We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but I cannot recommend it”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #218 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at hotel Vienna for one night in August 2014. We arrived very late, but the receptionist was helpful, friendly and professional. He even gave us a parking card without deposit and without cash. He was really nice and we had interesting talk about jewish history and history of Vienna.
Room was comfortable, with big bed and nice designed bathroom (remeber about glass door!), but no air-con, so be prepared for hot nights. Perfect breakfast.
I think that in many parts this hotel is even more 5 stars than 4, but I cannot recommend it becaouse of one person - as I was informed - son of the owner.
He came with another drunken guest, gave us two glasses of wine (what we appreciate), but then he started to talk that he want to see me naked, and he even had not stop when my husband and I protested. My advise to hotel manager is to keep him away from hotel or from alcohol. He detroyed my impression about this place as elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank mojitoclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I've been in Vienna for 4 nights in this hotel, the attention is good, at night there is a good attention even if it's at 1:00 am. Breakefast is really good, a good hot chocolate. Has a good style inside, the only thing is that there is no air conditioned in the nights it is really hot and it is really uncomfortable that.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Juan Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were only staying in Vienna for a night to break up the travel between Prague and Budapest. This hotel was located within the same metro station as our train. It was a super easy 5 minute walk. Upon arriving, we received 2 free welcome drink cards (free of charge!) that we used at the hotel bar.

Do not let the exterior fool you! The interior is COMPLETELY remodeled and is super nice! Huge showers and comfy beds. The metro station I mentioned is also right next to Prater (Giant Ferris Wheel) and runs the same line to the center of town (3-4 stops). This takes 15 mins tops!

We also received free buffet breakfast and free wifi. It was a great place for the price! I would highly recommend :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for the last night of our 12 day trip around Vienna, Bratislava and Prague. We wanted to have one fancy night before we went home (my boyfriend and I are long-distance so we wanted to make it special!). It's in a good location in terms of public transport, but a fairly long way away from any of the sights. The room was so overrated and not worth the 182€ we paid for it at all! We went in the relax suite; we chose this one because of the 'infra-red cabin' but it was not worth the extra money... all it was was 2 small heaters that heated up a strip of your front or back. It didn't do anything. The bath was nice and big but because of it's size took a long long time to fill up and the water wasn't that hot (even with the tap at the hottest setting it could go). The bed wasn't even a double bed, it was 2 singles on a double bed frame so you could easily get a hand or a foot stuck in the middle; plus the bed was pretty hard so we woke up feeling fairly stiff. There was also no thermostat in the room and it was ridiculously warm so we spent the whole night with the windows open and had to suffer the sounds of cars and lorries going past! Just don't stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fabienne_emilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is only 5 min from the U-bahn and trams. The rooms are very nice and clean, good shower and the beds are perfect! Breakfast is buffet with a wide range and if you want something special, the staff is friendly and willing to help (fresh boiled eggs or fried eggs, no problem). We arrived with a friend who had an operation and needed to shower sitting down, and the staff helped us out with a chair in the shower!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoebizaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The location is not great, just a short walk to Praten, but that`s it... For other historical/architectural objectives you must use the subway. The price was great, comparing to other 4 stars hotels in Vienne. Clean rooms. The personal is ok (maybe less friendly than others). No spectacular views. The area is very quite, which was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location is fantastic. A 5 minute walk from the U Bahn and Praterstern and 20 from st Stephen Church. The hotel is very quite and the rooms are modern (loved the bathroom glass door!), beds very comfortable and the breakfast good... and of course a very friendly and helpful staff. All in all an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#75 of 358 in Vienna
1,174 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 358 in Vienna
1,133 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#100 of 358 in Vienna
1,366 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Praterstern
Hotel Praterstern
#242 of 358 in Vienna
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 31 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £48 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Viennese - charming, comfortable and tasteful - the Hotel Vienna. A modern bar - only open to guests - combines age-old tradition with contemporary chic. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel. The Hotel Vienna has been run with passion and dedication as a family-owned company for the past 50 years. This sense of consistency is immediately noticeable as soon as you enter the reception area. As a valued guest of the Hotel Vienna you can rest assured that we will do our utmost to make you feel at home. It is our aim to make your visit to Vienna as pleasant as possible. That's why a friendly, helpful employee is available at Reception around the clock - 24/7. Hotel Vienna is conveniently located in Leopoldstadt ( Second District), an historical part of the city, between St. Stephen's Cathedral in the City and the Prater. The Prater is Vienna's largest recreational area, with many open spaces and an amusement park. The excellent public transport connections allow you to easily and quickly reach your day-trip and business destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing