We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I would normally have been quite impressed with this hotel but having just left a much better 4 star hotel, this was actually a little bit of a let down.

The staff on the front desk were very helpful and friendly and could not be faulted. The room was nice with a huge king size bed. There were just small details which, in my opinion, let this hotel down. The free wifi was hard to connect to and frequently dropped in and out. There was a huge list of nearby wifi networks which may have caused interference. I also had to reconnect to the internet every time my phone or iPad went into standby which which was a pain and meant that iMessages and emails couldn't come straight through when I was in the room.

The toiletries in the bathroom were not replenished when used up. Packets which had been opened were cleared away but not replaced and the complementary bottled water was also not replaced when it had been finished.

The minibar prices were extortionate - I didn't expect the mini bar to be cheap but the prices were more than double that of the last hotel I stayed in. There is a Spar just down the road though which is useful for stocking up on snacks and drinks without racking up a huge minibar bill! (Although after just reading a response to a previous review it appears that the hotel doesn't like the kind of guest that shops at the Spar - I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel had I known that the management judges people based on their choice of supermarket!)

The location of the hotel was good with all the major sites of the Altstadt in easy walking distance. All in all this was a good base for exploring Vienna but make sure you get a good deal on Expedia or a similar website as it's definitely not worth the full price which was displayed in the room - although that may also make you the kind of guest they don't really want...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Laura M,

Thank you for staying at The Ring Hotel, thank you also for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the room and the staff here. Thank you for letting us know that you had issues with an OSX device, our IT team will run tests in order to make sure that our network runs smoothly with that kind of device. The mini bar prices can vary a lot from one country to another, but for Vienna our prices are not uncommon. The supermarket you mention is the closest supermarket (gourmet supermarket, by the way), we always recommend to guests when they ask. As a representative of the hotels management I can ensure you that it isn’t our policy to emit any judgment upon our guests in any way and if someone did do so, feel free to get in touch with me by email pbeaulieu@jjwhotels.com. We hope to see you returning to The Ring in the future. And remain with,

Kind regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank S I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here 1 night after 12 hours of business travel. It was a beautiful hotel, and was incredibly comfortable. The staff went above and beyond and even gave us the most delicious homemade doughnuts. The bar and restaurant attached were both great as well. If I ever find myself in Vienna, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have vaulted ceilings, which offer a great view out of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Adventureandthrills,

Thank you for choosing The Ring hotel. It’s great to hear that you liked staying with us and that the staff and our doughnuts were beyond your expectations. We will be happy to have you back next time you return to Vienna.

Best regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Realtions & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and it wasn't noisy considering its central location. Room service was efficient too. The hotel has a lovely old lift. I would happily return to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank pie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear pie42,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to write a nice review. We will be happy to see you again when you come back to Vienna.

Kind regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Clean, very spacious rooms (Cosmopolitan), but not luxury.

If you are looking for REAL luxury hotel, better choose Kempinski, Ritz-Carlton or Grand (same owner as The Ring).

Location of The Ring Hotel is very convinient, next to the Opera House and shopping attractions of the inner city.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear MKFlyer,

Thank you for staying at The Ring and for sharing the experience by writing a review. We are glad that you liked the overall service provided by our hotel. Hotels like the others mentioned are posh classic luxury hotels with a classic design. The Ring hotel is a modern and casual house, but with the service standards of a five star hotel. We hope even though that you will return to The Ring hotel, next time you come to Vienna.

Best regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel to use for either business or pleasure whilst staying in Vienna. It is in a perfect location, and is very comfortable. The bar is reasonably priced and whilst I did not eat there in the evenings, the food looked excellent for those that did. I would not hesitate to return there on my next Vienna trip!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Nigel B,

Thank you for staying at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel, it was a pleasure having you over. We are happy that you enjoyed to stay with us. We will be happy to have you back in the future next time you come to Vienna.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Ring is in a great location; walking distance to everything downtown. The front desk staff was happy to give us restaurant recommendations and to call ahead for us. The steam rooms were nice, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Jennmello,

Thank you for staying at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. We are happy that you found our front desk staff helpful and that you liked the steam rooms. We will be happy to have you back at The Ring Hotel when you return to Vienna. In the meanwhile we remain with,

Kind regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 359 in Vienna
1,223 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,600 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,963 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Relais & Chateaux

Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#24 Family Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £144 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ring, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing