We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #219 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Minsk, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel looks much better than on their web-site and their brochure. They have recently done some rennovation (see my pictures). Our room was spacious and very clean. We had welcome drinks upon check-in (glasses of champagnе). The Reception staff was helpful. They have maps of the city in different languages. The location of the hotel itself was not of big interest for us but it is 2 minutes walk from the metro station and in 2 stops you are in the middle of life - Stephensplatz (10 minutes in total to get there). There were only two disadvantages: 1. - no air-conditioner in the room and 2 - service at breakfast. Only one waiter served the buffet and she could not handle the flow of guests (could not quickly serve tables, bring more food to the buffet). I think the problem is not her (she was friendly and tried to do everything quickly), the problem is the F&B management in staffing morning rush hours. P.S. - there are no Russian TV channels (if it matters).

Room Tip: If you travel by car, book parking space in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheremuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    121
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
96
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
L0ndon
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just returned from a four night stay. Recently refurbished to a very good standard throughout and has a great number of positives.
Staff are helpful and friendly, we arrived shortly before the 14.00 hrs check and were immediately offered a coffee if we wanted to sit in reception. Rooms are spacious and airy, well appointed wi fi throughout with free internet in reception. The bathroom has underfloor heating and the shower area is a wet room type feature, no problem with water on the floor as other reviewers suggest, it is a clever modern design. Towels changed daily, fresh soap and shower gel daily, lovely light fittings in the hotel. The breakfast is buffet style with a good choice all you can eat, they will make scrambled egg if you ask.

Transport in Vienna is great, taxi from airport about 30euro but you can get train CAT or a local train or bus easily. If you are there 72 hrs buy a Vienna Card 18 euro free transport throughout the city or get a day ticket at the station. The No 1 tram does a loop along the inner ring which is interesting as it passes many of the major buildings. Vienna is a very .good city for a lshort break, lots to do, quality shops, museums and concerts but like most capitals it is expensive.
The downside is it is not central to the old city, 3 stops on the underground and less than 5 mins to the underground or 15 mins walk to the cathedral if you want exercise. The area at night, especially if you are near the large overland station has a high number of police and winos in evidence but if you get out of the right underground exit you miss it all. It does not have air con which in summer may be a problem. There is building next door which starts at 8.00 so if you want to sleep in at the moment you will be disturbed.
Woiuld we go back....YES

Room Tip: All seem good at present ask for one away from the building going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Pro:
-Well designed , beautiful room
-good lightning with flat screen tv
-free wifi in the room
-reasonable breakfast - with alcohol at times

Con:
-no air conditioner
-minimal supplies - no shampoo or etc
-poor service
-LOST MY NICE TOWEL - they accidentally took it during room service :(
-u have to leave your key at the desk
-alot of oldies and families here .. Can be noisy at times - door banging and etc

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well-travelled-as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Excellent hotel, extremely cooperative / warm / friendly & english-speaking staff. me & my wife went to Europe for our honeymoon and Vienna was our first place of visit.

This place has an excellent connectivity via underground rail as well as bus; is only 2 stations away from Stephanzplatz which is the hub for entertainment, shopping, cultural sightseeing. Easy access to super market & gas station being close to the hotel location, provide the required last-minute convenience. my visit to this hotel was extra special since the staff made special arrangement to plan my surprise gift to my wife. they arranged a special austrian, cake, wine & flowers.

I would rate full marks on all counts this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit1978_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Hotel was very clean, nice rooms - quite recently renovated, Breakfast was excellent and the personnel friendly and helpful. Also free WiFi in the rooms :) The location is not maybe the best one, it is not exactly right in the city centre, but it is a walking distance and several public transportation options are nearby as well as Praterstern trainstation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MundoDeViajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Lovely, warm & friendly people at the hotel. 15 mins walk from centre. Really tasty continental breakfast. Modern bar and the hotel allowed a group of and large ladies to order takeawaypizzas and eat then in the bar, supplying the cutlery. Comfortable beds and a large bathroom. In a quiet street and close to the local fairground with a giant ferris wheel.
Great value. Dont go for the room view.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hotel Vienna was a pleasant hotel to stay at with a wonderful price-tag. The room was a sufficient size, and had a sleek and modern decor. The room was equipped with a large tv, safe, and ample closet space to hang your clothes. The bathroom was large as far as European bathrooms go. They had a complimentary breakfast with a wide variety of American and European staples. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The hotel is just a short walk to the metro, and a few stops to the middle of town. The only complaint I could make about Hotel Vienna is that I wish our room had a queen mattress instead of pushing two twins together. All in all, a wonderful weekend stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#152 of 360 in Vienna
398 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Arthotel ANA Adlon
Arthotel ANA Adlon
#212 of 360 in Vienna
269 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#143 of 360 in Vienna
587 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 31 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Viennese - charming, comfortable and tasteful - the Hotel Vienna. A modern bar - only open to guests - combines age-old tradition with contemporary chic. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel. The Hotel Vienna has been run with passion and dedication as a family-owned company for the past 50 years. This sense of consistency is immediately noticeable as soon as you enter the reception area. As a valued guest of the Hotel Vienna you can rest assured that we will do our utmost to make you feel at home. It is our aim to make your visit to Vienna as pleasant as possible. That's why a friendly, helpful employee is available at Reception around the clock - 24/7. Hotel Vienna is conveniently located in Leopoldstadt ( Second District), an historical part of the city, between St. Stephen's Cathedral in the City and the Prater. The Prater is Vienna's largest recreational area, with many open spaces and an amusement park. The excellent public transport connections allow you to easily and quickly reach your day-trip and business destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing