We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #18 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived at our accommodation to be greeted by unhelpful staff. But the rooms are nice. No air con so it gets quite hot at night and if you.open the window you'll lots of noise....traffic,people etc.
Its near an underground...a3 minute walk. Id stay again but for a lesser price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hello :-)

First of all we would like to apologize for this unpleasant welcome on your first day and about the air condition, which we do not have.

But we will definitely work on it.
We hope to welcome you another time.

Thank you and kind regards

Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is strategically located 30 seconds walk from the trains. The room was huge and very clean, great showers, etc. Very good breakfast for a very small fee, and above all, very friendly staf.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We hope to see you again.

Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Layth A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling Europe, whilst it was one of the cheaper options, it was a very small room. There was no where to lock your bags away, and the room was a double room with extra bunk beds put in. So the person who has to sleep next to the stranger in the single beds draws the short straw. The kitchen was awful for the amount of people wanting to use it, it wasnt the cleanest down there, and te fridge seemed to never be cleaned out. I think you can find better hostels in better locations, with better facilities. Vienna is expensive too. To get to the centre from here you do have to get the U-Bahn! The staff weren't nearly as useful as other hostels we had stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haveaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our quad room was very basic, but fine, and for the price (about £13 each a night) we couldn't really complain. But it is right next to a strip club, and the area felt a bit unwelcoming. It was very loud in the night too (we stayed on a sunday night). It is right near a tube stop though which is good, and the bar serves cocktails for 4euro in the evenings. I recommend if you're on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello :)

Thank you for your review!

Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The welcome was really friendly even though we arrived quite late. When we got into our room we were surprised to find a spacious family room with separate shower and toilet facilities. As our room was facing the back and the hotel is off the main roads anyway it was very quiet.
We were also allowed to leave the car in the garage on the day of our departure because there was plenty of space on that day. Also, the tube was just a short walk away and in no time we were in the city centre.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello :)

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger hotels.

Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stay here for 4 nights with 2 children. The room was good, the hotel very close to metro station and in 5 min you arrive the center, The staff is very friendly.
But it was very noisy. You have not air conditioner in the room and with opened window we had all the noise of the street in the room. In addition in the hostel were stay group of students. You can hear every word spoken outside the door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 214 in Vienna
933 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#40 of 214 in Vienna
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £34 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing