We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, Good breakfast, Old building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vienna City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Vienna City Hotel
Ranked #297 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, Good breakfast, Old building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was staying at Bella Vienna City Hotel for 2 nights for a trip and it was my second stay after 2009. The room is spacious, comfort for three as I shared the room with two other friends. But the reception available until 11pm. The lift's terribly unfriendly, as I need to push the door when reached the floor, otherwise the lift will take you back to the next floor and then next and then next...
The best thing, the hotel is located close to city centre especially close to the Old Vienna area where old buildings and museums stand for years to pamper my eyes. Then, the free wi-fi, after several days had to pay the internet connection in hotel, I found the free wi-fi which should be refreshed and re-connected every an hour.

There is a bathtub on the room we had with a large TV and English channels. Friendly reminder, please always take your room key as the reception will close at 11 pm otherwise, you will stay outside all night long. Better to use the stair to reach your room (after all the above matter with the lift). I was away all day long so not notice deeply for the room service, but the cleanliness' okay.

The restaurant is on 6th floor, nice breakfast session in side and out side with sun warm me up (but not recommended during winter period, unless you do smoke). Ask the reception if you need some helps, as they have a friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me_missnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    23
    9
    16
See reviews for
27
49
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I just returned from staying at Bella Vienna for three nights this past week. I will admit that I was taken aback by the entryway, areas between floors and the elevator of the building (not at all boutique-y or 4-star) but I knew the hotel was going to be located on a few floors of a shared building. I also noticed that there was some renovating going on in the building on my floor (floor 5), although I did not hear/see any machines or workers while I was staying there.

The room: Spacious! For all the Americans (and Brits) who complain about compact hotel rooms in Europe - you will not be disappointed. The room was very large, especially considering I requested, and paid for, a single. The bed was very comfortable & I loved the pillows. The bathroom was equally large. The toiletries were only so-so, the towels were not that great and there wasn't a bathtub. The sink, toilet and shower fixtures were very modern, whereas the room furniture was ugly, ugly, ugly!

For those worried about any "stealing" happening here - you can put your things in the safe AND lock the closet doors. The mini-bar, if you use it, has good selection, although the hotel does have a bar upstairs that is open until 11. (If you want to save money, there is a grocery store right down the street, about 2 minutes away).

The staff were all very lovely, friendly and helpful. I made a booking for two nights at once, and then another night two nights later (because I was taking a night off to see Salzburg). When I arrived, they had me down for Wed-Saturday morning, instead of Wed-Friday morning and then again Sat-Sun morning. It was rectified quickly and without any hassle. I did, however, bring confirmation of my booking as "proof" that they did, in fact, have me down on the wrong evening.

The rooms come with free breakfast - although I didn't try it. The rooms also have free Wi-Fi (didn't try) or you can use the computer in the hotel lobby on the 6th floor from 7-11 (when the lobby's open).

The views from my room (504) was really nice and it was really quiet. The hotel is located in a great location - near Mariahilferstrasse - which is near shops, tourist areas, restaurants, coffeeshops and transport (U3 line and a few bus lines). Very convenient to get to via the CAT from airport or either Westbahnhof or Südbahnhof (Ostbahn) stations.

A reminder - be aware that this lobby is closed at 11. Apparently people have had problems checking in when they are arriving late, but I think that one can't miss this important information if they read the websites when they are booking their reservations. Also, while they do have an elevator, there are 6 or so stairs between the main entrance and that elevator - so it's not entirely handicapped accessible.

My point in coming to Vienna was to re-visit the city where I used to live. I wasn't looking for over the top indulgence - just somewhere that felt comfortable, was conveniently located and reminded me of an apartment. For this purpose, Bella Vienna was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excentrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel with friends. Overall a good hotel. Breakfast buffet. Just the same every day. Room for the four stars are not good enough.
Of the minuses. No matter what room you stay, you will pursue other sounds. Do not leave anything in the room. Even cosmetics. My powder was stolen, with the girl at the reception desk assured me that it's likely I lost it somewhere in the room. But I like in my mind, and the room is not so great.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knopacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Clean, good location, excellent helpful staff, spacious rooms, free wi-fi. However it assumes to be a boutique hotel but falls short because: entrance and elevator poor and ugly, furnitures are modern but not of high quality (IKEA), towels and bath amenities too basic, breakfast nice but exactly the same ( if you stay for 4 nights you get totally fed up), I thought it was nice and would recommend but at cheaper rates. Not the best value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

nice and cosy hotel, with very good location, near Naschmarkt, where you have a number of places to go out for a Wiener Schnitzl or drink.
hotel itself is very accurate. clean, spacious rooms, good service.
is just what you need to get some sleep while travelling for private or business.
i really recommend you this hotel, as it's good value for its money

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We initially booked for 2 nights at the Bella Vienna hotel and were looking forward to our stay in Vienna.. We only stayed 1 night because the conditions and the room were not as expected, not a 4 stars standard. We stayed in a "standard" room on the second floor facing the main road, the sound insulation was very poor, which resulted in a sleepless night. On top of it the room was very hot, no a/c, very cheaply furnished, no bed side lamps, no proper double bed but you get a flatscreen tv and free wifi.
Reception is on the 6th floor and only opened until 23.00, so late arrival not possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zesvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Despite the unusual layout and bland exterior, the Bella Vienna hotel is a great choice for tourists who plan to spend most of their day sightseeing and need a basic, clean and well located hotel. the staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was of good quality (continental-no hot dishes), and the reception/breakfast/bar area was bright, trendy and had a nice view. Our room was very small (2 suitcases on the floor took up most of the real estate) but we were there only to rest or sleep. In the summer, ask for a room facing south because there is no air conditioning and Gumpendorferstr (north side) is a busy street so it was noisy. For the price it was tolerable. location is good, away from the tourist district so cheaper restaurants nearby, and only 3 Ubahn stops to the main square (2 to the palace/museum district).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cb_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel-Pension Continental
Hotel-Pension Continental
#130 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#250 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#194 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#58 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#124 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vienna City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vienna City Hotel

Property: Bella Vienna City Hotel
Address: Gumpendorfer Strasse 65, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vienna City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vienna City Hotel In the youngest and most vibrant district of ViennaBella Vienna was established in 2007 in Wien-Mariahilf. With its central location between Mariahilferstrasse and Naschmarkt and only a few minutes away from the Ringstrasse, it is a perfect starting point to discover the impressive Danube capital. Its modern and comfortable rooms are situated just a couple of minutes away from attractions like Mariahilferstrasse, Vienna’s largest shopping-street; the Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest market place and gastronomical area; Raimundtheater with its great musicals; Museumsquartier, one of the greatest centers of culture in Europe, and the imperial palaces of the inner and urban city. The Bella Vienna is a popular destination for tourists and business travelers from all around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bella Vienna City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing