We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Viennese small hotel in a great location!”
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opera Suites
Ranked #5 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just stayed 5 nights at the family-owned 12-room Opera Suites and loved it! It was such a great location, about a block north of the Karlsplatz U-bahn stop and about 5 blocks south on Kärntner Strasse (one of the chief shopping streets) from the Stefan's Dom in the city center. The staff (especially Ina and Yvonne!) were friendly and extremely helpful. Our very spacious (by European standards) with high ceilings double superior room above the street was almost completely quiet despite activity below; the sound-proofing was excellent. Safe and mini-bar fridge in room. Lovely traditional Viennese decor; TV had many channels. It was helpful to have several coat and robe hooks in the room for additional clothes' usage. Also, more electrical outlets than in some hotels. Note: the shower is a typical small (almost square) one, but we have experienced worse as to size. We didn't ask for a room-service breakfast but it is available and very reasonable in cost. Excellent, fast WiFi.

The only suggestion I would have is maybe to have some softer pillows (down/down alternative) available upon request.

Room Tip: Double superior room; ask for one facing the street. Ours was off of the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is clean, charming, with lots of character and lovely features. It was a pleasure to stay there. The girls on reception did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and taken care of. The hotel is in such a perfect location, it couldn't be better. There is no restaurant, but there are places to eat just 5m from the hotel's entrance.
You'll have to find a parking close by, but that is about the only thing someone might consider a negative.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, my husband and I discovered Opera Suites. It was one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. The location was perfect, the room was large and beautiful, the staff was marvelous, and the value was excellent. We prefer classic decor, and the silk drapes, brocade sofa and bedspread, and fine carpeting were lovely. The modern bathroom was spacious and well equipped. A real boon was the efficient kitchenette discretely enclosed in an armoire that matched the closet. Breakfast was ample and always served on time. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We will definitely make Opera Suites "our" hotel in Vienna.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have the best light. Room 113 is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhDTigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We love Vienna and come to this city quite often for both business and family. Meanwhile we have stayed in most of the Hotels in the city but prefer a more private setting with equal comfort. Opera Suites is ideal and better than having your own appartment. It is slap bang in the middle of the city facing Kärntner Strasse opposite the Opera and Hotel/Café Sacher but amazingly quiet. The room is spacy, clean and provides everything you need: Wifi, safe, mini bar plus a fruit plate upon arrival and a Nespresso Machine and water kettle. The staff is friendly, the choice for breakfast ample, we really cannot think of anything better and will in fact even overlook the fact that the shower is a little too small and tends to be quite slippery.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to accept a room facing Kärntnerstrasse. It is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caplawerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were a little skeptical when we found the modern tiny entrance to Opera Suites tucked in on the busy and noisy Kärntnerstrasse. We had walked right past it with our tour guide earlier without noticing it - partly because the back of the gorgeous State Opera House is catty-corner and dominates the scene.
Once inside we knew we had found something special. The website description does not prepare the visitor for what awaits. Our room was huge, with a spacious sitting area with couch and coffee table, a writing desk, elegant large marble bath, and kitchenette with mini bar, stove, coffee maker, etc, all tucked into a beautiful antique armoire. The room was beautifully furnished, and with the huge double windows closed we never heard a sound from the street.
Breakfast was a knockout and served to one's room. All in all it as a wonderful luxurious stay. The proximity to great restaurants and attractons made it that much more. We could walk almost anywhere. Need a metro? There are two stops about five minutes walk in either direction.
Finally - I forgot a cell phone in the safe deposit box. It was several days before I realized I must have left it there (vs other places we had been while travelling). I called. The most helpful staff confirmed they had found it. They mailed it to me in the states without any fuss, and I had it in a few days.
Opera Suites was a major factor in the enjoyment we had on this trip. We hope to get back to Vienna in the not distant future, and would certainly want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ours was on the front. Great view of Opera House. Can't imagine there would be an undesirable ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our 3-night stay at Opera Suites was fantastic! The staff was extremely warm, courteous, and helpful. Also, the location was very convenient because most of the attractions were within walking distance. Rooms were clean and spacious. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkitty1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a charming boutique hotel, hidden in the centre of all the action. The location is amazing! It is right outside the state opera house; next to the a central subway line and in the thick of the downtown area. I could not ask for more as it relates to location. The room was lovely, with period charm and warm customer service. I had arrived early so they stored my luggage; when I return everything was in my room and I was walked through all the services and numbers. The room was clean and comfortable. Furthermore given how central it was, it was really quiet once you were inside.

The staff always received you with a warm welcome and were very informative about the area.

Would return to this hotel. Had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
931 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,738 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,503 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,480 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Address: Kaerntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £79 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing