We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #6 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Really good hostel set up. Great vibes and wifi. Perfect location as so close to the metro. Breakfast for €3.90 is so worth it. We had a 4 bed + own bathroom which was perfect. 24 hour reception is so useful. Bit of confusion over the room booking so make sure you get what your pay for but staff were pretty helpful :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzyjanderdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    203
    79
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
129
166
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Superclean
Warm and helpful staff-one of them was willing to assist when im having trouble with sleeping on the top bed of the double deckers. Took the trouble to look for other alternative. The other helps me out to get me a cola when the vending machine was broken. All of them have nice smiles on their faces all the time (even at wee hours) and some are cute too ;)
easy checkin and checkout
Nice ambiance at the lounge -lively
Good location

tried to think of negative elements? NONE

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essie208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is the first hostel I've ever stayed at and I must admit I was not looking forward to that. However, I was pleasently surprised. The hostel was very clean, the staff was very helpful and all in all it was a great base for a week-long classtrip to Vienna.

They also offered guides to show us around Vienna. Our guide Charles was FANTASTIC. I would like to get a guided tour from him the next time I come to Vienna because he knew so much about the city and so many small things you probably would never know unless you lived there. Hatt off to you, Charles.

It was also well-located, close to the u-bahn (subway) and had a pretty good continental breakfast. Bonus; it's basically right on Mariahilferstrasse, aka. the main shopping street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brela, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in January and it was great. We gotten an upgrade from 4 dorm bedroom to 2 double bedrooms so that was wonderful, we also got free drink vouchers..the location is perfect since hostel is located in mariahilfer strasse. The staf is very helpful and on mondays, wednesdays and fridays they have a free walking tour. Wi fi is free and signal is good on the second floor. The only thing missing in my opinion is a tv..even do this is a hostel and it is normal that there is no tv, if you are an addict like me you will too miss not having a tv. Room is basic, but as I said, it is a hostel. Overall a good 4+ for this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel has some excellent points and a fair few let downs.
Positives are that it is super clean, there are lockers in each room which could fit my entire suitcase, so my belongings were always safe, individual reading lights and power sockets for each bed and there's excellent self-catering facilities - there's even free tea, pasta and herbs!
There are a few negatives however. Because this is a chain hostel it feels quite clinical, atmosphere is definitely lacking. There's huge spaces for people to hang out at, and there spread around the hostel, so people don't really congregate, making it harder to meet other travellers. The bar is in the basement which at first seems like a good idea, but it meant that people had to specifically go down there, so it was often quite empty - the bar tenders would be watching tv because there was noone to serve. The wifi was down almost the entire time I was there. I stayed 6 nights and the few times that it did work, it was so incredibly slow that I didn't even bother and just sat at a Maccas down the street. Breakfast is a bit crappy, for 3.90 they provide some bread, a few different spreads and cold cuts, cheese and a few different cereals. The juice and milk and everything is always warm because it sits out all morning. I only had the breakfast one day because I felt it wasn't very good value.
Lastly, one of the cleaners is so over friendly it was almost threatening. At first I thought he was just being nice, but he would use his key to let himself into my room to chat with me when he knew I was in there, which was totally inappropriate. No knock, just let himself in. He also gave me fifty shades of grey to read - I hope he didn't actually know what that book was about because again, it's totally inappropriate. It was so uncomfortable that for the last few days of my stay I made sure that I had left the hostel for the entire time that I knew he'd be there, which isn't a very nice way to feel.

Overall it was just an okay stay. I generally felt that I, and my belongings were safe, and the facilities were really good, but there are some definite negatives.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I staýed at this hostel for in Nov 2013 and i'm glad it wasn't for long.
The entire time I stayed the wifi was down which should be a priority in a youth hostel. On my first night I asked reception what was happening with it and was rudely snapped at that it was fixed now. I checked and then went back and she was extremely rude again which started to irratate me.

It was an average stop-over hostel and I would only stay here again if I really needed too. The room was alright, again average. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and not anz huge complaints there.

Bar was good and breakfast was absaloutly brilliant. My saving grace.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicab953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a Top Deck tour. We stayed in 4 bed rooms which were quite nice with two bunks and a nice bathroom for the 4 our us. As for location the hostel was on a street with plenty of shops and restaurants as well as being close to bars and the train station was only a short walk down the road. The basement bar was a great place for our group to hang out for the rest of the night and because it was in the basement the noise did not travel to the rooms which was good for those trying to sleep. the drinks were also quite cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlikestogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 360 in Vienna
1,054 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 208 in Vienna
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing