We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third man hiding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Ranked #115 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Third man hiding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

On the edge of the inner ring road. Short 20 mins walk through some lovely squares from inner city, shops, museums and sights. Good tram service and U-bahn. Next door to Belvedere. Opposite Italian Embassy (which unfortunately does not do take away pizza!) in a main but quiet street. Local shops,pubs and small restaurants. "Salm Braue" micro-brewery and restaurant (100 yards left ) has fabulous beer selection and great menu in a rustic lively ambience. Very popular, so go early or book.

Hotel is excellently appointed, modern, well staffed, efficiently run, friendly, warm, bright, quiet and respectable. Clients are business fraternity - polite and mannered (several meeting rooms), package tour parties and the better-heeled traveller.
Nice breakfast room and choice of restaurants (rustic Bavarian and standard 4*). Beautifully designed bar with first rate staff.

Complimentary WiFi in reception. Porterage and usual front of house facilities. 3 lifts.
Rooms are modern, spacious and interstingly designed. Black marble, mirrors galore,deep carpets, muted colours, multiple lighting, wall tv (with Sky). Mini-bar and safe. Slight lack of storage space but plenty of room for suitcases. Shower/bath with separate wc. Controllable heating (slightly noisy air venting). The deepest most comfortable beds in the whole world.
Unbelievably inexpensive for the quality overall.

Vienna is stuffed with architecture, culture, kaffehouses, parks, theatres, markets, cathedrals, churches, galleries, museums etc. Some of the more popular are on the wrong side of value for money (Opera, Spanish Riding School) but that reflects the market demand. An overwhelming choice of restaurants, konditerei, knipe etc. (try the Viennatopf soup). "Kaffeehaus Schwarzberg" (near hotel in Schwarzberg Square) has all the mirrors, gilded chandeliers, dark oak and atmosphere you'll ever require. Take it easy with the absinthe kaffee creme. (The prophylactic machine in the Gent's is decorated by Klimt.....quelle finesse!) Custom is liberal regarding public smoking in most establishments unfortunately (if you are a non-smoker).
Vienna can be surprizingly inexpensive, lively, stately, and beautiful. Serendipity during a stroll is your best guiding principle.

It was most pleasant to return on foot to the Lindner and have a nightcap choice (at least a dozen brands) of malt in the bar.

Looked for, but didn't see, Orsen Wells.
Doo de doo de doo....de doo!!!

  • Liked — quiet ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gadflyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    399
    121
    44
    15
See reviews for
120
346
102
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

I booked a four-night deal through ameropa.de, and got a great deal. This is a genuine 4* hotel. The location worked out well when I walked back from nighttime events at Musikverein and Theater an der Wien. It's perhaps a 15-minute walk to the ring, and you can have a very interesting walk along the way.

I loved the look and contemporary design of the room. I had a reasonably sized king-bed room. In my case, the sink was in a separate tiled area, the toilet was in its own little enclosed room, and the shower was in its own little enclosed room also. So this segregation of functions would work very well if two people were staying in the room.

You can set the room temperature. There are a lot of channels in several languages. You can use the complimentary computers in the lobby if you need to look something up.

I enjoyed the very nice breakfast with numerous options, and then getting a pot of one of their very nice herbal teas (loose-leaf, with a mesh insert) as I looked over my guidebook for the day.

The nearby restaurant Salm Braue is a reasonably priced, authentic Viennese restaurant.

In short, I had a wonderful stay in Vienna, and this hotel deserves much of the credit.

  • Liked — High quality
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

Really excellent hotel with brilliant service, nice, modern, clean rooms. Only a few minutes from Rennweg train station and from the Ring, its location is ideal, plus it offers an exquisite view to the Belvedere palace...
No wonder I booked it again for my next Vienna trip next February...in the remarkable price of 71 € per night for a double business room!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazzzarakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

Date February 2007
a young couple from greece
wonderful hotel.....the location is perfect......near the center with the bus....the room spacious very clean modern with pay tv....I also have no words for the breakfast......the buffet had everything and all tasteful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!perfect choise and very good price

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mataresAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

I was very pleased with my stay at the hotel. I booked my stay here on the basis of comparing reviews published on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. Clean, good area of town, 15 minute walk to the many tourist sites. Fantastic breakfast selection. First day there staff at reception helped book my tours to Budapest, Prague and tickets to the Mozart concert and they were all generally helpful with whatever I needed and smiled a lot - WOW! Free web surfing stations provided to stay in touch with back home. Strongly recommend the Salm Brau restaurant a few minutes down the street from the hotel - looks like a hole in the wall but it's usualy packed, the food is great and so is the beer from their microbrewery!

  • Liked — Good breakfast selection, well laid out spacious room.
  • Disliked — no sheets on the bed, jus their European style quilt/duvet/whatever, either too hot or too cold.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theteflonpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey,uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

booked this hotel on the strength of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was good with loads of choice. Cocktail Bar was great, with a huge selection and a very friendly and knowledgeable cocktail barman. Only downside was that during our 3 night stay we only saw housekeeping once. Despite this we would reccomend this hotel. If you are flying in to Vienna airport, I recommend you pick up the local train rather than the CAT as Rennweg station is ony 400 metres from the hotel.

  • Liked — modern hotel / breakfast / bar / location
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50yr-voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed at the Lindner in September for a week. We were picked up by the hotel limo and it took less than 30 minutes to get to the hotel.

We had a deluxe room on the top floor overlooking the Belvedere Gardens. What a gorgeous view! The hotel is modernly decorated. It was very clean and was attended to by the chambermaid on a daily basis. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The hotel is centrally located...about a 10 minute walk from the center of Vienna which is the Ringstrasse. It is about a 15-20 minute walk or an 8 euro cab ride to the Sudbanhof train station. Very convenient!! There is a grocery store (Billa) down the street from the hotel for water, fruits, or snacks.

The staff was extremely friendly and always very helpful. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant once and the food was good. We had room service for breakfast one morning, and it arrived on time at 6:30am!

Overall...we had an excellent stay (partially business/personal). We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BeetleBumbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#108 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere

Property: Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Address: Rennweg 12, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#88 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#113 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere 4.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’re undoubtedly in pole position when you stay at the Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere with downtown Vienna, the Belvedere castle and the botanical gardens virtually on your doorstep. However not only the central location of the hotel, surrounded by the imperical gardens, lets your heart beat higher. The elegant design with the rustic touches in the Heuriger (wine tavern), the gourmet meeting points and the elegant yet casual atmosphere ensure a truly delightful stay. Viennese lifestyle in the heart of the city. Perfect for every occasion and every (business) event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing