-up with our reservation. He wasn't behaving kind at check-out either. The transpotation is really good, there's a tram stop 2 just outside the hotel, and the city centre is only 10 minutes away with tram. All in all, if you look for a cheap place to stay in Vienna, you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZsofiTorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Good hotel but nothing much great about to mention.
Well located for people who are backpacking as it is close to the station and public transport.
Had complimentary breakfast but nothing much to mention about.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dillal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good located for both comming by car and by public transport. Staff speaking Slovak and Czech languages. Once (in 2010) I was there in a room with shared bathroom, this room was very quiet with windows facing thy yard of the complex of buildings. This time (2013) we had a room with private bathroom, the room was larger but facing the Hernalser Hauptstrasse and not so quite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very good price for a hotel in Vienna. Good location. The room was good size and clean. The bed was confortable. Shared bathroom was clean, but far from the room. The receptionist in the night shift did not help us. Every question that we asked about the city (bus and train station location) the receptionist said she did not know about it. But I would recommend it for the price and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has rooms half a minute from reception up the stairs. It's inconvenient for handicapped, but for us was OK. The room was very big, simple. The problem is parking, since you have to get up in the morning at 7 or 9 AM to avoid traffic fine. Still, it's a good value for money!

Room Tip: If you want big room, this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1314Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Alservorstadt
Pension Madara
Pension Madara
#275 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Senator
Hotel Senator
#181 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#166 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#95 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals

Property: Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 86, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing