We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely understated - a great stay in a perfect smaller hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #27 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2010

There's nothing we could say was wrong or could be improved during our stay. This is the perfect location in Vienna, one block from the Opera House, on the Ringstrasse. Neighboring hotels are The Bristol, The Imperial, and the Grand Wien Hotel. Staff offered seamless and low-key service throughout our stay here.

The Ring is a smaller, very modern hotel in a lovely traditional building. We were taken up (with luggage) on a modern elevator, but soon discovered the charming elevator with wood and a gate on the other side of the reception desk. Our room was an "X-traordinary" room on an upper floor. It was spacious with separate commode/bidet and shower/lavitory bathrooms, ample closets and drawers, a sitting area with comfy chairs and table, and a completely wired e-desk with 220 and 110 power. Towels are thick, shampoo and soaps are quality, and the rain showerhead in a glass enclosure is well done (bathtub too, for those who prefer). Comfy robes and slippers are provided. The very restful bedding is the perfect firmness with great pillows and linens and duvets. Double glazed windows help keep out the street sounds from the Ringstr too. We sent out laundry and arranged taxis and made special housekeeping requests - seamless service provided throughout. Housekeeping was immaculate - clean as can be and nightly turndown service was beautiful and invisibly accomplished.

Prominent is a 42" television offering channels in several languages as well as digital music selections, and pay movies and hi-definition programming. In room WIFI is free and worked well. The single cup coffeemaker and tea service is was really nice too, with several cream and sugar choices.

Because The Ring is a small hotel, the front desk staff provides some concierge service too, recommending perfect dinner and coffeehouse suggestions and directions to everywhere in Vienna during our stay. Do not miss dinner at "At Eight" -the restaurant in the hotel, recently rewarded two deserved toques from Michelin. Make reservations here.

Drings, the small bar off the lobby, has a very nice vibe and offers both fancy and simple drinks, but ended up being too smoky for us to enjoy for long.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheapSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear 'Cheapsleeps', what a great review, definitely one of the best I did read on Tripadvisor for our hotel since the opening of the hotel in 2007! I am delighted to read that you liked the combination of modern and traditional aspects, as this is definitely on our USP's. Great to read that housekeeping did a wonderful job and that we even provided you with 'concierge services' up to the max and like it should be. I will certainly inform my staff. Again, many thanks for this x-ordinary review, I am very much looking forward welcoming you again at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel in the very near future! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

Already my third stay in the ring. It is a perfect combination of an historical building and modern elegant comfort – Casual Luxury.
Love to come back

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2010

Dear 'beamazing', great review, thank you, it is much appreciated. We are looking forward welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

as the ball we visted was in the "musikverein" we choose "the ring" as our home base for the night of saturday. we enjoyed the relaxed athmosphere and the discreet but still luxorious setting. on the event we were happy to learn that our pick was a good one not only because of our own experience but also by talking to other guest at the "techniker-cercle-ball" who told us that since "the ring" opened it is there recidence of choice. we think that "the ring" and a ball in one of viennas beautifull locations is a perfect package!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thom2hope4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

Dear 'tom2hope4', wonderful review, many thanks, indeed the city of Vienna offers a very unique selection of balls and combining this with a stay at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is definitely a great experience. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

(+): Stuning late XIX century building centrally located, walking distance to the old town and to the other attraction, Design and chic atmosphere, nicelly decorated bedroom.
(-): Bedroom quite small, sauna did not work, the bar - which looks big and busy on the web site - is in fact small and quiet.
As long as you like small design and sophisticated places (VS. large hotel chains, Hilton, Hyatt,etc..), I would recommand this hotel to take your wife away for a romantic week-end in Vienne or even for business

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCJParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Dear 'JCJParis', a wonderful and smart review, thank you so much. I am happy to read the USP's as '+' points, do apologize for the '-' points, we indeed faced a problem with the sauna, our bar is a typical vodka bar and more crowded as of 22.00 hours, but this depends on the day of the week....and the month...January is still a bit slow when it comes to business...anyhow I would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future, either on business or for a romantic weekend. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Stunning views in a perfect location for viewing Vienna - a business trip with a difference - really felt very relaxed and comfortable here. Stylish but not too pretentious. Lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tassanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear 'Tassanum', great review, many thanks. Happy to read that you liked the hotel and its location. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

A good friend of ours advised us to stay at The Ring hotel during our holiday in Vienna. We're glad to have listened to him! As The Ring is a truly amazing hotel! From the warm welcome at the entrance/reception to the overwhelming feeling when we entered our suite... The Ring Suite, with its beautiful ornaments, wooden panelling, draperies and balcony with an amazing view over the Kartnerring! Also my partner really loved the bathing products. It was superb!! We can also recommend having dinner at restaurant At Eight. It has a tasteful and creative kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulvdlinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear 'Constantijn', many thanks for your great review, we are delighted to hear that you liked the hotel and especially your suite, indeed the most beautiful suite in the hotel. We are very much looking forward welcomin you again in the near future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We really enjoyed this hotel. The location is great as in front of the hotel you have the city centre which is close to all of the attractions and a 3 minute walk from a beautiful pedestrianised shopping area and behind the hotel about a 10 minute walk away is the huge street market Naschmarkt. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean with lovely modern furnishings and a beautiful bathroom. The highlight by far was the bed as it was one of the comfiest we have stayed in. Another nice touch was the Nespresso machine in the room which they refilled with coffee daily.

The only thing to note about the hotel is that it is on a bit of a hard street to get to by car/taxi so if you are in a taxi it might be better to get dropped off at the Opera across the street then just walk as it was an additional €7 in a taxi to go around the block to drop us at the front door when we could have hopped out across the street. Also worth bearing in mind that like most European cities, Vienna basically shuts down on a Sunday so don't plan on doing any shopping that day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2010

Dear 'ATIG', great review. many thanks. Glad to read that you liked the hotel and its facilities. As for your comments on our beds, many guests do try to order one for private use, if you need assistance here please do let me know. As for the shopping on Sunday, indeed correct that Vienna 'shuts' down as far as shopping possibilities do concern. Believe me, it is not that easy to get that changed...looking forward welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,143 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 361 in Vienna
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#74 of 361 in Vienna
2,957 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 361 in Vienna
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Relais & Chateaux

Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £168 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ring, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing