We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting for summer dining”
Review of Witwe Bolte

Witwe Bolte
Ranked #1,508 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: German, International, Gastropub, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Description: Most Welcome! To the "six legged lion inn", nowadays turned into a well known restaurant, the "Witwe Bolte". The old fashioned restaurant is situated in the famous Spittelberg district. The baroque building carries the inscription "Durch dieses Tor im Bogen ist Kaiser Josef II geflogen, 1778" which translates to ,,through this archway emperor Josef II was thrown out", a remainder of one of his infamous and notorious visits to the pub. Please enjoy our delicious Austrian specialities, our seasonal delicacies and our vegetarian viands. Some declare a gourmet heaven, where you can feel the historic atmosphere of the Spittelberg area while sitting calmly in our wonderful and well kept garden or inside in one of our rustic parlors and cozy snuggeries. A glass of our carefully selected red and white wines from all important Austrian wine regions completes every dinner and makes it an unforgettable experience. Bolte's restaurant The atmosphere in our main dining area can be described as typically viennese, with comfortably cushioned wooden chairs and benches, small intimate tables and lush decorated walls. Life is reduced to the simple joy of delicious food like a juicy Schweinsbraten (pork roast) or the famous Wiener Schnitzel (Viennese escalope), served with a glass of good wine from the Wachau region. You can experience our affection for detail in our various snuggeries. Please choose between the Lehrer Lampel Stube (schoolmaster Lampel parlor), the Rabenstube (raven parlor) or the Schneiderstube (dressmaker parlor), each referring to a character of the famous author Wilhelm Busch, as well as the Wilhelm Busch Stuberl
Concord
Level Contributor
315 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nice setting for summer dining”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this establishment twice simply because service was pleasant, and could be "moved along" if one had time crunches, but wanted a reliable meal. The servers are nice people. The food is reliable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    93
    70
    64
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place, very poor service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The place is quaint and has a lot of atmosphere. There are several small rooms with a few tables in each. The menu is original and typical for the area with high quality, well prepared food at a corresponding high price. BUT: The service is absolutely not what you would expect from such a place. During a dinner of roughly 90 minutes, waiters repeatedly lost silverware behind our table, broke a cup on the floor, poured juice over my clothes when serving the plates and so on.

Furthermore, after having waited for a quarter of an hour I had to ask for the bread and butter which are supposed to be served immediately, when a guest has placed his orders and later on a disoriented waitress wandered around with a glass of wine in her hand asking at the wrong tables if the persons sitting there had ordered that.

Since we were two families (2x3 persons) eating dinner there, we would have wanted the bill split, but the waiter dropped the paper so quickly and then ran away, that there was no chance to place this request.

Maybe the owners had hired unqualified persons in order to save some money. I cannot imagine a trained set of waiters could have goofed so many times per hour. But my desire to return to that place where we had eaten a few times many years ago has greatly diminished after that experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice set up inside this place. Perfect for family time. Employees are good in English. They have English menu which comes handy. Food taste was good when we tried there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaxyRichardGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
426 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“OK food, tiniest portions ever and bad management”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Some local friends from Vienna took us here on a recent trip to Austria and all of us were extremely disappointed. Our friends knew this place from many years ago and said it had been one of the best in Vienna, not so anymore!

The Schnitzel was ok, but so unbelievable tiny that we did not even feel full after dinner. They charge (I think it was) 15 EUR for the small one plus extra 3,50 for a side dish. Unbelievable. And one gets a Schnitzel of 170 grams (it filled about a quarter of a plate). Other places serve Schnitzel at double the size of a plate including sides for half the price and at least as good.
Also, the other dishes our friends ordered were miserable: some over-fried chicken, lame potatoes and a totally overcooked game-dish.

Also the tables around us were complaining about the size of the portions. I spoke to the manager about this and all he said was that this was their normal portion size and he could not help us. The waiters were obviously embarrassed by the size of the portions and customers complaining - I guess they hear this all the time.

Also, the place is dirty and nasty-looking. There were boxes of napkins and other stuff on every cabinet and crammed in every nook. It looked rather like a storage space rather than a restaurant. Skip this place, there are so many better ones in Vienna!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food, tiny portions, bad value for money”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had lunch at Witwe Bolte. As we were not hugely hungry we ordered only a main course each. Given the high prices, we expected to receive a reasonably filling meal, but not so. The portions amounted to about three bites each!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Witwe Bolte also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Witwe Bolte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing