We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole

Sole
Ranked #171 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I ate at this restaurant during our visit to Vienna in 2013. We went twice and enjoyed both meals however some vegetables with our mains would have been nice. A little on the pricey side.
Staff were friendly and chatty and the restaurant was clean.
Would go again next time we are in Vienna.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brava2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    107
    31
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Little Italy in Vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stopped here to have lunch. They served a really good pizza, and as the restaurant and service was fine we decided to come back for dinner. Really good place, brilliant service and you feel you are actually in Italy. Food and fine was delicate and I remember the prices being very fair. So indeed not my last visit here, can only recommend it. But for dinner make reservation, they seems to be busy and popular

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great😄”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Great place just by our hotel with impeccable service for a lomg Sunday lunch. 12 people got special meny, four antipasti, pasta with truffle, sea Bass baked in salt was great. Fantastic service. Great people.

Helpful?
Thank Christen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Food and Real Italians!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Found this restaurant by chance (as had been recommended to another which was really pricey) and was very impressed. We spend a lot of time in Italy (2-3 times a year) and the food here was very good and represented true Italy rather than tourist fare. The "boss" and staff are real Italians too and gave every effort to make you feel welcome and valued customers. We liked it so much, we went back again later in the week ............ and typically Italian were treated like long lost family. Not cheap but highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricey but average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I went for a late dinner. The restaurant is easily located and appeared very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The inside ambiance was nice. I was hoping for some good pasta, but my gnocchi was on the heavy side and the Gorgonzola sauce was gluey. I didn't finish my generous 13,5€ serving. My dining companion had 13,5€ tagliatelle tonno. He thought the dish average, but finished it. The margarita pizza was a thin crust and also average. The basil component was non existent, and if present was dried. We were offered bottled water, but I noticed all the other tables were drinking tap water in carafes. There were plenty of locals in the restaurant, but we apparently didn't pick the best options. Two pasta courses, a pizza, bottled water, and house wine. 57€

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TippyGirlTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sole also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing