We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #4 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the better hostels”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's basically what you expect from a decent hostel. It was clean, staff were friendly, free drink at the bar when you arrive.

Location pretty decent, right next to one of the major train stations and only a short underground ride into the centre of Vienna. It's also right next door to 2 little supermarkets (but be warned, these don't stay open late)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    197
    76
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
128
162
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in Lounge and was quite happy with the place. Would defineitely recommend Wombats but might go for Naschmarket purely because of its better location (right in the ciy center)

Liked
- Good spacious rooms
- Eat all you can breakfast was something which can not be missed
- Bar and common area was large enough for travelers to meet
- Free Walking tour organised by Wombats is quite good and informative
- 5 minutes walk from Westbahn – great connectivity through metro, tram and bus connecting to airport

What can be improved
- Nothing, except one can prefer Naschmarket over Lounge (def a better located Hostel)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dips23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Possibly been spoiled with other hostels but for all that there was nothing really wrong with Wombats it had no character. It's more like a motel.

Upon arrival we were handed a map and Wifi code but no more, whereas other places bend over backwards to offer as much info as possible. You can always ask of course and the staff are perfectly friendly but I think we'd become accustomed to smaller hostels being able to sit with a map and a pen and talk you through their city.

Lots of amenities, very close to the metro, a shop next door, room was fine (although absolutely melting even with the fan!) and the downstairs bar is great.

It's a good deal and all in all a perfectly decent hostel but it was just a bed, not an experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chiara1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pretty reasonable hostel. Staff were friendly and the hostel is close to several train stations. Good common room/area downstairs which is good place to hang out after you checked out. Rooms and facilities were clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austravld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I got a single room on the fly when my travel plans were derailed (literally -- problem with the train from Austria to Germany!). I was able to find accommodations here in a pinch. Wombat's is terrific because the front desk is knowledge and hip to young travelers: They speak English and have terrific advice for restaurants and things to do.

Wombats have everything you need: free internet, a place to hang, a place to sleep, etc. If you are hitting the essentials, this does well with a certain amount of charm.

The room was clean, spacious, and pretty quiet -- but I was lucky that my neighbours weren't rowdy. I heard their opening and closing of doors, so I can't speak to the sound proofing of rooms. The lounge is largely called this because the main floor has a great cushioned area -- a huge area -- where people can just hang out.

I was in a room that may have been designated for those with physical disabilities, so perhaps the room I had was larger than others. The washroom was tiled all over so it had a public washroom feel to it, but it was a private bath, so that's terrific.

The beds aren't super comfortable, but they do the job. It's a sparse room without a lot of furniture, minimal closet space. A bright room.

I would stay here again -- and, in fact, from this experience, I would look into staying at other Wombats as well.

Room Tip: For quieter, more comfortable stay, spring for the single rooms with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hostel does a lot of things right, without really standing out in any one way. Wombats provides a reliable and comfortable service with their locations, this one is no different. The immediate area that surrounds the hostel is nothing too special, but It's right by the train station and within walking distance to the sights.The bar downstairs is nice and comfortable, and there is a lounge area in the lobby which I felt was a great addition.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohertyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends for 2 nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm. It was okay, but Vienna isn't really known for it's nightlife anyway so we didn't expect a big night. They have a hostel bar and they give you a free drink voucher on arrival which is great, but the bar isn't great and is quite dark, empty and has no atmosphere. The room was clean but on our second night we were put with a 65 year old man (we are a group of 18 year olds). We did choose the mixed dorm so it's not like we expected privacy, but we felt that the matching could have been done better to make it less awkward - maybe put him with other men or older people? I wouldn't call this a youth hostel, the workers are friendly but don't really get involved with you, it is more of a hotel atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
826 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 202 in Vienna
898 reviews
Do Step Inn
#18 of 202 in Vienna
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing