We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly, and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Ranked #137 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly, and quiet”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Strudlhof Hotel and Palais while recently in Vienna. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. When I realized that my plug adaptor set that I purchased in the States wasn't going to work in the outlets, they even provided me with one that worked. I was very grateful that I had AC in the room considering that the temperatures were averaging about 35C/95F during my stay. The room was comfortable, spacious, and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the cost of my stay was really wonderful; I enjoyed the delicious breads, the sausages, the cheeses, and the fresh fruits and vegetables. I never left my room for the day on an empty stomach :).

The location of the hotel may not be the closest to the tourist sites, but it worked for me since I like it quiet during the evening. I also had some business at the University of Vienna and it's fairly close to the campus. It's on a dead end street with other buildings in between it and the main street around the corner, so it's nice and quiet. The D tram stop is located about a block and a half away from the hotel and that will quickly take you to all of the tourist sites.

Lastly, I was also quite grateful that the property was non-smoking. That was another reason I chose to stay here.

Should I ever return to Vienna, I'd definitely stay here again :).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    180
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
65
135
26
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in Jul. as part of a tour group. The hotel itself is very nice however it is not close to downtown historic Vienna and not convenient for tourists. While there, the temperature in Vienna was very warm and for all 3 nights the entire hotel had "no air conditioning". (It was very uncomfortable). The hotel told us that the ac had gone off two days before our arrival and that it wouldn't be fixed for a week. I noticed that in a previous post that the ac was also not working in June and other posts that say that the ac was insufficient for the room size. Also, for July, the hotel had almost no other occupants. Otherwise, the breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful. When in Vienna again, we would look for other accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGELONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a great location. The rooms are very large and our room had a separate water closet next to the shower/sink area. A plus with four people staying in the room. The breakfast is by far the best I've seen in Europe, and the service is top-notch. It had both hot and cold food items, three coffee machines, and the juice carafes were always filled. Pastries, breads, fruits and assorted meats and cheeses were also available. This hotel is located in a quiet area and it is well maintained. The only negative: the air conditioning was not substantial for the size of the room, and with it being July, it got quite warm during the night. Aside from the a/c, this is a great hotel to use as a home base when touring Vienna. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Quiet location near Liechtenstein Garden Palace, away from city center. Short walk to D tram, which goes through city center to Belvedere. Staff was helpful, friendly. Very nice breakfast buffet. Comfortable room, nice bathroom. Only quibble: Climate control in the room wasn't the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved our four-night stay in this hotel. About a 30 minute walk to the heart of the action, this hotel is out of the touristy parts of Vienna and offers us a quiet, lovely, well-maintained and friendly spot to enjoy the sights of the city. With great transport links to all the main sights, this cheaper option is a place I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Breakfast was large and tasty, staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were very large and equipped with everything you need. We stayed on the 6th floor and had beautiful views of the tree tops. Beautiful roof-top patio for watching the sun set. Great local restaurants just streets away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, QC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Strudlhof Palais is a very exclusive stay close to Vienna's city center. The rooms are modern and comfortable (especially in summer, when the air-conditioning kicks in). The included breakfast buffet is extraordinary and the rooftop terrace with view over the inner city a nice extra. Since even in July, the prices were quite affordable, I can totally recommend this hotel as a nice treat for your stay in Austria's capital.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exploring_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel at all. The beds were very uncomfortable and our room had an ant problem. There is no air conditioning and the fitness center is very poor. There are only three machines and only one of them works. The people at reception are very nice but a little bit helpless when it comes to helping with the luggage. The breakfast buffet is good, and it is in a quite, but central location close to the D tram that takes you straight to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#190 of 360 in Vienna
217 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#101 of 360 in Vienna
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#208 of 360 in Vienna
240 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#153 of 360 in Vienna
773 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Palais Strudlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Palais Strudlhof

Property: Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Address: Pasteurgasse 1, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#102 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Family Hotel in Vienna
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Palais Strudlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Palais Strudlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strudlhof Hotel And Palais
Strudlhof Hotel Vienna
Strudlhof Hotel Palais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing