We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPERIMENTAL SUSHI”

Dots - experimental Sushi
Ranked #755 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mariahilf
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXPERIMENTAL SUSHI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

the title says it all! The menu of the restaurants make it all very interesting with the different selection on names they give to sushi and the weird and 'challenging' descriptions they give to the dishes! The sushi I had there was TOP QUALITY! The only thing that initially I found funny but then it bothered me a bit was that the men's restroom has a one way glass that looks into the ladies' room!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    77
    48
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
496 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Sushi rediscovered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We had a family event : our daughter in law opted for this already 7 years existing DOTS restaurant.
A rather young clientele in an unconventional ambiente hidden in a pedestrial throughway enjoyed visibly ( and audibly) extraordinary sushi maki sashimi and all similar named japanese rice based fish specialities . The owner- ironically a chinese- invented totally new tastes by introducing different meat , veggies and even sushi style sweets .
We tried a lot of the unconventional courses and found it thoroghly enjoyable .
Friendly and eficient service . We will visit again .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ordinary sushi trying to be experimental but not succeeding.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Huge place, low lighting (I tripped over a raised platform holding some awful sculpture), trying very hard to be hip and cool and trendy. Sushi was just average. We asked about their saki selection, and the waitress recommended that we NOT order saki! Prices high for what we had, and service is VERY slow. Not worth the visit, unless you just want the sit in the lounge/bar area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average food in an awful location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Dots Experimental Sushi tries SO hard to be cool, but is so far up its own proverbial, you cannot help but laugh at the attempt. Hidden down some nondescript shopping mall, or corridor, you enter the trippy, colourful lounge, trying so hard to be trendy, and the restaurant is kind of at the back. It's a kind of fusion sushi, meaning that it gives them artistic licence to put any old ill-fitting ingredients into a bit of rice. Some things work, some don't. But head for some of the trad places near the Naschmarkt if you want proper Japanese cooking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesJames1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best pre-party place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you are looking for a hang-out place before going out, this is definitely the restaurant to go to. The best tables are around the DJ stand in the smoking area, which is near the bar. However, sushi was much better when they opened up. Now the restaurant got bigger and I must admit the quality of the food is not so good as it used to be. I would always recommend it to friends who wish to have drinks and eat a little before going to a club afterwards.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dots - experimental Sushi also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Dots - experimental Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing