We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place-Do Not Stay Here!!”

Blue Corridor Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Corridor Hostel
Ranked #168 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible Place-Do Not Stay Here!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2008

DO NOT STAY HERE!! I have stayed in hostels all over the world- India, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, Thailand,Vietnam-this is by far the WORST experience I have ever had in a hostel! In fact, it is not a hostel, it is a random room that they give you a map to and leave you to find your way! It was dirty and the entrance to the bit where our random room was was TERRIFYING. This is not a place where girls will feel safe at all. There is no security whatsoever. Do not think that you are a hardened traveller and staying there is worth it to save money-it is not. Go to the Hotel Admiral round the corner-pay a bit more and enjoy Vienna,

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

The thing that struck me absolutely is the location - just in the CENTRE! Five minutes to the Kunsthistorisches Museum, ten minutes to the Opera. A safe, quite nice area. And a fantastic reception! Very friendly, providing me with lots of information about where to go and what to do in the city, useful free maps - absolutely perfect! The room was clean and not noisy. I really enjoyed my three nights there.

  • Liked — location and reception
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Whatever you do in Vienna, just steer clear of this mousewhole, don't even deem it worthy to set foot to! I doubt that it is even a hostel! Situated on the second floor of a run-down house in the very centre of Vienna, you'll have a breathtaking view over a noisy building site from your window. Don't bother opening it to air the stale room, you might tear the building down. The toilet is not enclosed to your room and you can not unlock the door! Appreciate the attractive stench emanating from it while you have a shower in the beautifully spider-webs-adorned shower cubicles, which do not have a door! The joint fridge contains a sample of stale beer and smelly cheese, please help yourself! After an exhausting day, you can have a rest on a rag sofa, watch out for cockroachs, though. Last but not least, please make sure in charge of your own safety not to cross paths with one of the owners, which obviously are not local.

  • Liked — Nothing at all, though the location is well chosen, I must admit!
  • Disliked — Everything, I didn't feel safe in this hostel!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alicenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

To start with the positive things first: the hostel was very cheap, and the location was good.

The rest was very poor. Bad service, filthy room and bathroom (with no lock in the shower). The rules of the hostel was also a bit doubtful.

To sum it up: if you are looking for a good hostel, don`t choose Blue Corridor Hostel. If you only care about the price and the location, this may be the hostel for you.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — The rest
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

I have just finished one night stay in blue corridor in this hostel. In fact I am reluctant to put 'hostel' for blue corridor because you could not find any 'atmosphere' of a hostel there. The room actually I was given is a street away from the front desk. The service of the front desk from the mid-age lady (a lot of people mentioned in their review) was so poor. I felt that she just wants to get your MONEY and she does not want to provide any comfort or friendliness that a hostel normally has. They don't accept credit card but cash, which probably will save the bank commission to be charged to them.

My room is on the 4th floor in another street of a old building. There is no lift so I have to carry my 20kg luggage to the fourth floor. (Nobody from the hostel was there so you don't dream any help from them). It is a big room seperated into a few samll rooms. The room I was in perfectly installed with 4 beds and 2 chairs without any other space. You just could have a bed. Ourside of the room there are two pretty dirty sofas. If somebody really wants to sit there, then you will block other people walking in and out.

The bath room is small without washing basin so you have to go to the shower room to wash your hand. The shower room has two shower heads in one room without seperation and the lock does not work (anybody could get in even somebody is in the shower). So there is no privacy. Also be minded to the steps. You probably will fall down to get in the shower room because you could not switch the light on which is inside the shower room.

They promised to store luggage in the post that they give me howerver when I tried to do so in the next day, the lady refused because she was not working on that day!! I have never seen a hostel to break the promise in such a direct way!! As long as you give the MONEY to them, they are all set and the rest is your business!! So I have to carry my 20kg luggage again scrolling on the Vienna street.

I heard a lot of complaints from other people staying in there. I would NOT recommend this hostel except you could not find any other one. I don't feel that they want to improve their service level or facility. I think the way they make MONEY is to TRAP the new travellers. Don't be the next one!!

  • Liked — location is good
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pangziParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Good location, the service is not worth the money. We stayed in a double room, which was just ok - clean; it had bulbs - no lamps. The bathroom was flooded and not very clean, water cold, the rules that you have to sign and that are written on your door are more of orders (see attachment). We will definitely not come back to this hostel and won't recommend it to others. It was ok for staying one night but we have much better experience with other hostels in other countries (e.g. Meininger) for same money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

Booked through hostelworld.com.
The location was fantastic - a five minute walk from the main attractions and downtown Vienna. Much closer than most hostels, which are located near the main train station.
However - its attractions end there! This hostel is super sketchy. We had difficulty communicating with the woman in charge of check-in (she would be the receptionist, if there was a front desk) as she barely spoke English and it took a while to make her understand that we'd already reserved a room. The room was unfinished, which holes in the walls, and a back door that looked off into a courtyard full of junk. Upon further investigation, the back door came off its hinges. The bathroom was miniscule, and the sink not securely in place. There was no hot water the first night - it appeared our proprietress had "forgot" to turn it on. The third night we stayed in a 12-bed dormitory-style room, which was located through a couple doors behind the bar in a creepy illegal-immigrant-hiding-in-a-back-room sort of way. The room was far too small for twelve beds and had no amenities whatsoever.

I would NOT reccomend this hostel to anyone, despite its great location. That said, we had no real problems while staying there, other than a general feeling of uneasy creeped-out-ness.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ltarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#36 of 361 in Vienna
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Corridor Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Corridor Hostel

Property: Blue Corridor Hostel
Address: Siebensterngasse 15, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing