We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here if you Like Good Food”
Review of Restaurant Wrenkh

Restaurant Wrenkh
Ranked #219 of 4,198 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$34
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Dry-Aged-Steaks, salads, soups, seasonal specials, homemade sausages, fish, beer, wine, champagne, freshly squeezed juices. All that and more is available at the Restaurant Wrenkh.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eat Here if you Like Good Food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were a bit sick of having everything fried in Vienna until we found this restaurant. It used to be a vegetarian restaurant, but although it still has vegetarian dishes it now has meat and fish dishes too.

They have a really good lunch menu with three small courses for about 10 Euros (look on the mirror over the bar for the day's menu - it's a bit difficult to read). These menus consisted of lovely soup, an interesting salad and a small main course. We had this menu three days running and each time it was filling, yummy, interesting and healthy.

They also have good juices, an interesting set menu and all the coffee / tea things you would expect.

The staff were pleasant, interested in the food and really happy if you complimented them on a course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    81
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If you are tired of white and brown food, this place is a godsend”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Look, Austrian food is not very healthy. This place mixed in some Austrian specialties with vegetables with more nutrition than potatoes. Creative and tasty. Other benefits:
Open on a public holiday
Doesn't feel touristy
Steak salad had excellently done steak.
Definitely recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAUWATOSA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Refreshing Change of Pace”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Traveling with a vegetarian is a challenge in a meat dominated culture. This restaurant is a great compromise because there are multiple options for vegetarians and meat eaters.

We started with an olive tapenade that was delicious. The soup of the day was a spinach soup with just a hint of curry. It was very good. The sweet potato soup with ginger was also good.

My daughter and I had the Lucky salad which contained smoked tofu, goat cheese and quinoa. She thought it was the best salad shed ever had. The combination of flavors and textures was great.

The entrees were good. I had lamb with rice and my wife and daughter had grilled goat cheese with a pepper mango quinoa.

Service was attentive and friendly including offering and refilling a pitcher of tap water I'd recommend this place highly.

Helpful?
Thank Dafwcc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,591 reviews
776 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,162 helpful votes
“Typical Hole In The Wall Veg Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is the typical place that is usually open only on weekdays for lunch, has a limited menu and daily change menu, usually a set menu as well, and is reliable, inexpensive and no frills. The woman behind the counter struggled with English, but with the help of a friendly diner, we quickly understood each other. The potato soup was excellent, but the rice noodles with the chickpeas (like the Indan chole) was a tad out of my flavor. The pure apple juice was refreshing. All for less than 8 euros.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nettle risotto to die for ...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Loved the whole expeirence here. I had the lucky salad (loved it), the asparagus (perfectly cooked) and the nettle risotto. I could have eaten the entire menu. My friend had the beef which was a) huge and b) perfectly cooked, which for a vegetarian based restaurant was wonderful. Some nice wines also, and very helpful/friendly staff and manager who gave us recommendations for night life - we had a fantastic time - thank you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Wrenkh also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant Wrenkh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing