We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Brezlg'wolb

Brezlg'wolb
Ranked #226 of 4,267 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have eaten at bwezel und gwolb before and looked forward to it. We arrived and were welcomed and ..,after ordering off the menu sat there for two hours while locals around us got served. Obvious attitude problem.
Be careful of the older waiter. Left without food. Won't ever eat here again be cautious

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    118
    42
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We learnd about this restaurant on a travel guide. It is located on a small street that looks like an alley.
We chose a table outside the restaurant, right on this narrow street.
It was quite late for lunch, over 3 pm, on a holiday but we were very gently served by the kind lady that was taking care of outside tables.
Tipical austrian food was good with big size portions. The pretzels worth their fame and went very nicely with the beer while waiting food.
I will certainly return on a next trip to Vienna.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Vienna”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I, along with a friend, actually stumbled upon this restaurant while searching for places to eat in Vienna. What a find!! We were greeted warmly, seated immediately, and given exquisite service throughout our meal. Our waitress provided perfect recommendations, was neither neglectful nor intrusive, and also gave a bit of history about the food, wine, and location. The food? Incredible. Start with warm, perfect pretzels and chilled Riesling Move on to the house goulash, specialty lentil dish (with the most incredible ham ever) or spaetzle with cheese and herbs. Finish? Don't go for the usual streudel....try the house special. Warm, delicious....unlike any we have ever had. Finish it off with some schnapps, also made on the premises. A wonderful, wonderful meal....in every way!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner on First Night In Vienna”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I had just arrived in Vienna and this restaurant was a recommendation from a local as we asked for traditional Austrian food -- and what a find it was. We were seated in the dimly lit cellar for dinner and served a beef broth soup; beef, potatoes and carrots for dinner; and apple strudel for dessert. Everything was delicious! Even the pretzel that was served as an appetizer was scrumptious, as was the red wine that is specially made for this restaurant. Our waitress, a lady from Serbia who spoke five or more languages, made our dining experience even better with her explanations about the cellar, the food, and the countries to the south of Austria. Overall, my wife and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wishing to experience authentic Austrian dining. If we go back to Vienna, we will absolutely go back to this restaurant. It was awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This building in the heart of downtown Vienna was first mentioned in the 1500s so when our Viennese friend led us into the restaurant, then down, down and down into the cellar, we were blown away! The low curved ceilings, the painted walls, the old eclectic wall-hangings! She had reserved a specific table weeks ahead - it was in the nook of the original baker's oven! It was so unique and charming, that we almost didn't even care if the food was good. But, I must say, the food was amazing! Naturally, I had the schnitzel - it was the size of my plate! My husband had a beef dish that was delicious and our friend had a vegetarian dish that was so incredibly tasty. Our waiter was funny - very droll and sarcastic but he was attentive and good-humoured, so we didn't feel like 'Oh tourists!' Original and very unique. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timber9762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brezlg'wolb also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Brezlg'wolb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing