We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice modern rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #217 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice modern rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Beautiful rooms! Very good breakfast. Very pleasant stay. Great location. Room was very warm - had to turn the heating off! (It was -5 outside). Bathroom very nice and modern - clean.

Pleasant staff. I would stay there again. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the station - even if it is not in the centre centre, it is absolutely adequate and central enough to be close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianEnglishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    118
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
20
91
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went to Vienna for the Easter weekend. The weather was freezing but the reception at the hotel was warm and welcoming. The staff were so helpful from recommending restaurants to giving directions for our sightseeing expeditions. The breakfast was ample and well laid out. As for the bedrooms WOW they have just been revamped and I can honestly say I have never slept in such a comfortable bed and the pillows were just as good. The only negative comment I can make is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Povazska Bystrica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Nice rearranged rooms with modern design, which we like (also the shower is perfect with big warhead and lot of space). The biggest advantage is location...few minutes from Prater and Praterstern underground, which takes you directly to the center of town. Breakfast was standardly good. The staff was polite and willing, even in the early morning :) Minus of this hotel was that beds were not made every day, only once during our 5 days stay. We were not expecting that in **** star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatarinaInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

After 2 visits at this hotel I can assure travelers that this hotel offers clean, modern rooms. There are also some lovely spacious suites such as the Junior Suite, and the Relax Suite which has a Jacuzzi bath and shower with an infrared sauna!!

The staff of the hotel have a good understanding of English, and are extremely helpful and willing to help you plan any trips or make tour, restaurant or taxi bookings for you. The Hotel offer s good breakfast selection of cereals, bread, cold hams and cheeses, eggs and sausages, yogurts, fruits, pastries, and cakes. There is also a coffee machine so that you can make your own espresso, cappuccino, hot chocolate or tea, as desired.

Hotel is situated within a 5 minute walk to Praterstern station (Heinstrasse Exit), which is ideally situated on both the U1 and U3 metro lines. Therefore you are just 3 stops away from the city centre (Stephensplatz) one way and 3 stops away from Austria Centre Vienna (Congress Centre) the other way. One may also walk it from Stephensplatz to the hotel in about 25 minutes.

Hotel offers free wifi in all rooms so that's a big plus if you are travelling on business.

Will return again hopefully next year!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Loui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Normal hotel for this price, but in room you will hear your neighbors from other rooms, what are they doing, breakfast is normal, but could be more and more better, room with transparent walls in bathroom this is not nice. On the reception working very polite staff. Normal hotel for business trips one or two nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenginmutlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Right next to the Praterstern underground station, you can take the U1 (red line) right to the center of the city. Follow the road with the big building that says "Austrian Standards" on it and bear left at the filling station. Kind of confusing if you use the hotel's directions. I stayed in the 1 person room and it was very nice and clean. There is no A/C but i went at the end of December and didn't need it. The internet works very well. Look in the hotel book on the desk for the wifi password. The staff was very nice and always would say hi or bye when i was coming or going.

The morning breakfast isn't anything special but it was nice that it was included in the very low price of the room. The bed was a little stiff, but i don't really expect the best beds when staying in hotels. Great location close to the center of the city and i will def stay here again if i am ever travelling solo.

Room Tip: No A/C, probably not good if you come during the hotter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bog Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

200 metres from U Bahn. S7 direct from airport; 2 or 3 stops from city centre. Clean modernised, spacious rooms. Helpful staff, good breakfast. Only negative is the area which is a bit run down and lacking in facilities (restaurants etc.) Very satisfied with our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dehick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#157 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#138 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#174 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#270 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 31 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Viennese - charming, comfortable and tasteful - the Hotel Vienna. A modern bar - only open to guests - combines age-old tradition with contemporary chic. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel. The Hotel Vienna has been run with passion and dedication as a family-owned company for the past 50 years. This sense of consistency is immediately noticeable as soon as you enter the reception area. As a valued guest of the Hotel Vienna you can rest assured that we will do our utmost to make you feel at home. It is our aim to make your visit to Vienna as pleasant as possible. That's why a friendly, helpful employee is available at Reception around the clock - 24/7. Hotel Vienna is conveniently located in Leopoldstadt ( Second District), an historical part of the city, between St. Stephen's Cathedral in the City and the Prater. The Prater is Vienna's largest recreational area, with many open spaces and an amusement park. The excellent public transport connections allow you to easily and quickly reach your day-trip and business destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing