We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Ranked #126 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in many ways”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Strudlhof Palais is a very exclusive stay close to Vienna's city center. The rooms are modern and comfortable (especially in summer, when the air-conditioning kicks in). The included breakfast buffet is extraordinary and the rooftop terrace with view over the inner city a nice extra. Since even in July, the prices were quite affordable, I can totally recommend this hotel as a nice treat for your stay in Austria's capital.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exploring_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    172
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
64
129
23
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel at all. The beds were very uncomfortable and our room had an ant problem. There is no air conditioning and the fitness center is very poor. There are only three machines and only one of them works. The people at reception are very nice but a little bit helpless when it comes to helping with the luggage. The breakfast buffet is good, and it is in a quite, but central location close to the D tram that takes you straight to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had booked with the Strudlhof Hotel & Palais several weeks before visiting only to be told when arriving that they had overbooked and was therefore put into a hotel around the corner. I wasn't the only person this happened to on the same day. Very poor way to treat guests. They did offer to pay for a taxi to the other hotel - a bit pointless considering it was less than 100 metres to walk!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

On the first two nights I stayed there, I thought that this hotel was going to be rated as "excellent" on my review. The receptionists were all very kind and nice, and there wereiMacs in the lobby that I could use. The breakfast was very satsfactory, consisting of dairy, bread, and fruits.

However, after a few days, I began to get bored of the buffet, for there were the same things every day. Our door suddenly grew super heavy and it took two people to hold it open. The janitor told us that this was because of a false fire alarm, but if this happened, they should send people to fix every door.

Overall our stay was very good and I recommend this hotel to tourists who are not staying long.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Located a short distance from the city center in a quiet neighborhood, the hotel offers good basic accommodations at competitive prices. It appears to cater to tour groups but this was not a problem. The room was a decent size, clean and functional. Breakfast was very good with a decent selection of hot and cold food. The plain and austere building was a stark contrast to the magnificent buildings that are everywhere in Vienna.

Good value, clean, and functional but a tram or subway ride from any of the city attractions. Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Well, the hotel name includes "palais" but don't expect a palatial setting. The hotel offers a very fair room price in a clean, modern setting but I must say that my room was a bit on the "older side".

Location is in a quiet part of town but just a short walk to all the tourist attractions. Wifi was complimentary but for some reason the signal was not that good in my room even with five bars...? Breakfast buffet offered a nice selection of hot and cold offerrings.

For the price, this hotel offers all the necessities and will definitely use again.

PS - was given a 20% discount to use in the coffee shop which is a nice spot to enjoy a beer or coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Va
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Lsat time I reviewed the place, I raved about the breakfast. It's still good, but slightly less than last time, with lesser pastries.

I like the location, ease of public transportation, and the friendly staff. I don't like the euro bedding, with just a bedspread and no fitted sheet.

I would stay again, but might prefer an apartment rental over the hotel as an option.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutAndGoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#192 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#103 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Palais Strudlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Palais Strudlhof

Property: Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Address: Pasteurgasse 1, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#109 Family Hotel in Vienna
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Palais Strudlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Palais Strudlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strudlhof Hotel And Palais
Strudlhof Hotel Vienna
Strudlhof Hotel Palais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing