We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than budget hotel”
Review of Roomz Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roomz Vienna
Ranked #180 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than budget hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed as part of a package so can't comment on price. The hotel has the look of a modern office block but is given a modern treatment outside and in and I think it gives it a more distinctive and upmarket feel to other budget type hotels, although others in my party thought it a bit characterless. The location is out of town with nothing much to see or do nearby but is right on the U3 metro line which is 5 stops from the centre and very efficient and cheap. You can even hire a 2 seater electric Twizy from the hotel at 29 euro. Our rooms were clean, comfortable with TV and there is wifi throughout. No complaints except rather strangely the maid took the hotel's Dove shower gel from its holder after the first day and didn't replace it!? Couldn't be bothered to complain. Only other issue was our transfer to Austrian GP was at 6.30am and our tour rep had advised us we could have an early breakfast. Whilst cereals etc were out the hotel staff intervened when we attempted to help ourselves and told us breakfast was from 7am. I suspect the rep had misinformed us but it did seem a bit of an unnecessarily rigid policy, especially as we had paid for breakfast. Had one breakfast and it was usual mix of cereals, bread, ham, cheese and warmish eggs, bacon and beans. OK but nothing special. We only had limited contact with staff on reception and at bar etc. The impression they give is of efficiency with little attempt at friendliness. I would recommend this for a short stay and gather it is good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzbadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabea G, roomz Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Fuzzbadge, thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We appreciate any suggestions for improvement and would like to mention that the breakfast issue was obviously a misunderstanding. We would like to apologize for any unfriendly service staff which is definitely not a standard of ours. We hope to welcome you soon again, best regards, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    208
    94
    21
    14
See reviews for
54
161
35
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently at Roomz. The hotel is very modern with open plan bar and restaurant, as the weather was very good we were aslo able to utilise the outside dining area on more than one occaision.
Our room was of a good size and very clean, the bathroom was also spacious with both bath & shower. A wide choice was offered at breakfast and the dinners we had there were also good in both choice and quality. Although a little from the centre on Vienna it is only a short stroll to the underground station for links to all that is on offer.We were offered a concession card from the hotel for the hop-on hop-off bus in town and a special rate on the underground, both were very useful. The car parking a short walk away,was only 5 euros per day which was much cheaper than we encountered in other cities on our tour. Should we return to Vienna then another stay at Roomz would probably be chosen. As to the view in the headline, the gasometers have been renovated internally, but still blot the landscape, as do the multi-storey car parks and flats. However that does not detract from all the other good things Roomz has to offer.

Room Tip: All good no problems encountered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryTUk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabea G, roomz team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TerryTUk7, thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at roomz vienna and are already looking forward to welcoming you again! Your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in Vienna. The experience was nothing like the other hotel where we had stayed. The room smelled like sewer coming from the bathroom and the safe in the room did not work. After 30 minutes of trying to make the safe work, we finally told them to come up and show us what we are doing wrong. At that time they admitted that the safe was out of order. But they would not give us another room because they said a broken safe is not a legitimate reason to switch rooms. They finally gave in and gave us another room after I stayed in the lobby and insisted. The hotel was no more convenient to get to the airport than the other hotel where we had stayed. The neighborhood is not good and I have no idea how they claim four stars. At best they are like a cheap roadside motel. The only thing they have in common with four star hotels is price. Front desk staff were rude from check-in to check-out. Horrible finish to an otherwise wonderful trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRGATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabea G, roomz Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear MRGATL, thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. After a consultation with our team, we would like to explain that it is the normal procedure, especially in times of a full hotel, that our front office staff asks their management if any changes of rooms are possible. We would like to apologize that you had the feeling that we did not take your complaints seriously enough or that our staff was unfriendly , which is definately not the behaviour we expect from our personel as well. However, we always give our best to help our guests with any kind of service - even though we do not have any stars at all, since we are a budget design hotel, which does not fall into any category in general. Nevertheless, the standards we offer are comparable to the standards of a 3 or 4 star hotel. Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you all the best and send kind regards from Vienna, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A really nice, well designed hotel with great food (even though breakfast gets boring after a few nights) and stylish interior. Unfortunately no wifi in the rooms and the cabled net is not all that great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabea G, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Google Translation
Liebe/r Zsessler, vielen lieben Dank für diese nette Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, Sie darüber informieren zu dürfen, dass wir in den kommenden Wochen zusätzlich zur kabellosen Internetverbindung in der Lobby auch in allen Zimmern kostenfreies W-Lan einrichten werden.
Wir hoffen, Ihren Aufenthalt dadurch noch komfortabler zu gestalten und freuen uns, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Viele Grüße von Ihrem roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Roomz is nicely suited if you have business around Gasometer in Vienna and it mostly caters to business users as far as I could see. What is also very welcome is the price of nearby Garage which is only 5EUR/day (in Vienna usually 15-20EUR/day) so no worries if you come with the car.

There is also an option to rent nifty small Renault Electric Eco cars for 39EUR (I think) a day if you need to get around the city, otherwise uBahn is around the corner!

Rooms are average, clean and nothing special. Separate bed's (I didn't really like the mattress, but that is personal preference), small TV, safe, no refrigerator and working free Internet (you need Ethernet cable - no WiFi!).

Breakfast average, but plant of space to sit.

All in all good hotel for a couple of days especially for business related things.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabea G, Roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear ALiEN2108,
thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also noticed our electric eco cars – our twizys – which are for rent for € 29,50 per day. They are an easy way of getting to know the city and especially fun for summer days to come.
Concerning the internet, we would like to add that we are about to install wifi in all our rooms, so that our guests can browse the internet even more comfortably. Moreover, we are going to replace our current televisions with 40 in flat screen tv's in a couple of weeks time.
We hope to welcome you again soon and send best wishes from Vienna, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voronezh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My bf chose this hotel for our stay because of its close location to Gasometer and Ubahn. And indeed it was very convenient to have breakfast in Gasometer and use U3 linie to get to the city center which took us approx. 5 mins!
The hotel was renewed and looks nice. Girls who worked on the reception were friendly and glad to help us. But as for the preference for which we've asked in the reservation such as a double bed was not done by our arrival. And we had to wait til the morning to ask a cleaning lady for it.
The most upsetting thing was no wifi access in the room. Though in the description on the irish booking website it was mentioned! So when you need wifi you have to ask for the login and a password by the reception and it's valid for 8 hours.
All in all it's a good hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vikki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina R, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear vikki90,

thank you very much for you nice feedback to your stay at roomz vienna!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the very good connection to the city center with public transport and the service of our reception team.
That we missed your request for a double bed makes us feel very sorry – please accept our apologies!

Regarding the missing WIFI access in the room we have good news: within the next weeks we will have free WIFI all around the hotel!

So we hope to see you again at one of our hotels & send best regards from Vienna!
Yours roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

That's the most stylish place I've been to in Vienna - very modern, yet absolutely comfortable. Gasometer City is right next to it, so as the metro station. Arriving there from the Highway is also very easy. Good service, good breakfast, excellent place to stay if you're in Vienna for business mixed with a little fun @Gasometer.

Room Tip: Lower floor has the free lobby wi-fi coverage - otherwise you're stuck with the cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Bartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina R, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear 63Bartek,

thank you for your nice words about your stay at roomz vienna!

We are very happy about your recommendation & we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Yours roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Vienna Sporthotel
Vienna Sporthotel
#177 of 361 in Vienna
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Simm's Hotel
Simm's Hotel
#144 of 361 in Vienna
280 reviews
Landstraße
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#165 of 361 in Vienna
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomz Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomz Vienna

Property: Roomz Vienna
Address: Paragonstrasse 1, Vienna 1110, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Vienna
#130 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomz Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roomz Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomz Vienna Hotel Vienna
Roomz Hotel Vienna
Vienna Roomz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing