We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Business Hotel, but maybe not the best for a First trip to Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #26 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Business Hotel, but maybe not the best for a First trip to Vienna”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Ring would rank with some of the top boutique hotels in New York. Very clean rooms, excellent bathrooms, and good service. The people working at the desk were very nice and tried to be accomodating, but that is not their strong suit. They are not trained nor are they really expected to act as a concierge. In fact there is no concierge at the Ring, a service one needs when on a tourist trip. Though they tried, they were of little or no help when it came ot restaurant recommendations (one said to try the hotel), concert info, or locations. But if you know your way around or are there for business, I would give the Ring the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromwashpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Dear 'fromwashpa', thank you very much for your constructive review and feedback on your stay at our hotel. We indeed do not have an official concierge or concierge desk, however, the staff at the front desk has been trained to deliver concierge services. As we operate 2 hotels in Vienna we encourage the staff to offer all our restaurants (5 in total) next to the various restaurants in the city. I will see to it that the front staff receives a new training on concierge services. Many thanks also for your great comments on the hotel, the rooms and the overall service, it is much appreciated. I am very much looking forward welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    231
    53
    15
    15
See reviews for
129
537
77
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Friendly helpful staff, very central location, bit tricky for parking, very comfy modern rooms with nespresso machine, would prefer a kettle but at least it's different. I thought overall it was quite expensive for size of room & would have been better value if breakfast had been included, we paid around €170 for the basic room. One niggle is, I informed them it was our wedding anniversary, but we didn't get offered a single thing, a glass of champagne would have been lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear 'Taylortowers', thank you for your kind review, much appreciated. The parking is indeed a bit tricky if you would like to have your car parked in front of the hotel but I hope you were informed that we offer our guests parking space at the garage below the Grand Hotel Wien. I do apologize for the fact that you informed the staff about your wedding anniversary but we did not recognize this......I will look into this as normally we always offer something nice.....best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This hotel was a perfect mix of efficiency, good service without being over the top and feeling like a large impersonal hotel (which is more like The Grand - sister hotel). The staff are very helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated with everything you need and a good temperature. Breakfast was efficient and made to order. The gym is very modern with a lovely steam and sauna in the roof. Location is perfect for seeing Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear 'Katie085', great review, many thanks for taking your time and writing about your experiences while staying at our hotel. It is indeed a perfect mix of all and differs totally from our sister hotel accross the street. Looking forward welcoming you again, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

From the moment our car pulled up to the front of The Ring and we were greeted by the bellman with the sunniest smile, we knew we were in for a fabulous stay at the Ring. Housed in a beautifully restored historical building, the Ring has a traditional facade which exudes a certain chic romance one would expect from a city like Vienna.

Our suite, equipped with two plasma tv's and a Nespresso machine, was bright, spacious and so quiet, which surprised me considering the fact that it faces the main street of Kartnerringstrasse. The cozy furnishing was a good mix of contemporary and traditional with such comfy bedding that made it difficult to peel myself out of bed in the mornings. I loved the amount of closet space and extra hangers which one can't ever seem to get enough of. The bathroom, though not large, was simple but stylish, well-stocked with Molton Brown amenities. I can even confirm that two relatively thin people can fit and enjoy a nice bubbly in the seemingly small bathtub. My husband-the-workaholic especially appreciated the free internet access and is happy to report that it was indeed, very high speed. The overall feel: understated elegance.

The staff was charming and helpful, not pretentious or snooty as common at many hotels of such calibre. They made us feel casually at ease.

The Ring is perfectly located across from the State Opera, which made it easier for me to stumble in ultra-high stilettos across the street to attend a Eugen Onegin opera. It is also well situated between the start of Museum Quarter to the south and to the north, the beginning of the trendy pedestrian area lined with fabulous shops, cafes and within walking distance to some of the best restaurants in Vienna. St. Stephens Cathedral is only a stone's throw away as are other interesting touristic sites around.

The only improvement needed is to the dark lobby which is unimpressive and sadly doesn't do justice to the overall stylish ambience of the hotel. Perhaps a bit of re-design in the layout with brighter, more chic furnishings will provide more style consistency and better first impression of the hotel.

Overall, I highly recommend The Ring if you're looking for an experience most perfectly coined as "Casual Luxury."

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianIonides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear 'VivianIonides', a more than wonderful review, you described the hotel and its facilities and services perfectly, thank you so much. Pity that you disliked the hotel lobby, to be honest, we never received such comments but I can ensure you that we will take these into consideration. I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint louis
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The Ring is an overall very nice hotel. The location is perfect and is easy to access from the subway as well as the main tourist area. You are right in the middle of the action and yet the prices are quite a bit lower than neighboring 5 start hotels. We liked our room... the noise of the street is well muted but there was a bizarre shaking sound that emanated from our closet once or twice a night that sounded like a train coming through our room.
The beds are comfortable and the sheets are very nice. The bathroom was clean but there was a very weird sewer smell coming from our shower drain. Despite running water the bathroom had a funky smell.
The room itself had a smelly tobacco smell that picked up at night. We were on the first floor and at times it smelled like we were in the very smoky bar downstairs. If you want a drink, get a gas mask. This is a very smoky bar that has poor ventilation.
All in all, a very nice hotel where you can sleep well and have a great location. The downside-- funky smells and a front desk that is rather oblivious to your presence. It has a W hotel feel-- pretend they don't really know you-- but then it is small enough that they should know you. It is clean, well maintained and a nice value but lacking in charm and front desk feeling. Perhaps they are striving for that feel and if so, they have achieved it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear 'lwohara', thank you for your review, it is much appreciated, I took notice of all your comments as to the smells, the noise as well as the front-desk, although I must admit that this is the 1st time that we did receive such comments on our front desk, it can be due to the fact that we just employed 2 new employees at this department, they just need to get the 'feel & touch' of what The Ring is all about and how we treat our guests here, in a very casual way. We are striving towards a casual lifestyle feeling, not a 'W Hotel' feeling.....but I can guarantee you that we will improve all as described. I am looking forward welcoming you personally the next time you will visit Vienna and our hotel and present you this special feeling! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We just spent a fabulous weekend at The Ring. From the moment you arrive you are treated very well and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Very boutiquey feel with coffee machine and plasma tv and the funky bathrooms that you would expect. On arrival the housekeeper was still making up our room. Within seconds one of the management was in our room apologizing profusely even though we really weren't bothered at all. The restaurant At Eight is superb - see the reviews on this site. We had a fabulous meal that although it wasn't cheap at £85 per person with complimenting wines with each course, was worth every penny.
The hotel's location is great, close to all the sights,shopping and very convenient for transport too.
Another plus is free Internet more top hotels should take note.

My only gripes - breakfast is really expensive, the staff feel the need to organize your order to make it work out cheaper. Note to the management, just add 20 euros to the room rate, and include breakfast! Far less hassle for everyone. Also, everyone is not a coffee lover, please put some tea bags in the room too. I would have liked a cup of a tea first thing in the morning.

Overall a great experience, and yes, if I returned to Vienna I would definitely come back to The Ring.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear 'annieabr', thank you so much for this wonderful review, happy to read that we made your weekend in Vienna@The Ring to a fabulous one. I am also very delighted with your comments on the restaurant at eight, it has 2 toques so that is why prices are at a specific level. I took also note of your comments to the breakfast, I will definitely consider that and will also have a look at offering tea at the rooms & suites. Thks again and I am looking forward welconing you again in the near future, warmest regards from a sunny Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Very welcoming and friendly staff, nice sized and very clean rooms. And a sauna with the best view over the rooftops of Vienna. Fantastic location for shopping, museums and dining, all a short distance away. Extensive public transport options on the corner.
Would we visit again? YES.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Dear 'Wiltdorfer', great review, thank you so much, also your comments on our day spa + sauna, good to read that you will visit our hotel again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,131 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 361 in Vienna
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,141 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Relais & Chateaux

Property: The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ring, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing