We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the word hostel put you off too much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #18 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I've left my hostel days far, far behind and must admit I didn't like the sound of the word "hostel" but a group of us, on business, had our ensuite single rooms on the 5th floor - you needed a security card to access our corridor. The room was simple and clean - the sofa was a nice touch in a budget hotel. My advice is to take a travel kettle for your room though there are kitchen facilities near the lobby. It's in a fairly downmarket area - in fact, there is a "peep-show" next door with lurid images outside. Not once though did I feel unsafe, even when returning late - not sure I would have done that alone though. You'll be in the beautiful centre within minutes from the metro stop, one minute walk away. Most metro stations have at least two exits so take the right one - you can walk an extra ten minutes otherwise - important in the Vienna winter. Nothing is open on Sundays but the reception staff gave me a free thermos of milk for tea when we arrived. Though the breakfast room is clean and stylish, the breakfast itself is pretty basic; processed cheese, salami etc and a rather uninspiring bowl of canned fruit cocktail. Lots of fresh bread though. Buffet style so you can have as much (or as little!) as you want. Three supermarkets within a few minutes' walk (but they close at 7pm) - remember to take a carrier bag as they don't give them out - even if you offer to pay. The big plus is the reception staff - all very young (18-25) with a real "can-do" attitude - happy to do anything from booking opera tickets to helping you find something on the map. They booked my taxi to the airport and I was able to pay them instead of the driver, a relief if you've ever been charged more than the quote - you hand the driver the voucher and then have only the tip to pay. To sum up, it's not what I'd choose for a romantic break but if you want a clean, very reasonably priced 3 star, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelambSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

If you're travelling with a group of friends, just don't hesitate to go there!!!Clean room, lockers and friendly atmosphere...If you are travelling with your partner: it depends on how many days you're staying (it's hard to use the bathroom in a mixed dorm) and how easy-going you are.The location is not the best. It's a little bit scary at night, even though it's close to the underground.Oh!and there was no light in the bathroom: we were o.k. with that because we didn't used it since we stayed there just for one night, but I think (or hope) that if we had told it to the staff they would have taken care of it...

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Villy_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I see lots of good reviews here for this place, most of them for the hostel part.
Well, this business claims to be a hostel and hotel but I beg to differ. It probably offers good value for money for the hostel side, but in terms of hotel, it's not quite there yet.

There are no double beds, only single beds, hard as rock. We ended up sleeping on the couch which was marginally larger than one bed and a tad comfier.

The room is never cleaned up or done. At the best, the "Please make the room" sign is moved to the inside of the room if you put it outside. Funnily enough, the "Do not disturb sign" also gets moved inside during the day. Beds are not done, towels not changed, tissues not replenished, floor not cleaned or vacuumed, etc. "Luckily" the cleaning lady never forgot to turn down the heating element in the room...

The continental breakfast (or what is sold as such) is a few slices of cheese put together, some dusty tea bags, and yoghurt. Nothing very continental there. To highlight the level here, I have to say that for the two days of Christmas, we had pepper and tomato slices extra for breakfast. At first I thought it was a coincidence, but after Christmas, they disappeared from the tables.

The location is very good though, just near the subway without being noisy from the traffic and it places you 5/10 minutes away from the center of the city via said subway.

I guess I should not have expected too much from a hotel at that price, especially one claiming to be a hostel. Maybe they should stick to what they do best?

To balance a bit the review, I have to add that I got the same type of bathroom "quality' in a Scandic Hotel in Helsinki for 3 times the price (that's to say one towel per person, shampoo and shower gel fixed to the wall).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaroqueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We chose this hotel for the rate. Hotel is located 3-5 min from the Keplerplatz Metro station and clearly marked from the street with a Red 'M' sign. Metro street has many restaurants, kebaps shops and an Aldi. Take the Keplerplatz Metro to downtown Stephanplatz in 5-min. Hotel is clean, roomy with a wardrobe, en suite, 1-English tv channel. Beds were poor quality. Electronic key card entry. Breakfast buffet (4 Euro in advance, 4.50 Euro day of) was worth the price consisting of meats, breads, juice, coffee, tea, jogurt and cereals (only improvement would be adding fresh fruits) Staff were young, friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Booked a double room, ensuite. Quite cozy with tv and sofa. Heating was OK.
Even though hotel is not situated in the city centre, the metro is very near, less than 5 minutes walk away. The only problem is getting from the train station to the hotel. Need to change to tram and then to metro. Nevertheless, in less cold condition, the walking distance from train station to hotel is most likely around 15 - 20 minutes.
Surrounding the hotel are some cafe and mini market. Advisable to buy bottled water from the mini mart for the cheaper price.
The only downside is no breakfast. So the room is not considered budget.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

i stayed here for three nights in august in an all female 6 bed dorm room with ensuite for a great price. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable but it was so loud that i barely got any sleep. the location was good - right next to the metro and grocery and food within walking distance. there was free wi-fi in the common area, the breakfast was decent and there were lockers avaliable in the lobby. i'd recommend it for the budget traveler - just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 22 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 214 in Vienna
933 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#40 of 214 in Vienna
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £34 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing