We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb!”
Review of Puerstner

Puerstner
Ranked #46 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate here on our final night in Vienna - and left wishing we'd found this restaurant earlier. It was easily the most delicious meal we've had during our stay and the service was warm and friendly.

Everything we ate was excellent, but a special mention needs to be made for the fried Beef with crispy onion and potatoes (can't remember the name of the dish in German). Th spare ribs were excellent and a very healthy portion.

The decoration is also quite special and we spent a minute or so walking around taking photographs.

Make sure this is on your list of restaurants to visit - it's well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    789
    181
    46
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I could not love this restaurant more!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We first had dinner here as it was within close walking distance to our hotel (Marriott). We ended up heading back again during our week in Vienna as it was so delicious! My mouth waters just remembering the fantastic authentic food! Both times I called ahead for a reservation as not to get there and be disappointed. The service was some of the best in the city and the cozy atmosphere and decor fit perfectly with the rustic food. It was definitely the highlight of our trip - highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirbybunny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Where else can one eat in an old painted wine barrel? We went early, 5:30, without reservations. A very friendly helpful gentleman asked if we would be longer than two hours and after we replied no, he sat us in an old wine barrel, in a middle room. Everything we ate was wonderful. The first time we went (yesterday we went twice) we had Pork and Spinach Spetzil and Goulash and plain Spetzil. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine each came to $60. I get hungry just thinking of that dinner. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

5 of us were in Vienna in May, and reserved a table at Purstner. The food was excellent, and a lot of it. The atmosphere was true to the country. The service was very good. The place was hopping. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2014Terry501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colnbrook, Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Austrian experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose to eat dinner here based on TripAdvisor reviews and were so pleased we booked for the next night before leaving! The food is good, solid, traditional and plentiful, and the maze-like layout and traditional decoration make for a good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerstner also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Puerstner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing