We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel; Awesome breakfast; Close to tourist areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Ranked #139 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value hotel; Awesome breakfast; Close to tourist areas”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed two nights. This hotel sits on a quiet street just a few tram stops away from the tourist areas of Vienna. Don't be deterred in booking the hotel because of it's distance from city center. It's is so easy to get around in Vienna on the public transport and the hotel itself is in a charming quiet neighborhood.

To get there from the airport you have a few options. Option 1 includes about a 15 minute walk but there are sidewalks and walking with a roller bag is no problem. Option 2 leaves you just a short walk to the hotel but requires more transfers.


Option 1. From the airport arrivals hall, follow the signs for the S7 train (or it may just show a stylized S on the signs) towards Floridsdorf. In eight stops (at Landstrasse), transfer to the U4 line towards Heileigenstadt. Get off at the third stop (Rossauer Lande). Leave this station by heading the same direction as the train. The canal will be on your right. Walk left onto Seegasse. Walk down Seegasse until its end at Porzellangasse. Make a left and then your second right onto Furstengasse. Walk past the Lichtenstein Palace and cross Lichtensteinstrasse. There is a little alley/parking lot on your left. The hotel is at the end of that alley. It is one of the few modern buildings in the area.

Option 2. From the airport arrivals hall, follow the signs for the S7 train (or it may just show a stylized S on the signs) towards Floridsdorf. In eight stops (at Landstrasse), transfer to the U4 line towards Huttledorf and get off in two stops at Karlsplatz. Walk up Karlsplatz toward the ring road. Board the D tram towards Nussdorf. Get off at Bauernfeldplatz (this is the 2nd stop after the D tram leaves the Ring Road). Walk toward your left to Lichtensteinstrasse and turn right. Walk up Lichtensteinstrasse until you see the palace on your right. On the left will be a small alley that will lead to the hotel (about 5 minutes walk).

You can pay per trip, or you can purchase at the airport the Vienna Card that allows 72 hours use of all public transportation and discounts to many museums and attractions. You just need to validate the card when you first board a train/metro/tram and then it is good for 72 hours. Although there are few people checking to see you have the ticket it is important to keep it on you. The D-tram will be your link to the rest of Vienna and it's incredible and efficient public transportation. The trams seem very frequently all day and night. The trip from the hotel to the main tourist areas is maybe 10 minutes.

Now to the hotel. Very nice, neat, and well appointed. Check-in desk was very friendly and spoke English very well. Even though I arrived early (around 9am) they had a room ready for me (I was just planning to leave my bags and explore the city). Not only that, I had purchased bed & breakfast and they gave me a ticket for breakfast that morning (and the following mornings). Something they did not have to do but they did without asking.

The room was good sized with two twin beds. I was on the top floor and had a good view of the surrounding buildings. Room was quite warm windows can be opened so it was easy to cool it down (this was a visit in March).

There was a large bathtub/shower and sink in one room. Separate room with toilet and small sink. There is a small TV in the room with multilingual channels (including English CNN, BBC, and SkyNews). There is a small in-room safe (but quite small...too small for a laptop for example; maybe an ipad might fit). There is free Wifi internet (a true bonus in Europe).

The breakfast options were fantastic. There was a very large buffet with fresh fruits (and nice ones like pineapple and mango), an incredible array of fresh breads and pastries, many different styles of cold meats, hot eggs and sausages, and an excellent variety of coffees and teas. The juices seemed all fresh squeezed and quite a variety (orange, grapefruit, pineapple, carrot, tomato, etc.). Just overall very impressed with the breakfast options. I also ate there one night for dinner. Food was good and reasonably priced including wine. But the place was almost completely empty so the atmosphere could be better (unless you want quiet and privacy).

Overall I was incredibly happy with my stay. It was a great value, location was perfect for me (and likely why it is such a great value). For the same hotel in the heart of the tourist areas you'd likely pay twice the price and yet this hotel is really so close and its neighborhood is quite nice in and of itself. The breakfast was incredible. However, if you are looking for classic historical Vienna, in an older style hotel this is not it. The building and amenities are modern although the neighborhood is not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PDX-PDX-PDX-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    179
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
65
135
25
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night break for New Years Eve 2011. I can't fault this hotel. I requested a low floor room as I do not like lifts and was given a very nice, very clean room on the first floor. The restaurant is excellent with good breakfast and superb evening dinner so much so we ate in the restaurant twice and would have probably ate in the restaurant on New Years eve but we had previously booked somewhere. Well done staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We chose this hotel as it was fairly close to the city center. First some experiences in Vienna that everyone who is driving must know (as I soon found out) Parking is costly in the hotel's parking garage 18 euros a day. If you can park on the street near by do so. Make sure you arrive at a reasonable hour as you need to buy short term parking passes at the tobacco shops before they close. DONT FORGET TO WRITE IN THE TIME AND DATE ON YOUR PASSES-I GOT A TICKET THAT I DONT KNOW HOW TO PAY...lol! The front desk staff speak English but not all are familiar with parking as some do not have cars. You CAN park in the BLUE lines NOT in the YELLOW.
Now to the hotel; the room was spacious and clean and had an enormous bathtub. Breakfast was a buffet of anything and everything you can think of. Practice up on your German or you will be drinking juice or coffee that you didnt expect!! The neighborhood is very safe and we walked around the area to find someplace to eat.
The hotel can arrange any type of tour you want and also will pack you a lunchbox for your days journey into the city, if arranged in advance.
Overall it was a great experience, the staff was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerjane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed at the Strudlhof for a month. We had a lovely room and large bathroom. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. It is very near the US Embassy, and not too far from the city center. There is an excellent pizza place nearby and a great Greek place with outdoor seating. We were within walking distance of two markets (the Hofer was our favorite and very reasonable -- the US version is called Aldi). The D tram ran very near to the hotel, but the hotel was situated in a private area away from the noise of the street. The breakfast was the best I've seen in any hotel. I would definitely stay again when back in Vienna.

Room Tip: If you like your room with cooler air conditioning, be sure to ask for such a room. Our room did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurasviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I've stayed at the Strudlhof 5-6 times, always a pleasant experience. The hotel is well equipped and services are of a very high standard. Breakfast is really nice, service is professional, location is safe and smart and public transport will take you to central Vienna in 3 minutes, if you don't feel like walking (15 mins to the centre). Pillows aren't that comfortable but rooms are very spacious. The gym/sauna on the top floor is small, but has an amazing view of Vienna's rooftops. Only small thing: there aren't many restaurants around, especially if you happen to arrive on a Sunday night. However, last time I visited the hotel was being refurbished, and I was told that a cafeteria would open, so very nice touch. All in all, great for business travellers. Families may want to look a bit more central.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Rooms on the top floor probably more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for almost a month while participating in a study of Vienna with 24 other American teachers. It was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The location is nice because it is right outside the downtown bustle of Vienna, but right near the tram and a bus. It's a short walk to the subway. The best part of this hotel is the free breakfast. Quite a spread! The bar area was under construction, so the lobby was small. They also have free coffee and bottled water 24 hours a day in the lobby. The receptionists are very friendly and speak English. It is a bit hard to find if you don't know the area, so it's recommended to take a taxi or ask. It is on its own little street behind a couple of apartment buildings. The front side rooms may be a bit noisy, as sometimes there are noisy people walking down the street at night or people are up on the (great) roof terrace and can be loud. Good service too. Our room safe wouldn't open one day and they sent a man up to fix it within minutes! The only thing that was tricky was the air conditioner didn't get that cold. It was very hot out and wasn't much cooler in the room at times.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the back side of the hotel as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drums324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averbode, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Hard to say more. I enjoyed this hotel already twice and only see reasons to come back again. Found it easy to reach if you don't mind a short easy walk.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askWulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#188 of 360 in Vienna
216 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#153 of 360 in Vienna
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#206 of 360 in Vienna
240 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#100 of 360 in Vienna
787 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Palais Strudlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Palais Strudlhof

Property: Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Address: Pasteurgasse 1, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#103 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Family Hotel in Vienna
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Palais Strudlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Palais Strudlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strudlhof Hotel And Palais
Strudlhof Hotel Vienna
Strudlhof Hotel Palais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing