We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to enjoy Vienna”
Review of The Ring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring Hotel
Ranked #26 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location to enjoy Vienna”
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My family is originally from Austria and I grew up visiting relatives most summers, so when it came time to take my wife to Vienna for the first time I wanted a hotel that would be relaxing and luxurious while allowing us easy walking access to sights and restaurants, not to mention cafes, for the best experience of Vienna possible. In The Ring, we found a hotel in Vienna that will be our home base for every visit to come!

From check-in through to when we finally had to leave, the experience at The Ring was without compare. The front desk help was fluent in English but put up with my mangled German as well. The room was outstanding, roomy and clean, with complimentary water and espresso in the room (perfect way to start the morning in Vienna, a double espresso to get you out the door and to the coffee shop!). The bathroom was clean, bright, and wonderfully designed & appointed. Oh, and the hotel has the most insanely comfortable beds I have ever had the pleasure to sleep on, we even asked the management about the beds, which they were more than pleased to tell us about, though the cost means we won't be buying one anytime soon, guess we'll just have to go back to The Ring!

The hotel is very hip and sophisticated, but the staff and environment is never elitist or unwelcoming. The night we arrived there was a party at the bar, a launch for a ski company's line, great if you're into the nightlife, but also not distracting for homebodies like my wife and me. I ate at the excellent restaurant in the hotel, "At Eight", several times during our stay, twice for dinner with my wife and twice for breakfast meetings. Each meal was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent every time.

The location is excellent, steps away from the opera house and the Kartnerstrasse, and my wife and I took nightly strolls along the Ringstrasse, often stopping at Café Schwarzenberg just down the street for dessert and a nightcap. Overall, an excellent experience, the best place to stay for a Vienna vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chionodoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Dear 'chionodoxa', great review, many thanks, it is great to read that we made your stay in Vienna to an unforgettable one. Hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    225
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
124
517
74
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel during our recent weekend trip to Vienna and found it to be excellent. The staff were always friendly and helpful, right from my phone call to advise of our late arrival through to check in and check out. The rooms were spotlessly clean, modern and very well decorated. The hotel is right on the Ringstrasse and within short walking distance of all places of interest in the city centre. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2009
Dear 'Liam023', thank you so much for your kind words on your stay with us. It is that nice to read that you state that The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in...that is great news! Hope to see welcome you back soon! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

What a fabulous hotel! My husband and I stayed at the Ring during our 5 night stay in Vienna and it made our trip so incredibly special. When making the reservation, my husband mentioned that I am pregnant and upon check-in, I was told that the hotel would be treating me to a complimentary prenatal massage! We also received a complimentary upgrade to the X-Ordinary room which was gorgeous, spacious and immaculate with a beautiful view to the Ringstrasse. The luxurious king size bed was pure heaven, I've never slept better in my life.

A few other noteworthy points about the room: comfy robes and slippers, Nespresso machine with several coffee options, large bottle of complimentary water provided daily, Molton Brown bath products, toilet & bidet in a separate room from shower/bath, turndown service with chocolates on the pillows, free wi-fi access, plenty of drawers and closet space.

The location of the Ring hotel couldn't be better. It is a block from the Opera House, walking distance to the main shopping area, St. Stephen's Cathedral and countless restaurants and cafes. The hotel's restaurant is also fantastic. We enjoyed it so much that we dined there twice and they were two of the best meals we had in Vienna. Staying at the Ring was an absolute pleasure and I can't imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit Vienna. If you're considering staying at the Ring, do not hesitate and book your reservation. Rest assured, you're in very good hands.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miaQthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Dear 'miaQthomas', this is such a great review, many many thanks! We hope you enjoyed your massage and your upgrade and we are very much looking forward welcoming you again at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel.....this time perhaps as family with kid(s).......best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The Ring was stylishly appointed, but disorganized and overall average.

The computer (one) in the lobby with free internet was very nice.

My room was okay. Comfortable bed. Very slow shower drain - it flooded the bathroom.

I asked for a wake-up call . It was forgotten the first night. The second morning I did get the wake-up call. My room rate included breakfast, which I specifically asked the front desk about. They told me it was not included only to find out at check out that my room did include breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geetika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Dear 'Geetika', thank you for your precious feedback on your stay at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel. I am sorry to read that you find the hotel operations disorganised, especially the wake-up call issues are not standard and should be handled properly. I do apologize for any inconveniences caused and do hope to welcome you again at our hotel so that we can show that we are better and can do better! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had made a reservation at The Ring Hotel for 2 nights, but due to getting bored in Budapest we decided to head straight to Vienna and had to move up the dates of our original stay. The assistant manager Carl-Peter was more than accomodating for us, even though they were sold out due to a large convention. We got the last room! We received a warm greeting when we arrived, and our room was completely appointed with the latest amenitites. We also had purchased tickets to The Spanish Riding School, and were able to have them delivered to the hotel (prior to our stay) where they were waiting upon our arrival. The staff was so helpful with dining suggestions, directions, etc. I had to email them when we departed to thank them for a wonderful stay, and also to ask where I could purchase the "uber-soft" pillows that were on our bed. I couldn't believe how comfortable they were!! Carl-Peter put me in contact with the manufacturer and I had them shipped back to the states. Can't even wait for them to arrive...it will be a nice reminder of a wonderful stay in Vienna!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank promogirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Dear 'promogirl11', what a wonderful review, thank you so much, I hope you already had a chance to enjoy the pillows. Looking forward welcoming you again at our o-so-wonderful hotel! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My fiancé were travelling throughout Central and Eastern Europe for the month of September. We stayed at The Ring in Vienna and it was the most memorable of all the hotels on our trip.

The hotel combines both casual and luxury - the best of two worlds. It isn’t the stuffiness that you would commonly expect in many hotels in Vienna yet it has all the luxurious you want for a 5 star hotel.

The service is excellent and the staff are really friendly.

The hotel is housed in a beautiful historical building from the 19th century. It looks especially amazing at night!

It's situated in the centre of the city's attractions, restaurants, and shops which is really convenient.

Overall, it's a great hotel and I would gladly return on my next visit to Vienna. :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldfoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Dear 'worldfoodtraveller', thank you so much for your great review on your stay with us. We also appreciate your article on our hotel and your experiences at our restaurant at your blog, again many many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siciliy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed there together with my boyfriend and my work colleagues for 3 nights in December, short before Christmas. The hotel is modern simple, casual but of very good taste. The room was quiet large, with view on the Kartnerring, the bed was AMAZING, large, soft like feather, lots of cushions in nice colors. The bathroom was quite small, but modern, all functioned perfectly, perfumed soaps, shampoos. The room service was excellent, they cleaned the room every day, perfectly, nothing to be reproached.
The hotel is very central, minutes away from the Opera, from Karlplatz and Stephankirche.
The breakfast was nice but too costly, and incredibly the reception charged us the breakfast, even if my company was paying for everything! I didn't like that!
The reception guys weren't very helpful when we complained about it and insisted that we paid for it.
What we really liked was that we had wireless internet, a large TV screen which included a menu with music, music videos, really nice!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ionisilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear 'Ionisilv', many thanks for your review, I appreciate it very much that your write your comments even after your stay in December 2008. The bed is indeed amazing, many guests do compliment us not only on our beds, but also on our bathrooms and amenities. I do apologize for what happened at breakfast, please be assured that this will not happen again. I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 360 in Vienna
1,108 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 360 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 360 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#79 of 360 in Vienna
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring Hotel

Property: The Ring Hotel
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing