We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and delicious”
Review of Cafe Sacher Wien

Cafe Sacher Wien
Ranked #22 of 186 Coffee & Tea in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Cafe Sacher Vienna offers the perfect chance to sample a typical Viennese coffee-house atmosphere and - of course - to treat yourself to a slice of the legendary Original Sacher-Torte. The Cafe Sacher, directly opposite the Opera House, is a popular meeting place in the center of Vienna. The windows of the conservatory fold away in the summer to make an open terrace that is the perfect place to soak up the sights and sounds of the city.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I've been, one more time, to the restaurant of the famous Sacher Hotel and, as always, was delighted by the quality and seriousness devoted to the service and the food. My choice was the Wiener Schnitzel, one of the best I've had in Vienna, followed by the Sacher Tarte as desert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Himilcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherHotels, Manager at Cafe Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Himilcon,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you had a good time and you enjoyed our fantastic "Wiener Schnitzel". As well as that you had the chance to try our famous "Original Sacher-Torte". The "Original Sacher-Torte" is produced until today in 34 working steps all handmade. Like this, we ensure the high quality standards and produce it identically to the secret recipe invented in 1832 by Franz Sacher.

Wishing you all the best and remain

with kind regards from the "Sacher",

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 421 of 15,671 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We recently visited the Cafe Sacher in Vienna ("Sacher Eck") and it was generally a nice experience.
The coffee was delicious as was the Sacher that we ate; service personnel was friendly and attentive.

There is just one recommendation to visitors: The Sacher Eck is actually located on 2 levels. We were seated on the ground level - insider due to some construction going on on the street outside. We also had a peek to the upper level and I would strongly recommend to try to get a seat on the upper as it is more spacious compared to the smaller location on ground floor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BusTravVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherHotels, Manager at Cafe Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear DusTravVie,

First of all I would like to thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor about your visit to the "Sacher Eck Wien".

We are very happy to hear that you had the chance to try our famous "Original Sacher-Torte". I will foward your kind feedback to the Sacher team.

Wishing you a good day!

Kind regards from the "Sacher",

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We were told months before we traveled to Vienna that Cafe Sacher was a must stop for a Sacher Torte and coffee.
We were extremely pleased with our choice.
Service was wonderful, not rushed, the torte and cappuccino were delicious.

Thank grpandnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherHotels, Manager at Cafe Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear grpandnana,

I would like to thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your visit with us to the "Café Sacher Wien". It brings us very great joy to read from our guests that they had a good time in our historic coffee house!

Looking forward to welcome you soon again at the "Sacher".

Wishing you a good day!
With best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This Classic café is worth a visit for sure. The Sachertorte is a must and cappuccino really good. Enjoy!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank kali640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherHotels, Manager at Cafe Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear kali640,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your visit with us to the "Café Sacher Wien". It brings us very great joy to read from our guests that they had a good time in our historic coffee house!

Looking forward to welcome you soon again at the "Sacher".

Wishing you a good day!
Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Amazingly beautiful cafe with great service and the very best apple strudel I have ever eaten! Not to be missed.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherHotels, Manager at Cafe Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Veronica B,

First of all I would like to thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor about your visit to the "Café Sacher Wien".

We are very happy to hear that you had the chance to try our homemade "Apfel Strudel". It is of great importance to us to offer our valued guests cakes of the highest quality.

Wishing you a good day and kind regards,

Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sacher Wien also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing