We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent STUFF and place :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #7 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The first i must say,ALL stuff (reception,buffet,bar) is so kind,polite,full of knowledge.I stayed in private room,just like in hotel.Room is clean,comfortable.Hostel is near Westbahnhof U Bahn station.Breakfast- different kind of food,for every taste; I don't eat in the morning but here i had to :-),I am coffee addict,that is most important for me,and coffee was perfect :-).I stayed here and in Base and I am recomending to my friends.And the Bar is perfect spot to meet other people :-).I used computers in lobby,no problems.Next time when I am in Wien I am staying in Wombat's :-).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

A nice place to stay for travelers coming to stay for long duration . Its a professionally run hostel with all the basic need and experience of travelers . The people working are good and helpful Good speed of wifi will defiantly recomend staying if alone or with Friends

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunangadsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

These hostels are so clean, well organised, reasonably priced and a pleasure to stay in. The staff at the lounge were so friendly and helpful i immediately felt comfortable. They are so well informed about whats happening in Vienna you cannot miss anything and the bar downstairs is so nice that you will probably miss some things because you will be down there for happy hour playing pool. I really enjoyed my stay here and will stay with them again in other cities i visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. It totally deserves the money that you give. It is quite closed to the metro and it is really easy to find everywhere from this location, in addition it is closed to the central area. They are offering a good city map and good recommendations for city tour with friendly and helpful staff. It was pleasure to stay there after a long trip for me. I highly recommend you to use Wombat's city lounge in your visit.

Room Tip: They have a good rooms at the top of the building with nice view. You are paying around 10 euro more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozlemkbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hostel is very close to the train station/metro station so everything was within reasonable distance. The city centre was within walking distance but a bit farther away. The room was of a nice size, with a table and plenty of space for your bags. The in room lockers were a bit tough to close (2/4 of them were broken and so were harder to close and open). The kitchen was small but it was enough for our needs. They offer free pasta and free basic ingredients (salt, oil, pepper, some spices, ...). There are also two supermarkets right next to the hostel if you need anything. The people at the reception were very nice and helpful and even printed some documents for us. The towels were free and the wifi was good (both in the room and downstairs). The shower had some draining issues but the bathroom, while not modern or luxurious, was fine and cleaned daily.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would book this hostel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Really good hostel set up. Great vibes and wifi. Perfect location as so close to the metro. Breakfast for €3.90 is so worth it. We had a 4 bed + own bathroom which was perfect. 24 hour reception is so useful. Bit of confusion over the room booking so make sure you get what your pay for but staff were pretty helpful :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lizzyjanderdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Superclean
Warm and helpful staff-one of them was willing to assist when im having trouble with sleeping on the top bed of the double deckers. Took the trouble to look for other alternative. The other helps me out to get me a cola when the vending machine was broken. All of them have nice smiles on their faces all the time (even at wee hours) and some are cute too ;)
easy checkin and checkout
Nice ambiance at the lounge -lively
Good location

tried to think of negative elements? NONE

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essie208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 222 in Vienna
971 reviews
Do Step Inn
#23 of 222 in Vienna
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#48 of 222 in Vienna
509 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#44 of 222 in Vienna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £16 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing