We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but there is better Thai in Vienna.”
Review of Siam - CLOSED

Siam
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good, but there is better Thai in Vienna.”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The atmosphere and service was friendly and (seemingly rare in Vienna) this restaurant is completely smoke-free.

The food was good, not great, but not bad either. We ordered a couple appetizers and their Green Curry their Pad Thai.

We didn't stay for dessert as there are better places to get dessert--any Viennese cafe would do. My advice is, if you want Thai food and this place is convenient, have at it. Otherwise, that are many other equal (and better) Thai restaurants to go to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Somehow I was not impressed”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The interior decoration of the restaurant is interesting. Every surface of the restaurant is occupied by some picture or object and its quite entertaining to stare at them. The food was good, but somehow I was not impressed. I have no particular complain, but I wouldn't go another time... Anyway, it does not hurt to eat there, so I would recommended it. You might be lucky.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COPII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We lived in Vienna for seven months and went to this place weekly! We love Thai food and this place is 100% authentic Thai. It is located across the street from the Opera House just one block (other side of the Opernring). Due to its location and popularity, it does get pretty busy on the weekends so plan on making a reservation if you come on a Thursday - Saturday. If you like your food spicy, you will be happy with Siam. They ask you from 1 - 5 how spicy and trust me 4 & 5 is spicy! The service is a bit slow and it is more expensive than other places but the portions are big. You could easily share (1) Entree with a side of rice and salad if you are on a budget.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havebags-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good thai food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We all really enjoyed our meal and found the staff to be very pleasant. we were seated by the window and thankfully there was also a fan as it was very warm out. The restaurant was pretty empty and so was a little lacking in atmosphere

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trimob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had expected more from the reviews we had read. The place is typical Thai. The service was ok, and the food just average. We had Chicken in green curry and crispy duck (had been heated up). We had spring rolls and some shrimps in a kind of tempura doug, it was very greasy and there a kind of ketchup served with it! Thai cuisine can be so much better!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettinaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing