We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Gasthaus Wickerl

Gasthaus Wickerl
Ranked #351 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Serviten Quarter
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We found this in our guide book and turned up on spec and were lucky to get a table on a busy Saturday night after exploring the Christmas market.

We were made very welcome and the food - venison ragout with dumplings and a slice of Apple with cranberry sauce - was wonderful together with a couple of glasses of Austrian red wine.

The price was very reasonable and the atmosphere very good and not smoky. We would love to go back and was worth the walk from our hotel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    97
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent "Wirtshaus"”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Wickerl is a typical old-styled inn with lots of atmosphere and a selection of typical Viennese dishes also offering a seasonal menu. We decided for Wiener Schnitzel and the seasonal venison dish. The Schnitzel (veal!) was served with a side potatoe salad - absolutely as it should be. The meat itself was extremely tender and the coat really cross. Exactly as it should be - it was a high end Wiener Schnitzel. The venison came with red cabbage and a dumplin and was also very smooth and tasteful, especially the sauce. The wine list is solid and with a very good selection of whites and reds that you can order by glass. Which we did. We had a Cabernet Sauvignon and a Sauvignon Blanc, both of very good quality. It's always a pleasure to go there and enyjoy a nice meal in a great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
539 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Authentic Austrian food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

No-frill old-fashioned Austrian restaurant, ideal for the lunch break. I had a very good pork schnitzel, and the side vegetables were very fresh. My friends all liked their food (fried liver, cordon bleu). Basic but corteous service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YouBeeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs. À Rip off cover charge”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had to pay an extra 10,80 to sit at a terrace with no view and within one metre of passing trams. There were two of us but the table was for four and the charge was 2,70 per place!! Ordinary schnitzel: I had a pork one and the waitress tried to persuade me to upgrade to a veal one: more expensive of course. 40 euros for the two of us and half that would have been excessive. Unfriendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Had seen reviews but did not intend visiting but we were passing so decided to pop in and see the menu. The waiter was so helpful and friendly we stayed. Excellent goats cheese and bacon salads to start. Beef cutlet and fried liver were also good. The portions are generous and we could not manage a dessert. Beer very good and there are excellent wines under 20€ a bottle. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus Wickerl also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Wickerl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing