We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, good deal, nice staff”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #225 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, good deal, nice staff”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Nicely remodeled room, great furniture and very clean. Do note that if you have 3 people staying together in one room like we did, they had a wonderful layout with a separate nook for one person, but there is no privacy as the bathroom walls are glass. Nice experience and amazing price!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tianypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
24
97
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Awesome hotel.
Great location: Walkable distance to many of the sites. Safe area.
Great service: Everyone at the front desk was helpful. Went the extra mile to help us out whenever we asked. e.g.) The guy walked outside and down the street with us to make sure we were parked legally. They gave directions and advice for using public transportation. They all spoke very good English when they realized how bad my German was!
Great breakfast included. Rolls, meat, and cheeses. Mueseli with dried fruit. Coffee maker with a number of options. Cake. Tomatoes/olive bar. Jams, Nutella. Juice.

Good clean rooms. Nothing luxurious, but a good size and very clean. Nice flat screen on the wall, big comfortable bed.

My only complaint was that parking was expensive: An extra 18 Euros per night. And there are only a few parking spaces, so you have to reserve them ahead of time. You don't need a car to get around the city at all, but we drove into town, so needed somewhere to park the car.

Room Tip: We lucked out and got one of the few rooms with a balcony. Maybe you can request these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USBlues19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is newly renovated and the rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although it is about a good 20 minute walk to the centre of the city, the metro station is only a few minutes walk and it is only 2 stops to St Stephens. We had a room facing the street and did find it a bit noisy in the early morning. The rooms at the back are quieter, and some have a balcony. There is a lift, so being on the 3rd floor was not a problem. The breakfast is really good, with a wide selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt, cold meat and cheese and breads. The coffee machine makes great coffee. They will cook eggs if asked, not a problem. The staff were happy to keep our bags all day as we had a late flight out. I dont think there is any airconditioning. If you are there in summer you would need to check this.

Room Tip: Choose a back room if you want quiet, and ask about air conditioning if it is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely boutique feel hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are modern with really powerful showers. Best of all though are the breakfasts! The nicest I've ever had in a hotel. And free champagne! We ate so much we had to have a little lie down after! Haha. Will stay here again next time in Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vienna for 3 nights. It was very clean and had a nice large shower. The location was great. We were near the train/tram station that gave us access to the entire city. The breakfast was very varied. Lots of choices of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, juice and cereal. The price was reasonable for a large city and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is not a fancy hotel, but neither does it pretend to be so. I've stayed there three times and (apart from one grumpy front desk staff member) I have no fault with it. The rooms are clean, as are the bathrooms, and breakfast is good. The hotel is near a metro stop that takes you directly to Stephensplatz, and is particularly convenient for the Prater Park.
The prices are good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is in a nice area between two metro stops 5 - 7 minute walk. Arround 20 minute walk to downtown.The owners are very nice people that care a lot for their clients. Lots of details taken care.If you read the brochure in the room you can find some recommendations for restaurants etc. The rooms are nicely decorated. Very good quality for the money. They even give you a welcoming treat at the bar. I will come back definately. I think that they don´t have air conditioning. I went in May so I didn´t needed it. th

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#149 of 361 in Vienna
400 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 361 in Vienna
1,475 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#137 of 361 in Vienna
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Arthotel ANA Adlon
Arthotel ANA Adlon
#221 of 361 in Vienna
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 31 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Viennese - charming, comfortable and tasteful - the Hotel Vienna. A modern bar - only open to guests - combines age-old tradition with contemporary chic. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel. The Hotel Vienna has been run with passion and dedication as a family-owned company for the past 50 years. This sense of consistency is immediately noticeable as soon as you enter the reception area. As a valued guest of the Hotel Vienna you can rest assured that we will do our utmost to make you feel at home. It is our aim to make your visit to Vienna as pleasant as possible. That's why a friendly, helpful employee is available at Reception around the clock - 24/7. Hotel Vienna is conveniently located in Leopoldstadt ( Second District), an historical part of the city, between St. Stephen's Cathedral in the City and the Prater. The Prater is Vienna's largest recreational area, with many open spaces and an amusement park. The excellent public transport connections allow you to easily and quickly reach your day-trip and business destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing