We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #26 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at 'The Ring' for 4 nights last week and like some other reviewers I query its billing as a luxury brand. Please note I wanted to give the hotel a 'good' rather than a very good rating but the star rating doesn't accommodate this and it was well above average. The hotel had many good points being relatively new i.e. the rooms are furnished in modern style and are the beds are v comfortable and we found our room was very spacious. Reception staff were helpful.

I do think however that hotels (not just this one) often place more importance in style over functionality and practicality e.g. I couldn't reach the towel rail over the bath as it was too high (in excess of 1 foot over my head!), the modern basins are messy to use (water splashes all over), the hand basin in the separate toilet was so small again water splashed everywhere and there wasn't anywhere to put the hand towels. Bath was difficult to get into because the side was so high (even my husband commented on this and he's over 6 foot!) The hairdryer was next to useless (one of those that you had to keep the button held down to keep it going, had no styling nozzle and had such a short lead I could barely stretch it to the mirror in the dressing area where I wanted to use it) Why DO hotels buy these rubbish hairdryers?? I was also peeved that the bottled water wasn't replaced daily, usually provided in other hotels we've stayed in, and the toiletries were ok but definitely not 'luxurious', again not replaced every day.

Breakfast in the restaurant we found excellent and our waitress was especially efficient and friendly. We had planned to try the restaurant one evening but didn't find the menu appetising or attractive, nor was the restaurant set up/atmosphere appealing for an evening meal.

When all is said and done we DID enjoy our stay and the hotel is in a fabulous position within easy reach of the main sights/museums etc. However, not a luxury hotel in my book. So, my comment would be to this hotel, and others like it, try being a guest yourself and look at what guests use and how things work. Style over substance really isn't a reason to call a place luxury. As the saying goes, the devil is in the detail and I wish this hotel, and others like it, would take more care of detail as it's the detail that makes somewhere a luxury stay, not just the modern furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeys60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear janeys60,

Thank you for staying at The Ring hotel, we are happy that you found the overall experience of your stay, was above average. We take note of your suggestions and thank you for the constructive feedback you made. We would be very happy to welcome you again to The Ring, when you come back to Vienna in the future.

Best regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Ring is billed as Vienna's "Casual Luxury Hotel." A "lovely" hotel, it is; a "luxury" hotel, it's not. Having stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels, I expected this to be on the upper end of the 4 star rating...and, it's not. The hotel is quite well located for visiting museums, the market and major attractions. The room is a decent (not luxurious) size, but the bed is comfortable. The included breakfast was fine and the staff very nice. Alas, when it comes to luxury (and other things), "the devil is in the details." Our bed had two twin comforters on it, rather than one large one. Bathroom amenities are nice, but certainly not luxurious. Internet was included in the rate (which I expected), but was slow. The computer and internet in the lobby for everyone's use is both old and painfully slow. They have the first part right, it's a "casual" hotel -- and, that's just fine. But, luxury it's not, nor should the prices reflect that of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear James S,

Thank you for staying at The Ring, we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel in many aspects such as the location, the bed and the friendly staff. Even though, we regret that you didn’t get to feel the luxury side of things. Our hotel is casual indeed in its design and in the way the staff interacts with the guests. Luxurious it is, as our service standards would qualify us to be categorized as a five star hotel. Concerning the guest computer, we thank you for the constructive feedback, and will look into finding a solution to speed the computer up. After having a chat with you, you said that you would return to The Ring, we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Realtions & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I would normally have been quite impressed with this hotel but having just left a much better 4 star hotel, this was actually a little bit of a let down.

The staff on the front desk were very helpful and friendly and could not be faulted. The room was nice with a huge king size bed. There were just small details which, in my opinion, let this hotel down. The free wifi was hard to connect to and frequently dropped in and out. There was a huge list of nearby wifi networks which may have caused interference. I also had to reconnect to the internet every time my phone or iPad went into standby which which was a pain and meant that iMessages and emails couldn't come straight through when I was in the room.

The toiletries in the bathroom were not replenished when used up. Packets which had been opened were cleared away but not replaced and the complementary bottled water was also not replaced when it had been finished.

The minibar prices were extortionate - I didn't expect the mini bar to be cheap but the prices were more than double that of the last hotel I stayed in. There is a Spar just down the road though which is useful for stocking up on snacks and drinks without racking up a huge minibar bill! (Although after just reading a response to a previous review it appears that the hotel doesn't like the kind of guest that shops at the Spar - I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel had I known that the management judges people based on their choice of supermarket!)

The location of the hotel was good with all the major sites of the Altstadt in easy walking distance. All in all this was a good base for exploring Vienna but make sure you get a good deal on Expedia or a similar website as it's definitely not worth the full price which was displayed in the room - although that may also make you the kind of guest they don't really want...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Laura M,

Thank you for staying at The Ring Hotel, thank you also for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the room and the staff here. Thank you for letting us know that you had issues with an OSX device, our IT team will run tests in order to make sure that our network runs smoothly with that kind of device. The mini bar prices can vary a lot from one country to another, but for Vienna our prices are not uncommon. The supermarket you mention is the closest supermarket (gourmet supermarket, by the way), we always recommend to guests when they ask. As a representative of the hotels management I can ensure you that it isn’t our policy to emit any judgment upon our guests in any way and if someone did do so, feel free to get in touch with me by email pbeaulieu@jjwhotels.com. We hope to see you returning to The Ring in the future. And remain with,

Kind regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank S I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here 1 night after 12 hours of business travel. It was a beautiful hotel, and was incredibly comfortable. The staff went above and beyond and even gave us the most delicious homemade doughnuts. The bar and restaurant attached were both great as well. If I ever find myself in Vienna, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have vaulted ceilings, which offer a great view out of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Adventureandthrills,

Thank you for choosing The Ring hotel. It’s great to hear that you liked staying with us and that the staff and our doughnuts were beyond your expectations. We will be happy to have you back next time you return to Vienna.

Best regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Realtions & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and it wasn't noisy considering its central location. Room service was efficient too. The hotel has a lovely old lift. I would happily return to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank pie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear pie42,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to write a nice review. We will be happy to see you again when you come back to Vienna.

Kind regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Clean, very spacious rooms (Cosmopolitan), but not luxury.

If you are looking for REAL luxury hotel, better choose Kempinski, Ritz-Carlton or Grand (same owner as The Ring).

Location of The Ring Hotel is very convinient, next to the Opera House and shopping attractions of the inner city.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear MKFlyer,

Thank you for staying at The Ring and for sharing the experience by writing a review. We are glad that you liked the overall service provided by our hotel. Hotels like the others mentioned are posh classic luxury hotels with a classic design. The Ring hotel is a modern and casual house, but with the service standards of a five star hotel. We hope even though that you will return to The Ring hotel, next time you come to Vienna.

Best regards,
Philippe Beaulieu
Guest Relations & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 359 in Vienna
1,161 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,480 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 359 in Vienna
1,171 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#75 of 359 in Vienna
2,970 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Relais & Chateaux

Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £169 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ring, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing