We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, reasonably priced hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #19 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Modern, reasonably priced hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hostel is located in a Turkish area of Vienna (from what I could establish!) just outside the centre and very conveniently located for the train/bus station. Though not a particularly interesting walk, it only took 20 minutes (or a short journey on the metro at 2.40 euro single) to get to the opera house and main shopping district. As the building is huge I think there should be a larger common area and kitchen, the kitchen in particular was a little odd as it didn't even have a sink (?!). Breakfast is 5.90 euros with a good selection of food. Rooms and ensuite facilities were spotless, the only draw back on the room being a single plug to share between 6 people!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay at our hotel!

Best regards from Vienna!

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    194
    113
    32
    15
See reviews for
85
115
66
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room is spacious, washroom is clean, and the best thing is it got a kitchen in the lobby, so that you can prepare your own food! Where to buy food? Don't worry, there is a supermarket in a 2-3 minute walk!

But since there are 2 MEININGER Hotels in Vienna, at first, I went to the wrong one!! :( And it is suggest to go to the hotel from the Schottenring metro station, but I think the RoBauerLande is closer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hey there

Thank you for your comment! We are glad to hear that at the end you managed to find the correct MEININGER in Vienna (there´s actually 3 of them so it could have been worse)! We´re even more glad that you had a pleasant stay here!
We hope to see you again soon - now that you know the way!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved the location of the hotel as it is couple of mins walking from the metro . The only thing bothersome is the strip club which falls on the way to the metro . We were a family with children and hence didn't like that part . Other than that , the room was big and spacious . House keeping staff is good and so are the people at the reception .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anvi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello there!

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are really happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel! We are sorry about the strip club close by - however lately the place seems to be closed. Maybe it´s not even gonna be around the next time you choose our hotel for your stay in Vienna!

Best wishes to you and your family
Your MEININGER Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It has a very good location but a very bad service.
When you come there you have to fill up this form and this is quite annoying specialy when we were a group of people. So after long travelling you lose another hour on the reception just to get the room. Not good at all, and then a fat lie that this is a legislation in Austria. I do travell in Austria and this is the first time i had to do something like this. After breakfast you have to take the dishes from the table, might as well prepair my own brekfast and wash the dishes.
Well i was expecting more, getting less but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our service. I just want to add that registration in hotels is law in Austria, we are not lying to you :)

We hope you still enjoyed your time in Vienna.

M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you're traveling as a family group, this hotel is fine. As a hostel, it has some things going for it - it's immaculately clean and the beds were comfy. But if you're looking for a sociable hostel this isn't the place. The location is decent - right near the metro line and close to bakeries.

Room Tip: The hotel/hostel initially put me on a futon. If you ask, they will probably switch you to a bed lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tstuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello :)

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger hotels.

M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Rooms are clean and cozy but small, wlan internet worked fine but the connection was slow. Very kind staff. In the lobby there was small bar, a vending machine and a kitchen with microwave. Walls were very thin and when other guests talked on the hallway, we were able to hear every word. A few hundred meters in the are were some good restaurants and bakeries. In 50 meters there is a pedestrian zone with metro station, snitzel restaurants and other street food ie. kebab, noodles and sausages. Breakfast was not included to our room and one or two times we picked up some sandwiches for bakery nearby. We did eat the hotel breakfast once, it paid few euros extra and was modest but eatable. If you have a chance to choose, go with the bakeries. Less than 1 kilometer from the hotel is the train station and did a day trip with train to Bratislava Slovakia. I highly recommend to so if possible, great town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JypeWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Do you know about our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg?

Your MEININGER – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Average hostel packed with people so those who enjoy meeting new people won't be dissapointed (no one was talking to no one though since we all have new buddies in form of cells, tablets and laptops). It's clean, warm, the staff is good, for some reason i love the location although the hood seems kind of dodgy, but it' s safe and you cam get to the city center in 5 mins.by metro. Usual hostel for large amounts of people worth of money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stjopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest !

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here !

We hope to welcome you back again soon :)

Regards from Vienna!

Your Meininger - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#28 of 202 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 202 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Do Step Inn
#14 of 202 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing