We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #5 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Really fun atmosphere. Was so surprised to find that there was a bar in the basement and a band playing the first night I stayed. Clean room and shower. Stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom which was really handy. Sadly no soap but plenty of toilet paper. In a really great location; about 5 mins from the station and really close to the high street. I definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sharayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    202
    77
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
128
165
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The first i must say,ALL stuff (reception,buffet,bar) is so kind,polite,full of knowledge.I stayed in private room,just like in hotel.Room is clean,comfortable.Hostel is near Westbahnhof U Bahn station.Breakfast- different kind of food,for every taste; I don't eat in the morning but here i had to :-),I am coffee addict,that is most important for me,and coffee was perfect :-).I stayed here and in Base and I am recomending to my friends.And the Bar is perfect spot to meet other people :-).I used computers in lobby,no problems.Next time when I am in Wien I am staying in Wombat's :-).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehradun
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A nice place to stay for travelers coming to stay for long duration . Its a professionally run hostel with all the basic need and experience of travelers . The people working are good and helpful Good speed of wifi will defiantly recomend staying if alone or with Friends

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunangadsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

These hostels are so clean, well organised, reasonably priced and a pleasure to stay in. The staff at the lounge were so friendly and helpful i immediately felt comfortable. They are so well informed about whats happening in Vienna you cannot miss anything and the bar downstairs is so nice that you will probably miss some things because you will be down there for happy hour playing pool. I really enjoyed my stay here and will stay with them again in other cities i visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. It totally deserves the money that you give. It is quite closed to the metro and it is really easy to find everywhere from this location, in addition it is closed to the central area. They are offering a good city map and good recommendations for city tour with friendly and helpful staff. It was pleasure to stay there after a long trip for me. I highly recommend you to use Wombat's city lounge in your visit.

Room Tip: They have a good rooms at the top of the building with nice view. You are paying around 10 euro more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozlemkbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hostel is very close to the train station/metro station so everything was within reasonable distance. The city centre was within walking distance but a bit farther away. The room was of a nice size, with a table and plenty of space for your bags. The in room lockers were a bit tough to close (2/4 of them were broken and so were harder to close and open). The kitchen was small but it was enough for our needs. They offer free pasta and free basic ingredients (salt, oil, pepper, some spices, ...). There are also two supermarkets right next to the hostel if you need anything. The people at the reception were very nice and helpful and even printed some documents for us. The towels were free and the wifi was good (both in the room and downstairs). The shower had some draining issues but the bathroom, while not modern or luxurious, was fine and cleaned daily.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would book this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Really good hostel set up. Great vibes and wifi. Perfect location as so close to the metro. Breakfast for €3.90 is so worth it. We had a 4 bed + own bathroom which was perfect. 24 hour reception is so useful. Bit of confusion over the room booking so make sure you get what your pay for but staff were pretty helpful :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzyjanderdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
950 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 205 in Vienna
911 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Do Step Inn
#20 of 205 in Vienna
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing