We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
Ranked #126 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Some great features, some deficiencies. We stayed here in December as a choir in the Vienna Advent Festival. The hotel is across the street from a subway stop. The hotel is very modern and very clean. The restaurant has excellent food, wine, and a superlative breakfast buffet. We arrived at 7 am and they found rooms for us almost immediately. Our room was quiet and had a good Internet hookup.

Negative: our room was missing a duvet, pillows, and towels. It took several calls to get them. The duvets were hard to adjust for heat and coolness. We asked three times for wash cloths. Twice they denied having any, then delivered eight. The restaurant is very expensive and has limited hours. 20 euros for a hamburger and fries. At our first night dinner, they served only fish, which I dislike, and when I rejected it, a nasty vegetarian rice dish. The lobby has restrooms only on another floor, a waste of time to get to. Hotel location is poor; no restaurants or shops around except a Japanese one. I'd rather not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTEL_Kaiserwasser, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Kaiserwasser, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear "SteveK619",
thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to read that you have been satisfied with our modern and clean hotel with it’s quiet rooms and good internet. Also we really appreciate your comments about the rich breakfast, the tasteful wines and the excellent food, even if you didn’t like the fish what we are sorry for.
That the whole group could do the check in and got their rooms already at 7 a.m. is great isn’t it? Considering that normal check in time is 2 p.m., it is an outstanding service we offered. Nonetheless we feel sorry that the second person didn’t have a duvet, pillows and towels and also that there was a miscommunication between our staff regarding the washcloths which we want to apologize for.
Regarding our restaurant “UNO” which was awarded the third time in a row with a hood by Gault Millau offers à la carte every evening from 6.00 p.m. - 10.30 p.m. while on the other hand our bar “U-One” >where you had your hamburger< is open till 1 a.m. Next to the maybe best cocktails in Vienna we also offer a small menu there, where you can order snacks till midnight.

Respective the location you are right there is only the United Nations Office and the Vienna International Centre and no restaurants or shops nearby unfortunately. Nevertheless if you cross the street, hop on the metro for two stations out of town there is a big shopping mall. IF you go six stations other direction there is the city center, perfect for doing some shopping or having lunch or dinner. Our team at the front desk is 24 hours, 7 days a week present, to help our guests in every way as best as they can.

We still hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Kaiserwasser in the future in order to show you that we can provide a 4 star superior luxury experience.

Kind regards,

CHRISTOPH SCHWABL
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    311
    93
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
197
32
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in great location near train station. Very good service and absolutely great breakfast! I would definitely recommend as middle range cost hotel for 4~5 nights vacation. The hotel seems to be renovated or like new condition with clean rooms and bathrooms. Every request was treated by stuff.

Helpful?
Thank Slava S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at ArcoTel for Three days from 16th to 19th Dec, 2013. I can't explain in words the comfort, quality and service this hotel provided at maximun possible economical cost. This was more than worth the money we paid. Best place as we has walk on banks of Danube early morning. Then UN offices were just on the other side of the road where I had meetings. But most important of all was the presence of Mr. Akram Javaid. He was a blessing as he was from Pakistani orogin and new our Language.Secondly, his quickness to serve, help and guide was extraordinary. I have travelled a lot of countries so far but I've yet to see any person more friendly and keen to guest services like him. Sincere and sobre, he guided us in all relevant issues in a patient and perfect way which saved our money as well as time. May God bless him. He is an asset for any organisation. His advice made us see most of Vienna in a very short time which was probably not possible otherwise. rest of the staff was also helping esp another staff on room service (a black lady) was also exceptional in her work. Over all wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashidMunir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here. The Service was perfect. The Wellness area is perfect ho relax after a long day in the City. It is nearby a Metro Station from which you only Need few minutes to the Stephans Dom . But the breakfast is very expansive (22?)

Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We really liked this hotel, but spent only one night. It was convenient to drive in because it was just off the highway and had an area to pull up in front with your car and then after check-in, you could pull directly into the parking garage without having to circle the block. The rooms looked just like the photos and it was very clean and modern. The rooms had a couple of English-language news channels on the TV. There was a public transit stop just across the street and you could take the pedestrian walk-way under the main road to get there. We just took a taxi into the main part of town and that was a bit more expensive (about 16 euros to the Hofburg palace) because of all the time spent stopped so I'd recommend the public transit over the taxi because its probably quicker. While the hotel menu looked good, the restaurant was closed for a private function the night we stayed. There was a good Japanese restaurant right across the street near the subway station (2-3 minutes walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure trips to Vienna. It's a convenient and pleasant location with great service. This was my second stay here and was only for two nights this time. The standard of the hotel is just as I remember from my first trip. The Christmas decorations were quite impressive. I think the management also respond positively to feedback because it was good to see on this trip that the big bottle of water on the dressing table in the bedroom was clearly labelled with the price, so couldnt be mistaken as complimentary. The method of connecting to the internet was also differerent, you collect a username and password from reception at check-in and this was valid for 3 days for up to 3 devices. I had a slight issue with the reliability of the card reader in the lift (needed to change the card about 3 times cos it wouldn't operate any of the lifts), but that was about it. Reception staff were always friendly and understanding and changed the card straight away each time. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTEL_Kaiserwasser, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Kaiserwasser, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear "Dale"!
Thank you for your very detailed comment that has a high value for us as we are always eager to optimize our performance and to guarantee best quality and services to our guests.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your 2nd stay same as your 1st stay at the ARCOTEL Kaiserwasser. And you are totally right, we care about our guest's feedback, and try to improve as best as we can.
We are sorry that you had some issues with the card reader in the elevator, but as we getting at the moment a new software for our key cards to improve our service, this should be fixed in the mid of January.

In advance we wish you a happy new year and looking forward for your 3rd stay in our hotel 2014.

Kind regards,

CHRISTOPH SCHWABL
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in Vienna. This hotel is very convenient to the subway. The rooms are surprisingly large for Europe. The room was clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would recommend this hotel. They even provided us with a "breakfast to go" because we had an early bus to catch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTEL_Kaiserwasser, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Kaiserwasser, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Kaiserwasser Vienna, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to give us such a nice feedback. Thank you also for your compliments concerning the hotel and its service. See you soon again!

Many greetings from Vienna,

CHRISTOPH SCHWABL
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Kaisermühlen
NH Danube City
NH Danube City
#99 of 362 in Vienna
983 reviews
Melia Vienna
#49 of 362 in Vienna
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
Strandhotel Alte Donau
Strandhotel Alte Donau
#152 of 362 in Vienna
115 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#151 of 362 in Vienna
743 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Kaiserwasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Kaiserwasser

Property: Arcotel Kaiserwasser
Address: Wagramer Strasse 8, Vienna 1220, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Business Hotel in Vienna
#68 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#75 Family Hotel in Vienna
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel Kaiserwasser 4.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior-hotel is situated opposite of the UNO City and the Austria Center Vienna, and combines due to its location nature and urbanity. Eight seminar rooms with a total of 350 sqm provide meeting capacity for up to 280 people. The restaurant UNO impresses guests with seasonal delights and a choice of exclusive wines. 282 rooms, suites, apartments and theme rooms,as well as spacious business suites are awaiting the guests.Exclusive highlight is the executive floor with its own reception and lounge on the fifth floor. Mini bar consumption, WIFI high speed internet and access to the executive lounge - offering snacks, soft drinks, coffee and tea - are included in the room rates of executive rooms, apartments, superior rooms, suites and theme rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel Kaiserwasser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Kaiserwasser Vienna
Arcotel Kaiserwasser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing