We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Management”
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Suites
Ranked #3 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location and Management”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in the Opera Suites recently. Our room was very nice and a good size. Nice touches: a bottle of wine to welcome us with great fruit and candy. Such a lovely gesture! We found the staff extremely helpful with whatever we asked them for. I was glad I had read it was right next to Starbucks or we would never have found it. It fronts a pedestrian street and I believe their sign was being replaced because there was only a small placard. Our room had a Built in kitchenette which was nice since breakfast is not included. You have to order it ahead and I thought it was pricey. There is a large shopping area with a nice grocery nearby so we bought cereal, juice, etc., and it worked out well. The location is perfect to just about everything. We walked everywhere and only used the subway (which is across the street) to go to Schonbrunn. You would be hard pressed to find a place more conveniently located. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi1Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    84
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
128
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

First, this is not a review of the Opera Suites Hotel, just their adjacent studio apartment. Check in is at the hotel which is around the corner from the apartment. The hotel lift was broken, a continual problem as other reviewers have mentioned the same issue in past reviews over the year. Only one person was working at the hotel upon checkin and she couldn't leave the desk so there was no available help with the luggage. Not fun in the rain!

We were 3 sisters travelling together and walking into the apartment was a disappointment. The flat was very basic with drab, worn furniture and a strange layout. Directly in front of you, as you walk in, is a tiny toilet room. The main bed was fine but the sofa bed was lumpy and soft. Again, the tub/shower room is very small. The bathtub has high sides with a slick finish so getting in and out without slipping is difficult. There's a wobbly plastic half wall attached to one side of the tub that offers no support. I wouldn't be surprised if it hasn't fallen off by now! In one way, it was good having a separate toilet room as you couldn't fit more than 1 person into either room at anytime.

On the plus side the Wifi worked well and if you are in need of a basic kitchenette the apartment does provide that. Since the Opera Suites is a hotel I assumed basic housekeeping would be provided in the studio but it was not. The location is fine and within easy walking distance to many of Vienna's tourist sites. At checkout, we asked to see a hotel room and were pleasantly surprised so if travelling as a couple or single you might consider giving the hotel a try. Would I stay in their studio apartment again? Definitely not!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay at if you are visiting vienna for few days. It is in the center of the city. Close to many attractions, saint stephen's cathedral is few meters away and so the opera house. The ambiance of the hotel is nice. The staff are pro and friendly. The rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at one of the apartments of Opera Suites. Not only is it ideally located right opposite the Opera House (which is as central as it gets), but the apartments are comfortably sized, with a large enough bathroom, kitchenette, etc. and are fully fitted. The best part about our stay at Opera Suites was the warmth of the staff - especially Sigrid - who was always just a call away, ready to help with whatever it is we needed. Highly recommend Opera Suites!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jatinmongia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After a bit of a gulp when we arrived in the rain (that was Vienna this spring....) because the elevator was out, we enjoyed the stay immensely. The location can't be beat - right across the street from the Opera House, at the corner of the subway, and 5 minutes walk to every main attraction inside the Ring. They had someone there to carry our bags upstairs and to make up for the lack of elevator, the mini-bar was free. Sigrid at the desk was warm and welcoming and exceedingly helpful - she spent ages trying to help us figure out if the trains were running to Prague (flooding issues) and let me dump all my laundry in their machine. The room was tiny though - some we saw were much bigger, but I hadn't known to ask.

Room Tip: #111 is big, #112 is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokehill32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Opera Suites. The location is wonderful and great for exploring. It is located across the street from the Opera House, which was very nice because of the large screen showings outside of the Opera House that were provided in the evenings. These are live events brought to those who are not inside for the event. When you step out front, you turn to your right and walk a short ways to the center of town. So, it is close enough to easily get to everything while not so close that you step out into packed streets. If you like Starbucks, you can't get any closer than the one located downstairs.
The metro is one block away and the metro system is very easy to navigate. The room was beautiful. It was clean, tastefully decorated and included everything one needs for a two night stay. This particular room, however, was located right next to the check in counter and if there was anything that I would suggest is to try not to get that room, particularly if you want to take an hour to rest in the middle of the afternoon.
In summary, I recommend the Opera Suites for anyone traveling to Vienna.
Helpful Hint: Although this hotel is centrally located, it is a tad bit hard to find. My suggestion is to face the entrance of starbucks and look to your immediate left. The entrance is not well marked and right next to the starbucks entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisure G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Opera Suites setup is a little confusing because it comprises the main hotel (most of the photos you will see) and the reception desk on Kartnerstrasse together with a few apartments in 2 other nearby buildings - sort of like annexes. This might help in navigating the hotel's website, which is not very clear about this split arrangement. It might also help in dealing with reception at the booking stage, as there was some comical confusion with us about just what apartment was being booked.

We stayed last October in one of 2 apartments located in Walfingsgasse 6 - the one on the 6th floor (an earlier reviewer seems to have had the larger one on the 7th floor). It ran from the street back to a large private terrace off the main bedroom. It was certainly very quiet, despite being right next to the lift and only half a block from the busy Opera House precinct and opposite a popular eatery.

Pluses:
- bright, clean, airy and roomy
- comfortable bed in the enormous main bedroom (but not so the other bed)
- very central location for sights, metro and a great supermarket nearby (a Billa 'Corso')
- good reading lights, plenty of storage space
- good bathroom, clothes washer and separate toilet with handbasin
- good reception service upon arrival, and following
- good wifi included.

Minuses:
- very basic small kitchen with no oven or dishwasher and poor lighting (the apartment on the 7th floor seems to offer a better kitchen).
- second bedroom is in fact an uncomfortable sofabed in the living room. This is the same open space as the kitchen and the dining table, so there is little privacy and is an awkward arrangement if you are not in the one family.
- shower is the in-the-bath type and rather slippery - an anti-slip mat is needed really
- no clothes dryer, although drying racks worked fine if you have more time
- very tiny lift, but manageable.

Overall it proved a good base for visiting fabulous Vienna. perhaps better suited to a family group of 3-4, rather than a group of friends.

Room Tip: Check if the 7th floor flat is better suited for you - better kitchen but unusual bedroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
810 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,631 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 360 in Vienna
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,368 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Property: Opera Suites
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing