We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away! ”
Review of Pension Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Vera
Ranked #322 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay Away! ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I want to preface this review by saying that I am not a picky or needy individual by any means, however this hotel found a way to irritate and cause hardship in every possible way.
First on arrival, I had to wait 20 minutes before anyone showed up at the front desk to greet me. I was greeted coldly and when it was time to pay, the lady demanded it be paid in cash before grudgingly accepting my card. I arrived to my room and throughout my 3 night stay flies and moths seemed to multiply in my room. The room was more or less a closet and the bathroom was awful. Your showers are going to scalding hot or icy cold and there is no happy medium. The towels are basically hand towels. The floor and walls were dirty and dim looking. Not once but twice during my stay an employee unlocked and barged into my room only to see me, then back out and leave. Not exactly making me feel welcome or safe... An absolute debacle start to finish and I'm certain you could find a better place to stay for similar money. Thankfully I'm am cleared of this quandary and I shall never return to this lousy, depressing, rude staffed shelter they call a hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank AAS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
17
20
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good location (close to the center of the city), clean, comfortable, very good price.
I recommend it. I think the price is very fair and the service was good.
I would stay there again and recommend to my family and friends.




Room Tip: Good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very nice place to stay, nice environment and excellent transportation. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, over my expectation, and services are good. Maybe the breakfast could be more diverse and a bit more careful services here, but nothing to be really unpleasant. We enjoy the time here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Radu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room was very small, about 3X2 m including the bathroom. The walls and the bed are really dirty. Hard to sleep after 6 a.m. as you cannot obscure the room. Everything is very different from what shown in the website.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Clean, good location (U6 alser straße stop), nice, spacious room, nice powerful shower and tasty, plentiful breakfast. Better than expected, our room and bathroom were better than what shown on website. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank CharliMarsh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is a very nice,clean and cheap place to stay.It is very close to city center(you won't need any public transport to get there) I recommend it and if I have another trip in Vienna I will definitely choose this hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Ionel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Geblergasse
Hotel Geblergasse
#214 of 360 in Vienna
505 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Ani
Pension Ani
#277 of 360 in Vienna
52 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#307 of 360 in Vienna
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#271 of 360 in Vienna
252 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Excellence
Pension Excellence
#279 of 360 in Vienna
82 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#293 of 360 in Vienna
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Vera

Property: Pension Vera
Address: Alser Strasse 18, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Vera 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Vera Hotel Vienna
Vera Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing